Reply
Regular Member
jjonsson
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Posts: 457
Kudos: 124
Solutions: 5
Registered: 05-30-2012

EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

How come that the 3 ports in EdgeMax can not provide PoE ?
It would be very nice if that was possible.
1 port to AP, and 1 or 2 ports for PtP links, all powered by the Edgemax router.
And how come the EdgeMax router lite itself can't be powered by PoE ?
So that if you had a ToughSwitch it could provide power to the unit...

All in all it could save some boxes and space...
Ubiquiti Employee
UBNT-ancheng
Posts: 5,447
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 5447
Kudos: 1587
Solutions: 652
Contributions: 2
Registered: 06-10-2011

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

How come that the 3 ports in EdgeMax can not provide PoE ?
It would be very nice if that was possible.


PoE is certainly a good idea and we will look into it. :icon_smile:
Established Member
bluestu
Posts: 859
Registered: ‎03-08-2009
Posts: 859
Kudos: 96
Solutions: 1
Registered: 03-08-2009

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

That would be amazing as we could then power the dishes at each customers site direct from the router! ++1
SuperUser
Josh_SPITwSPOTS
Posts: 17,660
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Posts: 17660
Kudos: 5341
Solutions: 130
Registered: 11-20-2011

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

That would be amazing as we could then power the dishes at each customers site direct from the router! ++1


... Maybe. Depends on how far away the radio is.
Josh Reynolds :: Chief Information Officer :: www.spitwspots.com
Ubiquiti Carrier Wireless Admin, Trainer
Member
GibsonLP
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Posts: 281
Kudos: 48
Solutions: 1
Registered: 09-30-2009

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

I would love to see 24/48v POE on at least 1 port in the Lite router for my own selfish needs :manhappy:
(Powering a unifi pro with it so I could get the standard toughswitch for my aircams instead of buying the pro just for a single 48v unit while the rest are 24v)
Member
doughecka
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Posts: 137
Kudos: 20
Registered: 10-27-2010

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

Hmm, I would much rather have a Lite router+Toughswitch in a single chassis, and power the router from the switch. Can we make a custom cable to split the power from the Toughswitch, and power non-poe devices (such as the router?) from the switch itself?
A plus would be to have a chassis that has dual AC power supplies, or a built-in AC power supply and the ability to fail-over to a DC input.
SuperUser
Paetur
Posts: 1,986
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Posts: 1986
Kudos: 531
Solutions: 78
Contributions: 9
Registered: 06-30-2010

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

Would love to see POE on EdgeRouter,
Replacing a POP's RB750UP with a toughswitch and a EdgeRouter Lite, would make all but 2 devices run on ToughSwitch POE.
So being able to also power the 2 uplinks that go from EdgeRouter Lite (NanoBridges or bigger) and using 1 port to power the EdgeRouter Lite, connected to the ToughSwitch, would be the dream for me.
/Paetur
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Regular Member
alexjhart
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Posts: 399
Kudos: 84
Solutions: 7
Registered: 08-16-2010

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

Would love to see POE on EdgeRouter,

Replacing a POP's RB750UP with a toughswitch and a EdgeRouter Lite, would make all but 2 devices run on ToughSwitch POE.

So being able to also power the 2 uplinks that go from EdgeRouter Lite (NanoBridges or bigger) and using 1 port to power the EdgeRouter Lite, connected to the ToughSwitch, would be the dream for me.

/Paetur

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


I would love to see something that combines the edgerouter and toughswitch pro. I would like to see a replacement for the 750UP as well. Something with 100/1000Mbps ports that can do selectable 24/48V output. Until then, maybe VLANS trunked from the toughswitch to an edgerouter.
SuperUser
Josh_SPITwSPOTS
Posts: 17,660
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Posts: 17660
Kudos: 5341
Solutions: 130
Registered: 11-20-2011

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

I would love to see something that combines the edgerouter and toughswitch pro. I would like to see a replacement for the 750UP as well. Something with 100/1000Mbps ports that can do selectable 24/48V output. Until then, maybe VLANS trunked from the toughswitch to an edgerouter.


So you basically want a suped up 750UP...G?

*cries himself to sleep*
Josh Reynolds :: Chief Information Officer :: www.spitwspots.com
Ubiquiti Carrier Wireless Admin, Trainer
Established Member
networxpc
Posts: 812
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
Posts: 812
Kudos: 247
Registered: 03-07-2011

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

What would be cool is if you could take the frame you're housing the Toughswitch Pro in and put a Toughswitch 8 port on one side and an Edge Router Lite on the other. That would be neat!
Member
GibsonLP
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Posts: 281
Kudos: 48
Solutions: 1
Registered: 09-30-2009

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

What would be cool is if you could take the frame you're housing the Toughswitch Pro in and put a Toughswitch 8 port on one side and an Edge Router Lite on the other. That would be neat!


Excellent Idea!!!
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,881
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2881
Kudos: 482
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

REALLY would be nice to have POE, I believe I mentioned this back in February. Think how clean my tower cabinets would look like, without all the daisy-chaining of patch cables going from POE, to router, etc
Established Member
Idea
Posts: 1,186
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Posts: 1186
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 12
Registered: 10-28-2010

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

What would be cool is if you could take the frame you're housing the Toughswitch Pro in and put a Toughswitch 8 port on one side and an Edge Router Lite on the other. That would be neat!


You know that the EdgeMax Lite and the ToughSwitch PoE have a width that's within a millimeter. If there's no 4+ port PoE EdgeMax device coming out, I will probably be stacking those with a few plates on the side.
Member
milank
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
Posts: 115
Kudos: 10
Registered: 11-21-2008

It is a router, not a power supply nor a switch

I do not like the idea of PoE (as a power source) in Edge Router. It would increase the basic price without much benefit:

If you have 2 or 3 antennas, you will hardly need any router, as the basic routing tasks can be done directly in the radios. You can use Tough Switch to power them.

Should you have more/faster antennas, then you can afford to buy both Edge Router and one or more Tough Switches.

I do not like the PoE as a powered device either. Usually, you will not put the router on your mast, you will leave it "on the ground" along with the max. 3 PoE injectors for antennas...
Established Member
Idea
Posts: 1,186
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Posts: 1186
Kudos: 439
Solutions: 12
Registered: 10-28-2010

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

Yeah, I think leaving PoE off the lite is a good idea, it's a really nice "Edge" router.
What I would root for is a new SKU that would be an EdgeRouter QuickTower edition with 4 or 5 ports PoE running from 16-32VDC. It would be ideal for a few sectors and a backhaul and ideal for off-the-grid, solar or DC backup deployments.
Also ideal for small UniFi deployments, especially if we get a small UniFi package together for EdgeOS, but very useful even if we don't.
Another cheaper but useful idea is a 5 port EdgeOS PoE router with ports 2, 3, 4 and 5 switched. That would be useful at a lot of towers or UniFi installs.
Regular Member
jjonsson
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Posts: 457
Kudos: 124
Solutions: 5
Registered: 05-30-2012

Re: EdgeMax, why no PoE ?

I do not like the idea of PoE (as a power source) in Edge Router. It would increase the basic price without much benefit:


A version with and a version without PoE ? Then you still have your basic price...

If you have 2 or 3 antennas, you will hardly need any router, as the basic routing tasks can be done directly in the radios. You can use Tough Switch to power them.

That depends on how you build your network and what services you provide.
In my opinion a router is for routing and a bridge (AP) is for bridging...
Reply