Reply
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Bullet2-HP Config help pls

Hi I have a Bullet2-HP connected to a 19db grid
The access point is a sector 6.2 miles away, any one able to assist with what should be the best settings?
My upload is stable, but download is jumping around all over the place!!

Also is this firmware version XS2.ar2316.v4.0.1.4978.111219.2121 the best version of the firmware for this radio??

Cheers
:icon_confused:
Ancient Member
WHT
Posts: 29,005
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 29005
Kudos: 5169
Solutions: 95
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

There may be noise around the AP's tower site. Nothing you can do about that.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

The tower is on a hill in the middle of the country side, there is more noise at this end of the link...
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

I'd still like to know what the best settings are, i read in one thread that setting distance to 1.5x can help some people, just wondering what is optimum.
Ill post my settings...
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

Wireless:
Mode - B
Channel width 20mhz
Channel shifting - disabled
Power 28dBm
Data rate 11 (auto)
Advanced:
Rate algorithm - EWMA
Noise immunity - Enabled
RTS and Frag Threshold - OFF
Distance - 6.2 Miles
ACK 94 (auto adjust off)
any tips appreciated =)
Ancient Member
WHT
Posts: 29,005
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 29005
Kudos: 5169
Solutions: 95
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

Try Auto-ACK on.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

results from speedtest.net to a local server, download is on the left!
0.43 Mb/s 2.33 Mb/s 13 ms
0.62 Mb/s 3.22 Mb/s 15 ms
1.19 Mb/s 3.03 Mb/s 14 ms
0.44 Mb/s 2.24 Mb/s 17 ms
2.16 Mb/s 3.42 Mb/s 14 ms
0.70 Mb/s 3.20 Mb/s 14 ms
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

Maybe a little better, but still only spiking over 1mb then drops back.
Emerging Member
zpol
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Posts: 81
Kudos: 7
Registered: 05-31-2012

Cut back on output power...

You might want to cut back a little on output power. 28 db on a 19 db gain antenna exceeds max allowable output in the USA if I remember the table correctly...

Over driving some receivers can cause them to shut off, or sputter. You might be experiencing this.

http://www.wisp-router.com/page.php?11 Will give you max allowable power radiated table.

:cheers2:
Ancient Member
WHT
Posts: 29,005
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 29005
Kudos: 5169
Solutions: 95
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

Why not call your ISP for help?
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

Where I live allowed EIRP is a lot higher than the usa =)
I have tried it at lower power but it is no better, in fact is worse.
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

I used to work for the ISP so am already on the phone with them, we are at a bit of a loss.
We are going to try channel change and power settings on the AP tomorrow, when someone is in the office, we're not allowed to make changes to the AP side without someone being in the office manning the phones in case of outage (company policy).
I'm starting to think it maybe AP side rather than here.. Am thinking since im the only one on that sector i could get a more focused antenna and even swap out the microtic at the ap for a ubiquity at least for my link, sry didnt mention before that the other end is not a ubiquity and therefore not running airmax!
Emerging Member
zpol
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Posts: 81
Kudos: 7
Registered: 05-31-2012

It may be time to consider an upgrade to a 26 db dish

Have you tried fine tuning your 19 db grid antenna, to peak your recieved signal on the smallest possible negative db number using the tools menu?

If you have; you may want to consider an upgrade to a parabolic grid or dish antenna with a feed horn system designed for your Bullet2HP.

But first I would try working with your ISP as someone else suggested. They may have a way of fine tuning your current system.
Emerging Member
zpol
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Posts: 81
Kudos: 7
Registered: 05-31-2012

Sounds like a Bullet M hp

So your end is a M version Bullet?
But your version of software seems to be for the standard Bullet2 Hp. That version dosen't have air max, as far as I know... Airmax software is usually ver 5.3.xx
Quote "Also is this firmware version XS2.ar2316.v4.0.1.4978.111219.2121 the best version of the firmware for this radio??"
If your Bullet is the older version 2hp, my experience with version 4.0.1 is very poor. It will not run its ping test properly. (you may not use this feature...)
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

my end is a Bullet2-HP
How can i tell if it is the older one?
There is not much written on the box, nor in the gui!
Emerging Member
zpol
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Posts: 81
Kudos: 7
Registered: 05-31-2012

4.0.1 is current software for your Bullet2 Hp

Your current load of version 4.0.1 then is the correct version of software for that device.

As far as I know, Air Max only runs/works on the "M" version of the Bullets and Nano Stations M's.

As I mentioned before I do not use 4.0.1 because I found a bug in it, along with the sister software for the Nano stations. It fails to run its ping test, and will not re-boot, when the ping test fails. I have reported this to UBNT, and have not received any update on the status of repair. Other quirky "bugs" have appeared in the M versions of software about the same time.

One operator in Spain using M bullets, and Nano Loco M's had quite a bit of trouble with software released about the same time. I encouraged him to back track to the older software, and when he did; the problems went away! The units then began to operate properly.

I currently run 3.6 version of the software on the my bullet, and 3.6 on NS2's. I have one NS2-M unit that came loaded with 5.3.5 and I am leaving it that way until they find their Bug, and Kill it!

Good luck with your testing! :cheers2:
Emerging Member
zpol
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Posts: 81
Kudos: 7
Registered: 05-31-2012

M series will have M2 somewhere on package

M series will have M2 or M some where on the package.

The GUI interface also lists the Mac address, date of MFG, and other info.
From the software listed you have the older version of the bullet.

The Newer Air Max version would be listed as: BM2HP Bullet M2HP 2.4GHz Hi Power 802.11n
For Export Only!

From what I've heard, you can only take advantage of AirMax if both ends of the transmission equipment have it.

The MIMO portion of the new equipment will work with other mfg equ. I am using my NS2M currently in an RV park as my "booster" Thru put is good, but slightly quirky. 54m/s transmit with receive with side running either 24M/sec or 11M/sec?
Ancient Member
WHT
Posts: 29,005
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 29005
Kudos: 5169
Solutions: 95
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

The airMax polling will work if AP is an airMax radio and legacy CPE has 4.x
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
New Member
Ozmosis
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-28-2012
Posts: 10
Registered: 07-28-2012

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

The other end (AP) is a microtik with a 60 degree sector antenna, we are thinking we need a dish or grid and feed horn (at the AP) instead... upstream is fine.
Or if not this, then add a ubiquiti unit at the other end as well.
Occasional Visitor
CreatingJobs
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Posts: 1
Registered: 05-06-2013

Re: Bullet2-HP Config help pls

What is the setting you used for the router and the bullet I am just trying to set the bullet up for access point

Reply