Reply
New Member
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
Posts: 18
Kudos: 5
Registered: 09-19-2013

Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

New edge router POE; very happy so far.  I cannot enable POE from the GUI.  If I attempt to do so, I get "Error: carrier detected while trying to enable 24v" and it won't work.  If I manually enable it via CLI, it works just fine.  THEN, I can disable it through the GUI, and when attempting to re-enable via GUI, it doesn't work (same error).

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 13551
Kudos: 5247
Solutions: 1652
Contributions: 2
Registered: 06-10-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

That message means the link on that port is already up, so as a safety measure it doesn't allow enabling PoE output. Do you already have a link on the port which you're trying to enable PoE? What device is connected to the port?

New Member
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
Posts: 18
Kudos: 5
Registered: 09-19-2013

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

thanks for quick response.

it actually won't let me enable from GUI whether there is something plugged in or not. 

the device in question was a UniFi AP for the record

to clarify -- are you saying you can't use the GUI to cycle power? that seems to be the implication of your comment.

 

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 13551
Kudos: 5247
Solutions: 1652
Contributions: 2
Registered: 06-10-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI


msb wrote:

it actually won't let me enable from GUI whether there is something plugged in or not. 

the device in question was a UniFi AP for the record

to clarify -- are you saying you can't use the GUI to cycle power? that seems to be the implication of your comment. 


As mentioned it disallows enabling PoE output if the link is up. When output is turned off, the link will go down (since the device is no longer powered), so it will allow turning on the output again, so cycle power can be done (there is also an enhancement request to add a single button for this OFF-ON operation to make it more convenient, which is also necessary in some cases, e.g., when accessing the GUI from the device being power-cycled).

If the UAP is only plugged in but not powered, the link should be down so enabing PoE output should be allowed. If you're getting that error message in such a case then it could be a bug. When this happens, is either or both of the LEDs on that port on?

New Member
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
Posts: 18
Kudos: 5
Registered: 09-19-2013

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

you have confirmed my understanding of how it SHOULD work.  there is definitely something buggy going on...

if the ports are empty, I can't enable POE on them from the GUI. if the port has POE turned off, and is connected to a POE AP, (and thus the end device isn't powered) I can't turn it on from the GUI.

Basically it gives that "carrier detected" error from the GUI no matter what...  works fine from CLI

 

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 13551
Kudos: 5247
Solutions: 1652
Contributions: 2
Registered: 06-10-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Yes, if the link is down but it doesn't allow enabling PoE output, that sounds like a bug, so we need to figure out where exactly it "thinks" the link is up and therefore produces that error message. When this happens with an empty port (nothing plugged in), could you check the following:

  • The two LEDs on the port itself.
  • The link status in the Web UI (both the graphics on top and the Interface table on the Dashboard).
  • The output of "show interfaces" in the CLI.
  • The output of "ip addr" in the CLI.
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 10,447
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Posts: 10447
Kudos: 2896
Solutions: 937
Contributions: 16
Registered: 06-09-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Hmm, I just tried to reproduce this with a UniFi AP and it worked fine for me from the GUI.

EdgeMAX Router Software Development
Established Member
Posts: 812
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Posts: 812
Kudos: 192
Solutions: 26
Contributions: 1
Registered: 12-24-2010

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

I don't see where the OP states the browser he is using.  I have run into this type of issue, along with other obscur issues when using an IE browser.

New Member
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
Posts: 18
Kudos: 5
Registered: 09-19-2013

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Funny... in this post: http://community.ubnt.com/t5/EdgeMAX/Edge-Router-POE-no-CLI-via-GUI/td-p/569011

I mentioned that I was using IE10... different issue, which was more obviously browser related...

But seems strange that this issue would be browser related...  maybe...

New Member
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
Posts: 18
Kudos: 5
Registered: 09-19-2013

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

empty port - no "left" lights on, GUI will not allow me to enable

POE device plugged into port (but obviously not powered) - no "left" lights on, GUI will not allow me to enable  (but can from CLI)

non-POE device plugged into port - no "left" lights on, GUI will not allow me to enable (intended behavior I believe)

Basically, I have been unable to come up with a scenario where the GUI will do anything other than error out when trying to enable POE.  It will let me disable it.  Then if I try to re-enable, it will not.

Everything works fine from the CLI.

