Newbie
woodyca
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-09-2011

Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

We just purchased two NanoStationLoco M5 to provide connectivity to one of our press boxes(about 1/2 mile from School). I am not a guru on these devices, so I am asking for some best practices on setting them up. I have setup one side as as a access point and the other side was kept as a bridge. The are both connected and appears to be working (Able to ping across the wireless link).

Thanks in advance for any guidance
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5775
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

Is everything working as expected?

Can you post a screen shot of the Main page of both radios? That way we can look at your signal levels and CCQ.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Newbie
woodyca
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-09-2011

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

See attached. These access points have not been installed at their physical locations. Currently they are about 10 ft apart.

Thanks
NanoStation1.jpg
NanoStation2.jpg
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 30,000
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 30000
Kudos: 5775
Solutions: 128
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

1. UBNT gear is only certified for Ch. 149 - 165. You need to change that, or risk a $5,000 FCC fine.
2. Your signal levels are trashing the receivers. -29 is way too hot, get it down to -50 to -55.
3. Your CCQ could be better, especially at .2 miles. Turn down your transmit power levels.

OH..Wait....They are only ten feet apart on the bench at the moment. Never mind. But get them of Ch 36.
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26512
Kudos: 4045
Solutions: 489
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

WHT is right of course, Woody.

Change the default channel to
one at about 5800Mhz. Set one
radio to AP-WDS mode (instead
of just AP); set the other to
station-WDS mode.

Once the radios are installed, check
the received signal strength (which
is now -29). If it is higher than -50
(lower number is higher, for example -48),
turn the rf output down from its
current maximum (which is about 25)
to 5 points below maximum. Dave

PS: Why is the out-of-box channel for these
radios the most illegal possible to set?
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Newbie
woodyca
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-09-2011

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

Thanks for the quick response and information.
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26512
Kudos: 4045
Solutions: 489
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

Welcome! Let us know... Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Newbie
tesetes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-11-2011

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

Ciao a tutti,
ho appena comprato due antenne nanostation M5 per attivare un link punto-punto tra 2 edifici a 500mt. Il primo ho un router (vodafone station) e nell'altro ho un PC. Come devo configurare le 2 antenne? Suppongo in modalità BRIDGE e una come "station" e l'altra come "Access Point"?
Newbie
tesetes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-11-2011

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

Ciao a tutti,
ho appena comprato due antenne nanostation M5 per attivare un link punto-punto tra 2 edifici a 500mt. Il primo ho un router (vodafone station) e nell'altro ho un PC. Come devo configurare le 2 antenne? Suppongo in modalità BRIDGE e una come "station" e l'altra come "Access Point"?
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26512
Kudos: 4045
Solutions: 489
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

For a new issue, you should start
a new thread.

The NanoStation is not an 'antenna'--
it is a radio. For a point-to-point link,
configure one radio as AP-WDS, the
other as station-WDS, both bridge mode.

Set both to the same SSID and channel.
Use a channel in the 5800MHz range.

For a short link like this one, check that
the received signal level is no higher
than -50dB. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Member
Tauseef
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎09-20-2011
Posts: 229
Kudos: 8
Registered: 09-20-2011

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

We just purchased two NanoStationLoco M5 to provide connectivity to one of our press boxes(about 1/2 mile from School). I am not a guru on these devices, so I am asking for some best practices on setting them up. I have setup one side as as a access point and the other side was kept as a bridge. The are both connected and appears to be working (Able to ping across the wireless link).

Thanks in advance for any guidance



woodyca u can configure PTP from this video

www.youtube.com/watch?v=__xzHnK6IVs&feature=youtu.be&hd=1
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26512
Kudos: 4045
Solutions: 489
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: Best Way to Configure Point to Point NanoStation Loco M5

'tauseef', the post from 'woodyca'
was from last May. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.