Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Nanostation M5 as AP

Hi,

Is it possible to use the Nanostation M5 tilted down 5 degrees (180 ft tower) as an AP to clients within 2 - 3 km from the AP?.

Thus, making the Nanostation M5 a small 41 degree sector?



Thanks!
Ricardo
Established Member
MaximumISP
Posts: 1,650
Registered: ‎01-11-2008
Posts: 1650
Kudos: 240
Registered: 01-11-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Yes I do it all the time
use nanos as mini sectors

Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

How many degrees do you down tilt it? According to the specs it has an elevation beam of 15 degrees?

How may Km can you cover?
Ricardo
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5781
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Elevation means the beamwidth is 15 degrees wide.

www.terabeam.com/support/calculations/downtilt-cover.php
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Elevation means the beamwidth is 15 degrees wide.
www.terabeam.com/support/calculations/downtilt-cover.php

Ok.. so what would be the "antenna downtilt angle" if the AP is perpendicular to the ground?
0 degrees? the elevation beamwidth would extend 7.5 degrees up and 7.5 degrees down?
7.5 degrees? the elevation beamwidth would extend 15 degrees down?
-7.5 degrees ? the elevation beam would extend 15 degrees up?
a number in between?
Thanks,
Ricardo
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5781
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

If you point a 15º wide antenna parallel to the ground, the pattern will be 7.5º above and 7.5º below that line.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Thank you sir!
Ricardo
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Maximum, could you share what's your set up for Nanostation M5 to be used as a mini sector?
Ricardo
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

I just tried this set up, I have two nanobridge 5M as clients one at 2 km and the other 3km. My airmax quality at the nano ap is 47%. I Best rates I could get were using 10 MHz channel width.
I am barely getting 4mbtis/4mbits on the client that's at 2km and about 2 mbits on the client that's at 3km.
If I set up ack value to 125% of the further most client my rates go to hell and drop.
I have to use my setup with Autoack on.
Any ideas on how to increase bandwidth?
Ricardo
Established Member
MaximumISP
Posts: 1,650
Registered: ‎01-11-2008
Posts: 1650
Kudos: 240
Registered: 01-11-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Nothing special I dont even down tilt them at all in fact
since I use alot of DMX towers and fasten one to each leg
they likely have about a 2-4 deg uptilt lol

I tend to have alot of towers and most of my clients are usually 5km or typically less but I have had clients as far as 30km connecting to a bare nano with good LOS throughput was low but ccq was 100% and the link was stable enough to provide a reliable 1.5meg service

what firm version you using I recommend 5.2.1 Beta2
I never use auto ack on anything use actual +30%
Ap ack set to furthest client plus 30%
What are the signal level of your clients as reported at the AP
What is the noise floor showing
generally when I am really fine tunning I go by the AP reported levels and
not necessarily so much by the client radio stats
First thoughts:
You may need better aiming of the clients
You may now have too much down tilt (what did you use for the nano AP)
perhaps more antenna gain at the clients
You should see some ccq improvments if you follow the ack method above

Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

This is what the AP reports:
Signal / Noise, dBm TX/RX, Mbps CCQ, %
-76 / -92 19.5 / 13 87
-69 / -92 39 / 26 100
Firmware Version: XM.v5.2
I have a Nanostation M5. Downtilt is 5 degrees, tower heigth is 180 feet:
According to this site: www.terabeam.com/support/calculations/downtilt-cover.php
I should be ok.
I'll try the firmware to see if I get an improvement.
Airmax is on.
Channel width 10 MHz (I'd really like 40Mhz)
Ricardo
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5781
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP


I have to use my setup with Autoack on.
I cannot imagine any situation were Auto ACK ios mandatory. Use manual ad see if it works better.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

I tried, and my closest client RX value drops to 3.3 mbits. The client at 3 km away works ok.
Ricardo
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

AP:
ACK/Distance: 68 / 2.3 miles (3.8 km)
Client at 2km
ACK/Distance: 74 / 2.9 miles (4.7 km) (Auto Ack)
Client at 3 km
ACK/Distance: 68 / 2.3 miles (3.8 km)
Ricardo
Established Member
MaximumISP
Posts: 1,650
Registered: ‎01-11-2008
Posts: 1650
Kudos: 240
Registered: 01-11-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Well I am not sure about that calculator as I use RM
but according to that one 8 deg down should have an inner radius around .12 miles and an outer around 3.91 miles (6.29Km) anything less shows horizon so perhaps you need to even tilt down a bit more

Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

So reaching horizon would be a bad thing?
Ricardo
Established Member
MaximumISP
Posts: 1,650
Registered: ‎01-11-2008
Posts: 1650
Kudos: 240
Registered: 01-11-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Drop the tx rate on all units to mcs 7 or lower (ie use the highest rate of the worst device) but still leave auto checked
Something more is going on here as I have never seen a link that using
the above manual ack setting did not improve the ccq

Established Member
MaximumISP
Posts: 1,650
Registered: ‎01-11-2008
Posts: 1650
Kudos: 240
Registered: 01-11-2008

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

well it would be if you are trying to target a smaller radius

Established Member
Bbobb
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
Posts: 2153
Kudos: 73
Registered: 01-13-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

On your AP the ACK distance should be at least 3.5Miles (~81). The outer station is farther than the ACK on the AP.......

Bob
Member
rviteri
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 178
Registered: 07-01-2010

Re: Nanostation M5 as AP

Ok, so if I set to MSC 7 at 10 MHz it says 32.5 mbit. What would be the real TCP/IP speed?
Ricardo