Newbie
janernevis
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Posts: 1
Registered: 03-23-2011

Help noob how to make hotspot

Hi,
I'm total noob in wifi. Would like to make hotspot system with billing trough time vouchers. I don't need any other advanced option, only that my costumers, when connect to my wifi, enter code from voucher in login screen and to use net for time that was written on voucher.
I'm thinking of buying Bullet2 + omni antenna. Some have suggested me to put dd-wrt on Bullet2 and use engagehotspots.com as captiveportal.

I'm asking you, is there any other solution that doesn't need changing firmware to dd-wrt or any other because I'm afraid not to brick my bullet2, but to use manufactured one AirOS? Is there any web-based captive portal that I can use with AirOS?

If there isn't any other solution, is there some detailed tutorial of how to put dd-wrt on Bullet2, but really detailed because I'm noob.

I hope someone would like to help me because on other forums they make fun of me 'cause I'm total noob.
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot


I hope someone would like to help me because on other forums they make fun of me 'cause I'm total noob.

With that admission, I will be more than happy to help you get started.

1) Get a Mikrotik RB450 or RB450G, whatever is currently in stock. The RB450 still has sufficient "horsepower" to support 200 users, *and* both the 450 and 450G now have RouterOS Level 5 which supports up to 500 (Five Hundred) users (Level 4 only supports 20). You'll need a plastic case and power supply. That's about $120 total
OR...........get the RB750 for $39.95 complete in case and power supply. It's only 20 user Level 4, but enough to get your feet wet.
2) Upgrade to the latest RouterOs 4.x (I think its Ver. 4.16), do *not* upgrade to any 5.x version.
3) Use the RouterOS' internal RADIUS server called User Manager.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/User_Manager
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

4) Follow these instructions:
/tool user-manager database clear DANGEROUS as it will clear database
/system reset-configuration DANGEROUS as it will default system
> ip address
/ip address> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; default configuration
192.168.88.1/24 192.168.88.0 192.168.88.255 ether1
/ip address>
remove 0
add interface=ether1 address=192.168.1.10/24
add interface=ether2 address=192.168.3.1/24
/ip address> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 192.168.1.10/24 192.168.1.0 192.168.1.255 ether1
1 192.168.3.1/24 192.168.3.0 192.168.3.255 ether2
/ip address> ..
/ip> route
/ip route> print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 ADC 192.168.1.0/24 192.168.1.10 ether1 0
1 ADC 192.168.3.0/24 192.168.3.1 ether2 0
/ip route>
add gateway=192.168.1.1
/ip route> print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 A S 0.0.0.0/0 192.168.1.1 1
1 ADC 192.168.1.0/24 192.168.1.10 ether1 0
2 ADC 192.168.3.0/24 192.168.3.1 ether2 0
/ip route> ..
/ip> hotspot
/ip hotspot> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, S - HTTPS
# NAME INTERFACE ADDRESS-POOL PROFILE IDLE-TIMEOUT
/ip hotspot> setup
Select interface to run HotSpot on
hotspot interface: ether2
Set HotSpot address for interface
local address of network: 192.168.3.1/24
masquerade network: yes
Set pool for HotSpot addresses
address pool of network: 192.168.3.235-192.168.3.245
Select hotspot SSL certificate
select certificate: none
Select SMTP server
ip address of smtp server: 0.0.0.0
Setup DNS configuration
dns servers: 192.168.1.1
DNS name of local hotspot server
dns name:
Create local hotspot user
name of local hotspot user: admin
password for the user: xxxxx
/ip hotspot> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, S - HTTPS
# NAME INTERFACE ADDRESS-POOL PROFILE IDLE-TIMEOUT
0 hotspot1 ether2 hs-pool-2 hsprof1 5m
/ip hotspot>

