New Member
headroom27
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-15-2008

PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

Hello,

My problem is a small transfer rate.
side 1: Rocket M5 with 34dBi RocketDish , mode AP WDS
side 2: Rocket M5 with 34dBi RocketDish , mode Client WDS
distance of 11.88 km / measured over Google Earth /

Test Results
RX: 11.86 Mbps
TX: 9.51 Mbps
Total: 21.37 Mbps


What do you think is the best set of equipment for the highest bandwidth.
I need at least
RX: 30~45 Mbps
TX: 30~45 Mbps

Sorry for my English

Marian
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,332
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26332
Kudos: 3974
Solutions: 475
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

You don't tell us anything useful
to offer any possible solutions.

Of course, all your equipment and
the path distance are reasonable.
This leaves three possibilities:
> bad settings
> bad path
> bad equipment

If you post your settings, we can
verify them.

If your path is not completely clear,
including the Fresnel zone, the
solution is to change it.

If the equipment is bad, you could
replace it.

What would you like to do? Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Regular Member
twaldher
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎11-17-2011
Posts: 519
Kudos: 59
Registered: 11-17-2011

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

considering I got a LOUSY connection with two poorly aimed NBG25's that pulled 18Mb/s in one direction over a 12.2km link.
I would ask if you aimed properly, and configured the rocket's properly.
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,332
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26332
Kudos: 3974
Solutions: 475
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

I just did ask that . Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Regular Member
twaldher
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎11-17-2011
Posts: 519
Kudos: 59
Registered: 11-17-2011

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

I just did ask that . Dave


While bad path would imply improper aiming, not everyone would extrapolate that. :icon_mrgreen:

I'm kinda wondering if he's looking at a -30dbm strength.
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,332
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26332
Kudos: 3974
Solutions: 475
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

True enough, 'twaldher'.

On the other hand the -30dB would
be the result of a bad setting. I should
have asked what the 'readings' are as
well as the 'settings'. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2898
Kudos: 484
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

your using 34db Rocket Dish's for a 11.88km (7mi) link? that's way overkill, you must be trying to shoot through lots of tree's or buildings?
New Member
headroom27
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-15-2008

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

What specific information do you need ?

side 1: / Google Earth /
48°21'30.58"S
17°35'22.53"V


side 2: / Google Earth /
48°26'13.79"S
17°41'53.66"V
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2898
Kudos: 484
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

^ you need to get both ends of that link up high as you can. from google earth looks like there's some elevation in the middle. did you run a link path?
Emerging Member
NetCom-Tim
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎09-03-2011
Posts: 74
Kudos: 17
Registered: 09-03-2011

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

HeadRoom, you need to provide us with more useful information. Go to www.ubnt.com/airlink and put in your locations, gear and most importantly your elevation and then post a screenshot of the results. That will help us see what you are facing with your terrain and fresnel situation.
We also need to your current configuration (firmware version, channel width, airmax on/off, ack on/off, distance set or auto) and we really need your current db level.
We should be able to help if you get us what we need. But personally, for a 12km link, I would have just used a pair of power bridges (for half the price) and called it a day (assuming I had proper fz clearance).
-Tim
Ubiquiti Certified Administrator
New Member
headroom27
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Posts: 15
Registered: 09-15-2008

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

I attach the screenshots
Problem is that sometimes the CCQ 100% sometimes falls to 40%. I'll try and tune into the frequency channel then I can post screenshots with the best results.
I suppose the biggest problem is that in noisy side_1
Someone would like to log on to rocket and try to set the rocket?
Sorry for the English, I translate it with Google.
side1.JPG
side2.JPG
AirLinkCalc.JPG
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,332
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26332
Kudos: 3974
Solutions: 475
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

'headroom', your results don't seem
to make much sense; the two Rocket
reports are entirely different from
each other.

That wireless link calculator does not
always account for obstacles and
foliage properly. Don't trust the result.

Because the signal levels are so high,
I suspect interference. Scan using AirView
from both ends of the link. And try
changing to another channel.

Change encryption from TKIP to AES. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Member
devo
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎09-26-2010
Posts: 197
Kudos: 40
Registered: 09-26-2010

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

Try using AutoACK. It looks like you may have NoACK for PTP turned on? This link distance doesnt require that.
Member
devo
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎09-26-2010
Posts: 197
Kudos: 40
Registered: 09-26-2010

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

And use AES encryption instead of TKIP - it will provide more throughput.
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2898
Kudos: 484
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

he let me in and I looked at AirView. it's the WORST I've ever seen. the whole spectrum was popping up to -35db, the best area was still at -60's. that explains the problem.
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,332
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26332
Kudos: 3974
Solutions: 475
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

Thanks for confirming my suspicion!

But why at 5.7GHz? Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2898
Kudos: 484
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

He was actually on the 5500-5700 spectrum, I guess that is what's legal in his country. I also checked the lower bands 5180-5320 which were also allowed in Slovokia code, and they were unusable as well. I should've got a screenshot... it was just awful.
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,332
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26332
Kudos: 3974
Solutions: 475
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

Sorry: what I meant to ask was,
'why is there so much interference
at 5.7GHz'? Nobody has ever
reported interference all all points. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2898
Kudos: 484
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

^ I did a site survey and it brought up like 60 things in the list all over the spectrum, even up to 5700. About 1/2 of it was UBNT MAC addresses. It was horrible, hope I never see anything like that on my radios!
SuperUser
Magician
Posts: 2,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2010
Posts: 2698
Kudos: 1088
Solutions: 9
Registered: 10-12-2010

Re: PtP with Rocket M5 + 34dBi Dish

Needs to try 20mhz channels. Maybe shield kits for the dishes.