Newbie
jduval
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-08-2011

Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

what needs to be set to allow greater distance
i can live with just 512kbps to 1mbps speed

i just need my device(phone/netbook) to have an internet connection wherever i may go that bullet M2 can reach

speed is not important right now, just distance

i have a 15dbi omni antenna connected to a pfsense box

if you need more info, just ask

thanks so much in advance
Member
LostInChina
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎05-29-2011
Posts: 197
Kudos: 6
Registered: 05-29-2011

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

You are after the distance... no question with that but with a notebook and phone, you don't need a bullet.

Set it as AP, anyway.
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5789
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice


i just need my device(phone/netbook) to have an internet connection wherever i may go that bullet M2 can reach
I assume "wherever i may go" is less than 1,500 FEET or so. Correct?
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Newbie
jduval
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-08-2011

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

@WHT
yes sir
this is what i have in mind
main purpose - captive portal

my current setup
modem -> pfsense -> switch -> Asus 520gu(tomato qos)
^
captive portal is already running with that setup

ip settings
pfsense - 192.168.10.222(dhcp server)
asus 520gu - 192.168.10.101 (dhcp disabled)(AP mode)

now the question is where will i put in the bullet?
modem -> pfsense -> switch ->bullet
or
modem -> pfsense -> switch -> 520gu->bullet
what should be my ip settings?
what settings to reach the farthest distance?
wireless mode(connected to switch or 520gu):
channel width:
channel shifting:
frequency:
extension channel:
output power:
data rate:
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5789
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

Cool beans.
Optimum AP antenna height is around 12 to 16 feet in the air. Over that you the AP will over shoot you, especially when using a high gain 12 or do dBi omni antenna.
*IF* you have a clear line of sight, you could get up to 1,500 feet. If there is a building in the way, you may get less than a few hundred feet.
UPDATE: Rory says the Rocket with the new dual-polarity omni gets as far as 2,000 feet.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Newbie
jduval
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-08-2011

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

that's strange
i just posted something just right now and its gone
did i violate something?

@wht
if thats the distance it can reach, i'm fine with it :manhappy:
anyways, here it is again
currently setting it up
i need advice and guidance
main purpose - captive portal
my current setup
modem -> pfsense -> switch -> Asus520gu(tomato qos)
^
captive portal is already running
ip settings
pfsense - 192.168.10.222(dhcp server)
520gu - 192.168.10.101(disabled dhcp)(AP mode)
now the question is where will i put in the bullet?
modem -> pfsense -> switch ->bullet
or
modem -> pfsense -> switch -> 520gu->bullet
what settings to reach the farthest distance?
wireless mode(connected to switch or 520gu):
channel width:
channel shifting:
frequency:
extension channel:
output power:
data rate:
what else do i need to configure
thanks so much in advance
Newbie
jduval
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-08-2011

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

i tried with this settings

network mode: bridge
modem -> pfsense -> switch ->bullet

can't seem to connect using my phone(samsung corby wifi)
says "no response from AP"

is there something wrong with my settings?
Emerging Member
DY6AMJ
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-28-2011
Posts: 54
Kudos: 2
Registered: 08-28-2011

Re: Just got my Bullet M2 - need advice

that's strange
i just posted something just right now and its gone
did i violate something?


@wht
if thats the distance it can reach, i'm fine with it :manhappy:

anyways, here it is again

currently setting it up

i need advice and guidance
main purpose - captive portal

my current setup
modem -> pfsense -> switch -> Asus520gu(tomato qos)
^
captive portal is already running

ip settings
pfsense - 192.168.10.222(dhcp server)
520gu - 192.168.10.101(disabled dhcp)(AP mode)

now the question is where will i put in the bullet?
modem -> pfsense -> switch ->bullet
or
modem -> pfsense -> switch -> 520gu->bullet

what settings to reach the farthest distance?
wireless mode(connected to switch or 520gu):
channel width:
channel shifting:
frequency:
extension channel:
output power:
data rate:
what else do i need to configure

thanks so much in advance

yes sir set the bullet as bridge so that pfsense will lease thos ip address from your lan to your laptop ... btw logout page does not work well with them browsers