Reply
Newbie
R Trammell
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Posts: 1
Registered: 03-22-2011

Problem with Windows 7 and discovery tool

We have been using Nano Station 2.4.and 5 gig for a couple of years in our wireless network. Re-issuing radios using the discovery tool or trouble shooting has worked well on our lap tops with XP. I recently got a couple of new computers one with Vista and the other with Windows 7 and I can't get them to run the program for the ubnt Discovery tool. I get error messages.

"can't find javaw" etc

We can reset the radios to default or hopefully get the static ip for our customer from our office. But it is better to scan for it and save time. Xp is going away.....I would sure like to figure this out.

Thanks
SuperUser
flipper
Posts: 2,730
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Posts: 2730
Kudos: 551
Solutions: 137
Registered: 06-18-2010

Re: Problem with Windows 7 and discovery tool

Did you install the Java Runtime Environment?
Newbie
Yooper
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
Posts: 1
Registered: 01-16-2012

Re: Problem with Windows 7 and discovery tool

Did you install the Java Runtime Environment?

Jumping in with the same problem...yes, I just re-installed Java Runtime Environment on my Windows 7 64 bit system, Java version 6 update 31. ubnt Discovery tool v2.3 appears to be looking in C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe
Suggestions? Thanks, Yooper
SuperUser
Josh_SPITwSPOTS
Posts: 17,583
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Posts: 17583
Kudos: 5249
Solutions: 127
Registered: 11-20-2011

Re: Problem with Windows 7 and discovery tool

I run the discovery tool all the time on this laptop (Win 7 pro 64bit).

No probs what so ever.
Josh Reynolds :: Chief Information Officer :: www.spitwspots.com
Ubiquiti Carrier Wireless Admin, Trainer
Regular Member
IslandTime
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Posts: 324
Kudos: 39
Solutions: 12
Registered: 01-12-2008

Re: Problem with Windows 7 and discovery tool

Make sure you are running the .JAR file not the batch file that is also included in the UBNT download.
If I run the batch file I get the "can't find javaw" error along with W7 briefly opening the command window.
Bob
Reply