Longtime Visitor
IsraelRH
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-16-2012

T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Hi everybody,

Someone who can recommend me an equipment to convert T1 signaling to Ethernet. It'll be used on a RocketM5 wireless link.

Regards,
Israel
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 25,359
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 25359
Kudos: 3719
Solutions: 418
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Most T1 terminating equipment does that. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
SuperUser
WHT
Posts: 29,540
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 29540
Kudos: 5531
Solutions: 116
Registered: 03-17-2008

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Does your T1 modem have an ethernet output?
WHT = Short Form Acronym for "You couldn't handle me even if I came with instructions!"
Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas.

Speed, distance, reliability, cost...Pick three.
...World's First Ubiquiti AirMax WISP....
Established Member
edward
Posts: 801
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 801
Kudos: 82
Solutions: 4
Registered: 09-01-2010
Regular Member
Zerofail
Posts: 542
Registered: ‎11-16-2010
Posts: 542
Kudos: 195
Solutions: 4
Registered: 11-16-2010

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

We used to use Netopia routers. They are no longer being produced if I am not mistaken, but lots can be purchased out there (check out ebay) for about $90.
"No Guts, No Glory!"
Emerging Member
blake
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Posts: 42
Kudos: 1
Registered: 06-08-2011

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

recommend me an equipment to convert T1 signaling to Ethernet. It'll be used on a RocketM5 wireless link.

Are you talking about TDMoIP?
If so, we use RAD gear for this. RAD TDM Pseudowire Remote Gateways.
Network consultant. IT manager. Packet junkie.
1-928-328-1509
Regular Member
nickalot
Posts: 674
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Posts: 674
Kudos: 92
Registered: 09-19-2008

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

This will provide 2 FE and 2 T-1 interfaces:

www.ebay.com/itm/Cisco-3640-Catalyst-3600-Series-Router-BRI-4B-U-2FE-2W-WIC-1DSU-T1-/400293736488?pt...

Easy to configure. Very common. Very cheap. Very vintage.

Add this to support 4 T-1:

www.ebay.com/itm/Cisco-4-Port-T1-Network-Module-With-IMA-NM-4T1-IMA-/220973742288?pt=COMP_EN_Network...
Cloud based Dynamic Bandwidth Shaping to control IPES like Netflix.

www.dynamicbandwidthshaper.com
Longtime Visitor
IsraelRH
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-16-2012

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Have you ever tested these devices with Ubiquiti products?

Regards,
Veteran Member
Sirhc
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Posts: 5938
Kudos: 2165
Solutions: 27
Registered: 09-02-2009

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

I would also use Cisco, anything from a 1500, 1700, 1800, 2800 series will handle a T-1 line easily.
If I was buying I would at least get an 1811 with a T-1 interface card, best bang for your buck!
RF Armor Shield Kits for Ubiquiti M gear
www.rfarmor.com
They really do work!
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 25,359
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 25359
Kudos: 3719
Solutions: 418
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

I would not buy Cisco anything for a
simple T1 termination; that requires
a knowledge of IOS, accessory boards
and other 'stuff'.

It's much easier to by an IAD made
for T1 termination alone; they are
available at very decent prices. For
example, Adtran TA608. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
New Member
lpatterson
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 12
Kudos: 6
Registered: 01-09-2012

T1 over IP

www.memorylink.com/products/flanger-4-plus/

This is if you are looking to pass a T1 from one location to another over IP.
Regular Member
nickalot
Posts: 674
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
Posts: 674
Kudos: 92
Registered: 09-19-2008

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Have you ever tested these devices with Ubiquiti products?

Regards,


When I see a question like this...

The customer facing side is Ethernet. Standard. Not platform specific. The manufacturer of the products you connect via Ethernet is irrelevant. I will say this though, the Blue/Green Cisco color is repulsive. So, from that standpoint, they aren't at all compatible with Ubiquiti's brilliant white which fades to yellow minutes after installation.

Now, assuming you do may a go of it, you'll want more than one T-1. Many, not all, but many ILEC's use Cisco and HDSL to support T-1 transport. If you want multiple T-1's and want to bond them, Cisco's proprietary MultiLink is how you will do it.
Cloud based Dynamic Bandwidth Shaping to control IPES like Netflix.

www.dynamicbandwidthshaper.com
Senior Member
walrus0
Posts: 3,082
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Posts: 3082
Kudos: 485
Registered: 09-28-2010

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

If you want a cheap way to aggregate a lot of T1s, buy a used Cisco 3745 router off eBay ($200?), get some extra fans and power supplies for it ($50?), and get a bunch of T1 interface cards for it. It already has two built in 100BaseTX.
If you have a particularly unique or challenging project, professional consulting services are available in central Asia, south Asia (AF, PK, IN, BD) and the Vancouver, BC area. Please contact me for more details.
Emerging Member
clueless
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
Posts: 68
Kudos: 6
Registered: 04-18-2012

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Hi everybody,
Someone who can recommend me an equipment to convert T1 signaling to Ethernet. It'll be used on a RocketM5 wireless link.
Regards,
Israel

Used for what? Do you need it bridged back to some other piece of equipment, or can/should it do routing? What's at the other end of the t1? Do you need to peel off TDM channels as well, or are all 24 channels going to be dedicated to data?
Senior Member
twinkletoes
Posts: 2,737
Registered: ‎08-26-2009
Posts: 2737
Kudos: 658
Solutions: 1
Registered: 08-26-2009

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

I would not buy Cisco anything for a
simple T1 termination; that requires
a knowledge of IOS, accessory boards
and other 'stuff'.

It's much easier to by an IAD made
for T1 termination alone; they are
available at very decent prices. For
example, Adtran TA608. Dave


I would use cisco because you can buy the necessary equipment for like $30 on ebay. A 2600 with a T1 WIC? $30 is expensive for that crap. But who the hell wants a T1?
SuperUser
mhoppes
Posts: 13,106
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Posts: 13106
Kudos: 3715
Solutions: 50
Registered: 06-23-2010

Re: T1 to Ethernet recommendation

Elastic networks makes a simple T1 Ethernet extender that does exact what you want. Its dumb and has no configuration.
You may need one on both ends though.
Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk
Sent via alt.hardware.wireless.ubnt reflector

On-Location airMax Training for Groups of 4 or more.
Send PM for more information.