New Member
TechWebPer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Posts: 18
Registered: 12-22-2011

RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Hello All,

Have a quick question...

Seeing as the RocketM5 Ti units have a gig port on them, if I had a PTP connection with 2 units, both in gig ports on either side, in absolutely ideal conditions, 40Mhz wide channel, 300/300 OTA, what would be the maximum throughput they could pass?

Thanks for any and all response, much appreciated!
Veteran Member
WisTech
Posts: 5,116
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Posts: 5116
Kudos: 1133
Solutions: 54
Registered: 10-28-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Hello All,

Have a quick question...

Seeing as the RocketM5 Ti units have a gig port on them, if I had a PTP connection with 2 units, both in gig ports on either side, in absolutely ideal conditions, 40Mhz wide channel, 300/300 OTA, what would be the maximum throughput they could pass?

Thanks for any and all response, much appreciated!

Figure about 150Mbps one way under 'perfect' conditions.
Tony Pierro
CTO at Wireless Internet Services, Inc.
www.wirelesstcp.net
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,896
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2896
Kudos: 482
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Figure about 150Mbps one way under 'perfect' conditions.


You beat me to it.
Veteran Member
WisTech
Posts: 5,116
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Posts: 5116
Kudos: 1133
Solutions: 54
Registered: 10-28-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

You beat me to it.


Sorry, I type 156WPM I can't help it...
Tony Pierro
CTO at Wireless Internet Services, Inc.
www.wirelesstcp.net
Established Member
FreenetAntennas
Posts: 856
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Posts: 856
Kudos: 191
Solutions: 13
Registered: 12-14-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Has anybody done a real test in these two cases?
1) one-way (seems 150 Mbps is the answer)
2) two way (aggregate)
Seems this is a major selling feature of the Ti range but UBNT makes no distinction on their website about the extra Ti speed capabilities.
www.ubnt.com/airmax just says this ... which is unchanged from the pre-Ti days
Breakthrough speed 150+ Mbps real TCP/IP throughput.
Rob Clark
Freenet Warehouse
Ubiquiti Distributor for Australia
Certified airMAX Instructor
Certified UniFi Instructor
New Member
TechWebPer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Posts: 18
Registered: 12-22-2011

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Thanks everyone for the responses!

This..

Seems this is a major selling feature of the Ti range but UBNT makes no distinction on their website about the extra Ti speed capabilities.


...is why I had to ask. :icon_mrgreen:

Thanks again!
SuperUser
Josh_SPITwSPOTS
Posts: 17,899
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Posts: 17899
Kudos: 5504
Solutions: 133
Registered: 11-20-2011

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

That doesn't make a bit of ****ing sense to me.

GigE ports and faster processors, and you're only getting 150Mbps ONE WAY?

Just some rough theorycrafting, these should be able to do 105/105+ TCP easy.
Josh Reynolds :: Chief Information Officer :: www.spitwspots.com
Ubiquiti Carrier Wireless Admin, Trainer
Regular Member
jjonsson
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Posts: 525
Kudos: 130
Solutions: 5
Registered: 05-30-2012

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Has anybody done a real test in these two cases?


I have to much money ;-)
So I have bought a pair and will test when I get them (hopefully soon).....
I will tell real TCP/IP throughput both ways, same time etc.

I will test with Bittorrent (It can easily max out my 100 Mbit/s fiber connection with a lot of connections), to see if I get more than on Rocket M5 (around 90 Mbit/s).
Regular Member
ripv
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎07-17-2011
Posts: 737
Kudos: 190
Solutions: 4
Registered: 07-17-2011

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

I have to much money ;-)
So I have bought a pair and will test when I get them (hopefully soon).....
I will tell real TCP/IP throughput both ways, same time etc.

I will test with Bittorrent (It can easily max out my 100 Mbit/s fiber connection with a lot of connections), to see if I get more than on Rocket M5 (around 90 Mbit/s).


Looking forward to your test results :manhappy:
New Member
TechWebPer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Posts: 18
Registered: 12-22-2011

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

I have to much money ;-)
So I have bought a pair and will test when I get them (hopefully soon).....
I will tell real TCP/IP throughput both ways, same time etc.

