Emerging Member
kbzajunior
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Posts: 62
Registered: 01-19-2009

Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Hi friends.
I made a links using AirGrid M2 HP, for offers HOTSPOT in a city, but... rate RX/TX are so poor...

Scenary:
2 x AirGrid M2 HP (750mW, 28Dbm, its very hard), with antenna 20dbi.
Link clear, 1000 metters distance
AirxMax DISABLED ( for other productos NON ubiquiti can be connect )
Firmware Version: XM.v5.3.2 Build Number: 8909 (¿When release firm for HP products ? )

Here a snapshots:
1º snapshot: Main AP WDS, This is a principal antenna, for use HotSpot in a city


2º snapshot:
Its other AP for hotspot. Nice CCQ, and nice signal.


3º snapshot:
Twin web-interface, show results in each AirGrid M2 HP.
¿Signal, CCQ, and results are false? ¿Who say trusted results ?


Dont know how fix this problem.....
thanks

EDIT: Attach a snapshot for view full resolution
snapshot1.JPG
snapshot2.JPG
snapshot3.JPG
Emerging Member
kbzajunior
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Posts: 62
Registered: 01-19-2009

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Any idea?

I think that AirGrid M2 HP ( 750mW ) its perfect for expand hotspot ESSID.
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5782
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Your noise level at the AP side is pretty high. Try a different channel.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Emerging Member
kbzajunior
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Posts: 62
Registered: 01-19-2009

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Regards!

I changed channel ( 11 - 2462 ) and, CCQ & Noise its better results, but, still very poor...

I think using airgrids M2 HP, minimum, 10-15Mb speedtest between links, but 3-4Mb, for my, very bad....

Attached new snapshots.

¿WDS protocol its stable between same ubiquiti products?

Thanks friends!
AP.JPG
CLIENT.JPG
SPEEDTEST.JPG
Member
Schnulch
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-21-2010
Posts: 258
Kudos: 12
Solutions: 1
Registered: 02-21-2010

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Hi,
not sure if thats the problem, but one airgrid is set to 1.5 km distance, other to 1.7 km
the one with 1.7 km acc timeout seems to work better....
btw, the one client connected to the airgrid in the pictures above is terrible, -86 or so......
And I don't think it's a very good idea to use highpower, higain devices for AP, because the laptops connecting to it are a magnitude lesser in tx and rx capability. They will probably "see" a good signal, since you send with 48 dbi, but the laptops themselves only send around 20 dbi (give or take some), resulting in at least 20 db less signal from them to your AP......
One of your last shots shows that.....
Emerging Member
kbzajunior
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Posts: 62
Registered: 01-19-2009

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Hi,

not sure if thats the problem, but one airgrid is set to 1.5 km distance, other to 1.7 km
the one with 1.7 km acc timeout seems to work better....

btw, the one client connected to the airgrid in the pictures above is terrible, -86 or so......

And I don't think it's a very good idea to use highpower, higain devices for AP, because the laptops connecting to it are a magnitude lesser in tx and rx capability. They will probably "see" a good signal, since you send with 48 dbi, but the laptops themselves only send around 20 dbi (give or take some), resulting in at least 20 db less signal from them to your AP......
One of your last shots shows that.....


Yes, the clients connecting to hotspot using your laptops, netbooks, smartphones, and maybe not receive a good signal..... But, my problem is, I NEED A GOOD BANDWITH BETWEN NODES, betwen principal link.
Emerging Member
kbzajunior
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Posts: 62
Registered: 01-19-2009

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

any idea?
Thanks!
Member
Schnulch
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-21-2010
Posts: 258
Kudos: 12
Solutions: 1
Registered: 02-21-2010

Re: Bad rx/tx with link using Airgrid M2 HP

Just don't use WDS AP to WDS-AP,
use 5 GHz Backhaul (if possible in your country) and separate 2.4 GHz AP ,
then you get good bandwith between your nodes....