Reply
Emerging Member
tsharples
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Posts: 54
Kudos: 19
Registered: 09-04-2008

Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

Hi, I'm testing a Bullet 5 in managed wds/bridge mode. The Bullet quickly associates with our linux AP (Alix CM9) and I can SSH from the AP to the Bullet at 192.168.1.20, no problem.

If I hook up a desktop PC (set to a static IP 192.168.1.21) to the Bullet's ethernet port, it, too, can ssh and surf to the Bullet on 192.168.1.20, so I know all cables, connectors, wireless links, etc. are working properly.

From our AP, I can ping both the Bullet at 192.168.1.20, and the desktop PC at 192.168.1.21.

However, if I change the desktop ethernet port to try to obtain a DHCP address from the AP using the Bullet as a bridge, the desktop never gets an IP address. If I change the Bullet to obtain an IP from the AP (instead of leaving it at 192.168.1.20) it will obtain a new IP, so I know the DHCP server on my linux AP is working.

How can I configure the Bullet so the desktop PC hooked to its ethernet port, gets its DHCP address from my AP? I thought just setting it to bridge mode should do that - what am I missing? Thanks...
New Member
EW
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-24-2008
Posts: 24
Registered: 11-24-2008

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

Hi,

I encountered similar symptom with PS2 and other APs:

forum.ubnt.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5730

However, I don't have another DHCP server to test if it is timing problem.
Previous Employee
UBNT-Mike.Ford
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Posts: 9171
Kudos: 12
Registered: 08-17-2007

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

Hello,

Please post the full firmware version number along with your configuration files.

Thanks,

Mike
Senior Member
rconaway
Posts: 3,515
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
Posts: 3515
Kudos: 318
Solutions: 1
Registered: 04-17-2008

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

I'm running a lot of these without any problem. I did have a problem one time that was traced back to the the routers handing out DHCP we were using. They were timing out too quickly.
Established Member
skyhook
Posts: 976
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
Posts: 976
Kudos: 4
Registered: 04-01-2008

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

I suspect that you need a transparent bridge (AP/WDS - STA/WDS).
Have you tried to sniff traffic to analize DCHP requests?
Can you setup WDS on Linux box?
Best Regards ... Rob - UBNT Italian Community - Share Ubiquiti Networks eXperiences!
Senior Member
rconaway
Posts: 3,515
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
Posts: 3515
Kudos: 318
Solutions: 1
Registered: 04-17-2008

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

Sniffing with Wireshark is how we found out the timing problem. Good idea.
New Member
EW
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-24-2008
Posts: 24
Registered: 11-24-2008

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

I captured the DHCP packets with Ethereal from the PC's Ethernet port and only got the DHCP request packet when connected to Ubiquiti (station mode) instead of DHCP Discover, DHCP Offer, DHCP Request & DHCP ACK packets when directly connected to the switch.

Also, the lease expiry time seen from the DHCP server is exceptionally short (2 mins).
Senior Member
rconaway
Posts: 3,515
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
Posts: 3515
Kudos: 318
Solutions: 1
Registered: 04-17-2008

Re: Bullet 5 Bridge / DHCP questions

I can test this for you tomorrow when we get on site. However, I know I'm not having a problem and I have hundreds of users using this. I'll let you know what I find.
Reply