New Member
kuljeet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-14-2008

Airmax-Rocket M5 as wifi hotspot

Hi,

I hv Airmax sector antenna 120degree 19dBi with rocket M2....and it is connected direct to the switch which gives out dhcp ip for the clients...now i want that if anybody try to search the signal from that rocket M2 and get connected, the client should get dhcp auto ip so that they can easily connect to the internet.....
just want to know what mode should i keep the rocketM2 so that client auto get dhcp ip....and also will connect few clients with nanostation M2 to this rocketM2, so that they can also get dhcp or if i want static ip at client side.....so how the config will be for both rocketM2 and nanostationM2.....so that rocketM2 will work both for wifi client and with nanostation clients as well........
New Visitor
seekay
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Posts: 8
Registered: 09-09-2010

Re: Airmax-Rocket M5 as wifi hotspot

Hi,
Set the M2 up as a bridge, dhcp requests will pass straight from wifi client to switch then.
For those couple of static dhcp there should be a setting on the switch where once leased you can choose an address to "make static" (this is the mikrotik way) or enter a mac address and IP address to create a permanent lease.
Hope that helps!
New Member
kuljeet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-14-2008

Re: Airmax-Rocket M5 as wifi hotspot

didnt get the proper answer........if rocket m2 is in bridge mode, will it release the dhcp ip to the laptop clients 802.11......
New Visitor
seekay
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Posts: 8
Registered: 09-09-2010

Re: Airmax-Rocket M5 as wifi hotspot

Yes, with rocket M2 in bridge mode laptop requests for ip by dhcp will go straight through to (and be granted by) the router.
New Member
kuljeet
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Posts: 23
Registered: 11-14-2008

Re: Airmax-Rocket M5 as wifi hotspot

ok thanks a lot....