I will test with Bittorrent (It can easily max out my 100 Mbit/s fiber connection with a lot of connections), to see if I get more than on Rocket M5 (around 90 Mbit/s).


Also looking forward to your results! :icon_mrgreen:
Veteran Member
Sirhc
Posts: 5,992
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Posts: 5992
Kudos: 2214
Solutions: 31
Registered: 09-02-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

I as well would like to see your test results but I have already done this but will defer as my results are considered bias.
I do see some improved performance in short to mid distance 5.7-5.8 40 MHz wide PTP links.
On 5.7-5.8 PTMP running even 40 MHz wide not so much, maybe once DFS certification allows the use of cleaner spectrum maybe? But I would never use 40 wide except POSSIBLY with DFS and then not so much.
Now, to be fair my test were done with 30+/- subs as that is my target limit do to the program speeds we offer. Someone selling slower programs with many more subs, say 60+ may see improvement?
I did not test 2.4 Ti as my shield kits are basically the same as a Ti 2.4 sector and I would almost never run 20 MHz wide 2.4 sectors with all the noise in that spectrum let alone 60+ and NEVER 40 MHz wide and there is no way in heck that you will saturate a 100 Mbps NIC or swamp the regular processor at 10 MHz wide or even 20 MHz wide especially with all the noise at 2.4????
RF Armor Shield Kits for Ubiquiti M gear
www.rfarmor.com
They really do work!
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,896
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2896
Kudos: 482
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Far as I know, I don't think it would pass 150mb (since you usually get 50% of the air rates). I've tested it myself. ALSO, the speedtest on the web UI has a limit of around 146mb. I've tested rocket-to-rocket, linked up wired on a toughswitch, same IP subnet, and it stops at 146, which appears to be the "limit" to the speedtest.
Airmax, unlike Mikrotiks "NV2" protocol does not gain any throughput over 802.11n rates. In fact, after testing some of my PtP's that are really short distance (8 miles), I seen more throughput with Airmax OFF. I don't know what Mikrotik did with NV2, but it ADD's additional throughput you can get over 200mb with 300/300 rates. Wish UBNT could make a Airmax version2 like that :manhappy:
Veteran Member
Sirhc
Posts: 5,992
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Posts: 5992
Kudos: 2214
Solutions: 31
Registered: 09-02-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

That is an interesting question, what could they be going, as I have never messed with MT I have to take your word for the MT performance ability Nathan.
Is it possible they are doing some sort of compression?
Try doing a speed test where you transfer a large already compressed file?
RF Armor Shield Kits for Ubiquiti M gear
www.rfarmor.com
They really do work!
Member
johanh13
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Posts: 288
Kudos: 51
Solutions: 2
Registered: 02-10-2011

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Real world (e.g. I am actually using them) TCP throughput: ~70Mbps...
Veteran Member
Sirhc
Posts: 5,992
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Posts: 5992
Kudos: 2214
Solutions: 31
Registered: 09-02-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Real world (e.g. I am actually using them) TCP throughput: ~70Mbps...

Well it sure is a good thing you have that GB Ethernet port! :icon_lol:
I get 70+ Mbps on my current Legacy Rocket PTMP links with shield kits.
forum.ubnt.com/showpost.php?p=408914&postcount=13
Do not get me wrong, I would use a Titanium in a 5.7-5.8 PTP link that I knew I was going to run 40 MHz wide that was not an extremely long link and if the spectrum is not trashed in that area as I think it would be possible to exceed 100 Mbps in one direction.
Once they get DFS certification I would definitely use them on short PTP links that are DFS as that GB Ethernet port may also be utilized in that situation?
I would always use Titanium stuff if I could not get shield kits in my area of the world. For instance right now I have no distributors in Latin America, Asia, or the Middle East so it may be less expensive to go Titanium then pay the shipping from your nearest RF Armor Distributor? But one should also weigh in on the cost of replacement if you are in an area that takes a lot of lightening damage????
RF Armor Shield Kits for Ubiquiti M gear
www.rfarmor.com
They really do work!
SuperUser
wispwest
Posts: 2,896
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
Posts: 2896
Kudos: 482
Solutions: 6
Registered: 01-13-2009

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

That is an interesting question, what could they be going, as I have never messed with MT I have to take your word for the MT performance ability Nathan.