/ip hotspot> profile
/ip hotspot profile> print
Flags: * - default
0 * yada yada yada
1 name="hsprof1" hotspot-address=192.168.3.1 dns-name=""
html-directory=hotspot rate-limit="" http-proxy=0.0.0.0:0
smtp-server=0.0.0.0 login-by=cookie,http-chap http-cookie-lifetime=3d
split-user-domain=no use-radius=no
/ip hotspot profile>
set 1 use-radius=yes
/ip hotspot profile> print
Flags: * - default
0 * yada yada yada
1 name="hsprof1" hotspot-address=192.168.3.1 dns-name=""
html-directory=hotspot rate-limit="" http-proxy=0.0.0.0:0
smtp-server=0.0.0.0 login-by=cookie,http-chap http-cookie-lifetime=3d
split-user-domain=no use-radius=yes radius-accounting=yes
radius-interim-update=received nas-port-type=wireless-802.11
radius-default-domain="" radius-location-id="" radius-location-name=""
radius-mac-format=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
/ip hotspot profile> ..
/ip hotspot> walled-garden
/ip hotspot walled-garden> print
Flags: X - disabled, D - dynamic
# SERVER METHOD DST-HOST DST-PORT PATH ACTION HITS
/ip hotspot walled-garden>
add dst-host=*(your domain name)* server=hotspot1 action=alladd dst-host=":^www\\.paypal\\.com\$" dst-port=443 action=allow
add dst-host=":^content\\.paypalobjects\\.com\$" dst-port=443 action=allow
add dst-host=*paypal* server=hotspot1 action=allow
add dst-host=*.akadns.net server=hotspot1 action=allow
add dst-host=*.akamaiedge.net server=hotspot1 action=allow
add dst-host=*.edgekey.net server=hotspot1 action=allow
add dst-host=paypal.*.net server=hotspot1 action=allow
/ip hotspot walled-garden> print
Flags: X - disabled, D - dynamic
# SERVER METHOD DST-HOST DST-PORT PATH ACTION HITS
0 hotspot1 *(your domain name* allow 0
1 :^www\.paypa... 443 allow 0
2 :^content\.p... 443 allow 0
3 hotspot1 *paypal* allow 0
4 hotspot1 *.akadns.net allow 0
5 hotspot1 *.akamaiedge... allow 0
6 hotspot1 *.edgekey.net allow 0
7 hotspot1 paypal.*.net allow 0
/ip hotspot walled-garden>

/ip hotspot walled-garden> ip
/ip hotspot walled-garden ip> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid
# SERVER PROTOCOL DST-HOST DST-ADDRESS DST-PORT ACTION
/ip hotspot walled-garden ip>
add server=hotspot1 dst-address=192.168.1.10 action=accept
/ip hotspot walled-garden ip> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid
# SERVER PROTOCOL DST-HOST DST-ADDRESS DST-PORT ACTION
0 hotspot1 192.168.1.10 accept
/ip hotspot walled-garden ip> /

> tool user-manager customer
/tool user-manager customer> print
Flags: X - disabled
0 login="admin" password="" backup-allowed=yes time-zone=-00:00
permissions=owner parent=admin signup-allowed=no paypal-allowed=no
paypal-secure-response=no paypal-accept-pending=no
/tool user-manager customer>
set 0 password=xxxxtime-zone=-06:0 currency="USD" permissions=owner parent=admin
set 0 signup-allowed=yes paypal-allowed=yes paypal-secure-response=yes paypal-accept-pending=yes
/tool user-manager customer> print
Flags: X - disabled
0 login="admin" password="xxxxx" backup-allowed=yes currency="USD"
time-zone=-06:00 permissions=owner parent=admin signup-allowed=yes
paypal-allowed=yes paypal-secure-response=yes paypal-accept-pending=yes
/tool user-manager customer> ..

/tool user-manager> user
/tool user-manager user> print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, I - incomplete
/tool user-manager user>
add name=user1 password=user1 customer=admin
/tool user-manager user> print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, I - incomplete
0 customer=admin name="user1" password="user1" shared-users=1
last-seen=never
/tool user-manager user> ..

