Member
0ldman
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎10-04-2009
Posts: 232
Kudos: 30
Registered: 10-04-2009

AG2 TFTP problems

Going through my dead parts, figuring out which are RMA, which are dead, etc, I came across one that had failed during a thunderstorm. I assumed it was dead, couldn't get into the radio.

The radio boots, I can ping 192.168.1.20, tftp says it was successful but I can't get into the web GUI, no telnet or ssh.

Alternating signal lights are flashing, 1 and 3, then 2 and 4. At this point I'm less concerned about reusing it as I am curious about figuring out how to fix it.

I've used the TFTP method on various routers, so I'm familiar with that. I wonder if the flash was damaged and if there is any way to scan, mark bad sectors, anything along those lines. I am not against popping the case open and doing a little tinkering. It will probably become part of my test equipment if I can get going.
Member
srinivasan
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
Posts: 115
Kudos: 6
Registered: 02-14-2012

Re: AG2 TFTP problems

Going through my dead parts, figuring out which are RMA, which are dead, etc, I came across one that had failed during a thunderstorm. I assumed it was dead, couldn't get into the radio.

The radio boots, I can ping 192.168.1.20, tftp says it was successful but I can't get into the web GUI, no telnet or ssh.

Alternating signal lights are flashing, 1 and 3, then 2 and 4. At this point I'm less concerned about reusing it as I am curious about figuring out how to fix it.

I've used the TFTP method on various routers, so I'm familiar with that. I wonder if the flash was damaged and if there is any way to scan, mark bad sectors, anything along those lines. I am not against popping the case open and doing a little tinkering. It will probably become part of my test equipment if I can get going.

Hi,
Use Discovery tool..
find out which firmware version is in which supposed to be the one u uploaded via tftp..srini
Member
0ldman
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎10-04-2009
Posts: 232
Kudos: 30
Registered: 10-04-2009

Re: AG2 TFTP problems

The discovery tool doesn't show anything.
I've tried 5.3.5, 5.3.2, 5.2.1. Is there a particular version that is suppose to be used on each device?
I know the HP models can't run below 5.2.2.
SuperUser
Josh_SPITwSPOTS
Posts: 18,443
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Posts: 18443
Kudos: 5800
Solutions: 143
Registered: 11-20-2011

Re: AG2 TFTP problems

The discovery tool doesn't show anything.

I've tried 5.3.5, 5.3.2, 5.2.1. Is there a particular version that is suppose to be used on each device?

I know the HP models can't run below 5.2.2.


No, it will show all devices it finds despite version numbers, AFAIK. We have 4.x devices and it shows those without a hitch.

I'd say the firmware is @#$ed.
Josh Reynolds :: Chief Information Officer :: www.spitwspots.com
Ubiquiti Certified Trainer :: UBWA, UEWA
Member
0ldman
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎10-04-2009
Posts: 232
Kudos: 30
Registered: 10-04-2009

Re: AG2 TFTP problems

Sorry, I wasn't clear. I was wondering if there was a particular version I was suppose to use for a tftp flash.
I know the discovery sees them all, or all that I've encountered anyway.
Member
0ldman
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎10-04-2009
Posts: 232
Kudos: 30
Registered: 10-04-2009

Re: AG2 TFTP problems

May have an answer. The reset button just fell off inside the case.
Any tips?
edit: tried using a 24v POE reset button, seems to accept the tftp, loses ping for about 45 seconds, reboots, flashes.
Any other firmware I may be able to use to get it to flash? DD-WRT, anything else?
Newbie
Joshiii
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-13-2012

Re: AG2 TFTP problems

Open unit and re solder reset button, or short pins of where reset used to be.

See article on hot to open and flash.

wiki.openwrt.org/toh/ubiquiti/nanostation