Is it possible they are doing some sort of compression?

Try doing a speed test where you transfer a large already compressed file?


I use MT for 90% of my backhauls, and I have about 40 ptp links. This particular one, was hitting 140mb at night, before I replaced it with AirFiber. Another link this one branches out to, 5.7 miles, 300/300 rates, I can push speedtests over the link while its using real traffic at night, and it will peak to ~180-189 (showed Amishgenius this personally about a month ago :manhappy: )

The only thing is, using NV2 instead of regular Nstreme, is the latency goes up to 2-3ms, rather than the solid 1ms. So, you increase latency but in return gain more throughput than any other 802.11n device. I don't think its compression. NV2 gives latency like TDMA would.

No wireless chipset replacement needed, you can stick any 802.11n card in a MT board and use it. Now what I'm getting at, is if they could do it, maybe UBNT could do something like that. Just like MT, you can set the station protocal to "any", and it will automatically adapt to what the AP is on. So you could have "802.11n, Airmax, or Airmax2". If there's any MT guys on here, I'd like to know what they did with NV2 cause I believe UBNT could make a similar version.
Ubiquiti Employee
UBNT-Matt
Posts: 5,669
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Posts: 5669
Kudos: 2435
Solutions: 62
Contributions: 39
Registered: 11-27-2007

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Far as I know, I don't think it would pass 150mb (since you usually get 50% of the air rates). I've tested it myself. ALSO, the speedtest on the web UI has a limit of around 146mb. I've tested rocket-to-rocket, linked up wired on a toughswitch, same IP subnet, and it stops at 146, which appears to be the "limit" to the speedtest.


Actually, we see 200Mbps+ using the Rocket Titaniums on the bench using built in speed test, and external tests.

You should be able to see over 150Mbps in the field assuming wireless quality is decent. If you have a link that is not doing this, and you think it should (300Mbps rates, good AMQ), let us know and we'll take a look :icon_wink:
New Member
TechWebPer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-22-2011
Posts: 18
Registered: 12-22-2011

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Thanks for all the responses. Based on this...
Actually, we see 200Mbps+ using the Rocket Titaniums on the bench using built in speed test, and external tests.
You should be able to see over 150Mbps in the field assuming wireless quality is decent. If you have a link that is not doing this, and you think it should (300Mbps rates, good AMQ), let us know and we'll take a look

...we just order a pair of these. I'll post in this thread with the results once we get them up and running. Fingers crossed for +150Mbps :icon_mrgreen:
:ubnt_banana:
Member
johanh13
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Posts: 288
Kudos: 51
Solutions: 2
Registered: 02-10-2011

Throughput, real-life, R5T-GPS

Please see attached screenshot, here are the parameters:

12 miles, signal -51, CCQ 97.7%, freq 5835MHz, 30MHz channel width, AirMAX enabled, LAN0 @ 1000Mbps-Full, 5.5.2 FW...

TX/RX rate: 175.5/175.5Mbps
airMAX Quality: 93%
airMAX Capacity: 80%


Actually, we see 200Mbps+ using the Rocket Titaniums on the bench using built in speed test, and external tests.

You should be able to see over 150Mbps in the field assuming wireless quality is decent. If you have a link that is not doing this, and you think it should (300Mbps rates, good AMQ), let us know and we'll take a look :icon_wink:
m5 ti to m5 ti.png
m5 ti.png
Ubiquiti Employee
UBNT-Matt
Posts: 5,669
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Posts: 5669
Kudos: 2435
Solutions: 62
Contributions: 39
Registered: 11-27-2007

Re: RocketM5 Titanium | Maximum Throughput??

Can you also post screenshots of your main tab, and test using TCP & UDP, each direction individually, and both directions simultaneously?
Also, would be interesting to see how it performs using "Long Range PTP" mode.
-Matt