New Member
eltonskie
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Posts: 20
Registered: 04-02-2012

NSM5 act as an access point

Hi Guys,

I have a NanoStation M5 unit and I'd like to ask if I can set it up as an access point (AP)? what would be the initial configuration for that?

This will act as an extension of my existing ISP.

This is my initial configuration but it is not working, my laptop can see the assigned SSID but it doesn't pass to my ISP or it doesn't connect to my NSM5.
Initial Set-up.png
Established Member
TechnoKiwi
Posts: 1,602
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 1602
Kudos: 115
Solutions: 4
Registered: 09-01-2010

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

maiwifinetwork.wordpress.com/simple-router/

Maybe Airmax needs disabled. Leave Network tab as default, bridged with static IP
INTERNATIONAL Wi-Fi Hotspot Provider www.maiwifi.com
Using only the best firmware ~ airOS with our hotspot tab
DOWNLOAD FREE Firmware & install on any airMAX radio
SuperUser
Josh_SPITwSPOTS
Posts: 18,473
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Posts: 18473
Kudos: 5814
Solutions: 144
Registered: 11-20-2011

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

Hi Guys,

I have a NanoStation M5 unit and I'd like to ask if I can set it up as an access point (AP)? what would be the initial configuration for that?

This will act as an extension of my existing ISP.

This is my initial configuration but it is not working, my laptop can see the assigned SSID but it doesn't pass to my ISP or it doesn't connect to my NSM5.


That is probably because your laptop doesn't support 5Ghz. Most don't.

If it did, you can find my compatability settings here:
wiki.ubnt.com/Compatibility_Settings_(iPhone,_Android,_Wireless_Routers,_etc.)
josh reynolds :: www.spitwspots.com
ubiquiti certified trainer :: ubwa | uewa
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5777
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

That is probably because your laptop doesn't support 5Ghz. Most don't.
but he said it can see the SSID.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
New Member
eltonskie
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Posts: 20
Registered: 04-02-2012

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

maiwifinetwork.wordpress.com/simple-router/

Maybe Airmax needs disabled. Leave Network tab as default, bridged with static IP




thanks for your quick response TechnoKiwi, one more question.... why do we need to disabled the airmax?

thanks in advance
Established Member
TechnoKiwi
Posts: 1,602
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 1602
Kudos: 115
Solutions: 4
Registered: 09-01-2010

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

my laptop can see the assigned SSID but it doesn't pass to my ISP or it doesn't connect to my NSM5.


Can see the SSID.. but doesn't connect to my NSM5?
Can't get an IP address?
Im sure it was AirMax turned on?
INTERNATIONAL Wi-Fi Hotspot Provider www.maiwifi.com
Using only the best firmware ~ airOS with our hotspot tab
DOWNLOAD FREE Firmware & install on any airMAX radio
Established Member
TechnoKiwi
Posts: 1,602
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 1602
Kudos: 115
Solutions: 4
Registered: 09-01-2010

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

If it did, you can find my compatability settings here:
wiki.ubnt.com/Compatibility_Settings_(iPhone,_Android,_Wireless_Routers,_etc.)


Airmax only works for connecting with another Ubiquiti router.
By the way esseph.. when I was putting our TechnoWiki together, I found that link to be dead...useless
INTERNATIONAL Wi-Fi Hotspot Provider www.maiwifi.com
Using only the best firmware ~ airOS with our hotspot tab
DOWNLOAD FREE Firmware & install on any airMAX radio
New Member
eltonskie
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎04-02-2012
Posts: 20
Registered: 04-02-2012

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

thanks for the help guys! I'm still studying the device, since this is just a new product in our company, and need to do lots of case study for this one ^_^
Established Member
TechnoKiwi
Posts: 1,602
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 1602
Kudos: 115
Solutions: 4
Registered: 09-01-2010

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

thanks for the help guys! I'm still studying the device, since this is just a new product in our company, and need to do lots of case study for this one ^_^


To get to Airmax settings it is the Tab to the left of the MAIN Tab at top of firmware, in 5.5.
INTERNATIONAL Wi-Fi Hotspot Provider www.maiwifi.com
Using only the best firmware ~ airOS with our hotspot tab
DOWNLOAD FREE Firmware & install on any airMAX radio
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5777
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: NSM5 act as an access point

AirMax for the AP is turned off under the far left hand tab.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....