/tool user-manager> router
/tool user-manager router> print
Flags: X - disabled
/tool user-manager router>
add ip-address=127.0.0.1 shared-secret=12345
customer: admin
/tool user-manager router> /

> radius
/radius> print
Flags: X - disabled
# SERVICE CALLED-ID DOMAIN ADDRESS SECRET
/radius>
add service=hotspot address=127.0.0.1 secret=12345
/radius> print
Flags: X - disabled
# SERVICE CALLED-ID DOMAIN ADDRESS SECRET
0 hotspot 127.0.0.1 12345
/radius> /

> tool e-mail
/tool e-mail> print
server: 0.0.0.0:25
from: "<>"
username: ""
password: ""
/tool e-mail>
set server=qq.qq.qq.qq from= username=xxx@yyy.com password=zzzzzzz
/tool e-mail> print
server: 68.142.200.112:25
from: "<########>"
username: "CCCCCCCCC"
password: "WWWWWWW"
/tool e-mail>
send to=xxx@yyy.com subject="test message" body="This is the message."
/tool e-mail> /

> user
/user> print
Flags: X - disabled
# NAME GROUP ADDRESS
0 ;;; system default user
admin full 0.0.0.0/0
/user> set admin password=xxxx
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

And one more thing...You need to start User Manager and add a few more things.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
New Member
falieson
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-23-2011
Posts: 20
Registered: 03-23-2011

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot


Some have suggested me to put dd-wrt on Bullet2 and use engagehotspots.com as captiveportal.


My research has also led me in both this direction as well as getting the RB450G. I'm probably going to get the RB450G but I'm also wondering about client registration and radius server.

I am also a complete noob so I don't know about this end. I'll make my own post for other questions that would distract from janervis'.
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

The Mikrotik has an embedded RADIUS server caller User Manager. It's a small, but complete system.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Regular Member
BMWGuinness
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Posts: 482
Kudos: 28
Registered: 02-03-2009

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

With that admission, I will be more than happy to help you get started.


1) Get a Mikrotik RB450 or RB450G, whatever is currently in stock. teh RB450 still has sufficient "horsepower" to support 200 users, *and* both the 450 and 450G now have RouterOS Level 5 which supports up to 500 users (Level 4 only supports 20). You'll need a plastic case and power supply. That's about $120 total

OR...........get the RB750 for $39.95 complete in case and power supply. It's only 20 user Level 4, but enough to get your feet wet.

2) Upgrade to the latest RouterOs 4.x (I think its Ver. 4.16), do *not* upgrade to any 5.x version.

3) Use the RouterOS' internal RADIUS server called User Manager.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/User_Manager


Justin,

Have you tested this in v4.17? are they still having problems with v5.x?
Veteran Member
urmom
Posts: 4,607
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Posts: 4607
Kudos: 1862
Solutions: 29
Registered: 02-19-2010

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

With that admission, I will be more than happy to help you get started.



*snicker* :icon_mrgreen:
Not getting the answers you wanted? Check out this link --> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html -- I need a thumbs down button!
Member
abcc
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Posts: 136
Kudos: 1
Registered: 07-20-2010

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

I am currently using version 5 beta 4. Usermanager is working fine.
Regular Member
BMWGuinness
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Posts: 482
Kudos: 28
Registered: 02-03-2009

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

I am currently using version 5 beta 4. Usermanager is working fine.


beta is fine for development, but unfortunately not for production.

I can't even get on their site right now, and it won't ping from my network.
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Justin,

Have you tested this in v4.17? are they still having problems with v5.x?

Anything past the first two 5.x betas are still broken.
*snicker* :icon_mrgreen:

Oh, hush.......
I am currently using version 5 beta 4. Usermanager is working fine.
If that is the version from two months ago, then it is still not working right.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Established Member
LittleBill
Posts: 1,107
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Posts: 1107
Kudos: 185
Solutions: 7
Registered: 06-18-2010

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

With that admission, I will be more than happy to help you get started.