 

Per the other comment on this thread, I wonder if the IE10 is causing this? (seems strange to me), but I'll try to get this tested with another browser and see if it is that simple. Can't imagine why browser code would be making a "game time" decision like that though...

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 10,447
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Posts: 10447
Kudos: 2896
Solutions: 937
Contributions: 16
Registered: 06-09-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

IE is probably the browser that gets the least testing and also the one the gives the UI developers the most grief.

EdgeMAX Router Software Development
Established Member
Posts: 812
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
Posts: 812
Kudos: 192
Solutions: 26
Contributions: 1
Registered: 12-24-2010

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

[ Edited ]

i just confirmed this is an IE10 issue and NOT present in Firefox or Chrome.   My suspician is that it has something to do with IE10 not being able to report the link status or speed (as seen in the top graphic not providing data).

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 13551
Kudos: 5247
Solutions: 1652
Contributions: 2
Registered: 06-10-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI


ajbtv2 wrote:

i just confirmed this is an IE10 issue and NOT present in Firefox or Chrome.   My suspician is that it has something to do with IE10 not being able to report the link status or speed (as seen in the top graphic not providing data).


Ah yes as mentioned before, IE 10 does not currently work with the GUI and it is on our TODO list to add support for it (and Safari 6 for example). At the moment, please try Chrome or Firefox. IE 9 works too but requires Flash.

New Member
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
Posts: 11
Kudos: 2
Registered: 12-12-2013

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

+1 on not being able to enable POE with v1.4.1 firmware.(I figured it out, but hopefully this post will help others.)

The EdgeRouter behavior changed between firmware v1.3.0 and v1.4.1.

With v1.3.0, I could enable or disable POE on a port from the GUI or by uploading a new config.boot file. In v1.4.1, neither method would work if my device was plugged into the port.

I was using Firefox, and this was not a browser issue. So starting with v1.4 or thereabouts, it sounds like you need to unplug the Ethernet cable to enable POE on a port.

HTH,
John

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 13551
Kudos: 5247
Solutions: 1652
Contributions: 2
Registered: 06-10-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Hmm there wasn't really any changes in terms of the PoE enabling/disabling mechanism between 1.3.0 and 1.4.1. Note that there has always been a check that if the link is already up, enabling PoE is not allowed (since it would seem that the connected device already has power). Could you confirm if the link is up at that point or maybe the link is down but the UI is reporting it as up (which would be a bug of course)?

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago
Posts: 4
Registered: 09-16-2016

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

I had this strange "carrier detected" issue today, tried everything including upgrading firmware, changing O/S, browsers…

 

AND THEN

 

I discovered it ONLY works with MS Internet Explorer (!?). The EdgeOS turns out to not be a web-interface, but an MSIE-interface. GRRRR this cost me several hundred bucks. Shame on Ubiquiti. Fix that "OS" to become a real web interface! Don't care about the bling, but at least make sure the menus work on different mainstream browsers!

 

What should I do if all I have is an Android device or an iSomething? I'd be so stuck!

 

(also finding the End button-to-insert-hyperlink function in this WYSIWYG editor quite #annoying )

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 10,447
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Posts: 10447
Kudos: 2896
Solutions: 937
Contributions: 16
Registered: 06-09-2011

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

@arnotixe funny that you would call it an MSIE interface when I doubt any of the developers use IE.  Most of the developers using Mac OS X and chrome.  This thread is ancient, so if you're still having an issue with version v1.9.0 you should start your own thread.

EdgeMAX Router Software Development
Emerging Member
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎09-27-2015
Posts: 91
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 2
Registered: 09-27-2015

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Can confirm this is a browser issue. Had the exact same problem on 1.9.0 when using Firefox 48. None of the dynamic whiz-bang stuff was working in Firefox (graphs, port lights and cpu/ram data at the top of the page, etc). The port status (connected/disconnected) was showing all connected in Firefox despite 4 of the ports being empty. Tried to enable POE on one of those ports and got the carrier detected error.

 

Switched over to IE11 and everything magically works.

Member
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Posts: 231
Kudos: 58
Registered: 06-02-2009

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Got error on Firefox(wasted 2 hours)Works great on Chrome.......UBNT Please FIX

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: Monday
Posts: 1
Registered: 09-26-2016

Re: Edge Router POE - cannot enable POE from GUI

Can confirm the same issue on Safari 10: PoE update error and the graphs and interface status information do not display properly. Works fine in Chrome 53.

Reply