1) Get a Mikrotik RB450 or RB450G, whatever is currently in stock. teh RB450 still has sufficient "horsepower" to support 200 users, *and* both the 450 and 450G now have RouterOS Level 5 which supports up to 500 users (Level 4 only supports 20). You'll need a plastic case and power supply. That's about $120 total
OR...........get the RB750 for $39.95 complete in case and power supply. It's only 20 user Level 4, but enough to get your feet wet.
2) Upgrade to the latest RouterOs 4.x (I think its Ver. 4.16), do *not* upgrade to any 5.x version.
3) Use the RouterOS' internal RADIUS server called User Manager.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/User_Manager


wht did you make a mistake on the supported user level between l4 and l5?
mikrotik site showes 20 for usermanager level 4 and 50 for usermanger level 5?
or where you talking about something else
just trying to understand whats going on, i just bought a 750 to dive into and try
Newbie
bootsoff
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
Posts: 2
Registered: 04-27-2011

RouterOS 5.1

I am also looking at a setup like this using Picostation2's with a RB450G,
does anyone know if RouterOS 5.1 is working for this setup as it now a stable release?

Thanks
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

wht did you make a mistake on the supported user level between l4 and l5?

mikrotik site showes 20 for usermanager level 4 and 50 for usermanger level 5?

Opps..I made a typo, should be 50 users for Level 5. Sorry, good catch. Did I say I hate Netbook keyboards?


does anyone know if RouterOS 5.1 is working for this setup as it now a stable release?
It's still broken. You get an error to contact Mikrotik when you try to add umm...a customer I seem to recall.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Regular Member
nickalot
Posts: 674
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Posts: 674
Kudos: 92
Registered: 09-19-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Radius Manager is a very comprehensive solution and Enterprise ready. Not as easy to set up as the pure Mikrotik solution.

The easiest by far is Antamedia.
Cloud based Dynamic Bandwidth Shaping to control IPES like Netflix.

www.dynamicbandwidthshaper.com
Regular Member
BMWGuinness
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Posts: 482
Kudos: 28
Registered: 02-03-2009

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Radius Manager is a very comprehensive solution and Enterprise ready. Not as easy to set up as the pure Mikrotik solution.

The easiest by far is Antamedia.


Do you prefer Antamedia over Patronsoft FirstSpot?

I wonder if anyone has done a solid comparison within the latest releases of both.
Regular Member
nickalot
Posts: 674
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Posts: 674
Kudos: 92
Registered: 09-19-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Antamedia is way out front and half the price. They have fixed the most glaring issues like using ICS without the ability to change your subnet from the Windoze default. The admin interface is very good. My experience with Patronsoft has forced me to exclude them from any further consideration.
If you use the Mikrotik solution you will be working on it over several days but when you are done it will work very well. If you use Radius Manager you'll be at it for a week but your system will be killer and scalable. With Antamedia you'll be up in an hour.
Cloud based Dynamic Bandwidth Shaping to control IPES like Netflix.

www.dynamicbandwidthshaper.com
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Radius Manager is a very comprehensive solution and Enterprise ready. Not as easy to set up as the pure Mikrotik solution.
DMA will set their Radius Manager up for you, just NAT and open your SSH port to your Linux box.

If you use the Mikrotik solution you will be working on it over several days
It only take five minutes to get Mikrotik's User Manager set up.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Regular Member
BMWGuinness
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Posts: 482
Kudos: 28
Registered: 02-03-2009

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Antamedia is way out front and half the price. They have fixed the most glaring issues like using ICS without the ability to change your subnet from the Windoze default. The admin interface is very good. My experience with Patronsoft has forced me to exclude them from any further consideration.

If you use the Mikrotik solution you will be working on it over several days but when you are done it will work very well. If you use Radius Manager you'll be at it for a week but your system will be killer and scalable. With Antamedia you'll be up in an hour.


I'd like to hear more about this, can you PM me if you don't care to talk about it in public?
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5773
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Help noob how to make hotspot

Gee-SUS H. Krist on a crutch. Look at Antamedia's pricing. *THAT* will exclude it for lots of uses.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....