Established Member
raytaylor
Posts: 1,889
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Posts: 1889
Kudos: 389
Solutions: 8
Registered: 01-07-2009

DHCP Reservations

I was just trying to set up some port forwarding for a customer today and realised i cannot reserve an address in the dhcp pool from the airos interface of a nanostation2

I thought this could be something to add as its much easier to tell a customer to restart their computer than to configure their tcpip settings over the phone.
Taylor Communications
A powercode billing system user
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,379
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26379
Kudos: 3986
Solutions: 477
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

This was brought up somewhere a few weeks
ago, Ray. I think it's a really good idea.

It's usually called 'static IP reservation', and
it's really common in even low-end routers,
as I'm sure you know. Needs to be there! Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Established Member
raytaylor
Posts: 1,889
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Posts: 1889
Kudos: 389
Solutions: 8
Registered: 01-07-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

I managed to set the dhcp timeout to 1 week but if they take their computer on holiday, i am going to have to reset the port forward to their new address that the computer gets from the nanostation when they come back.

I am wondering if there is a way to do a reservation from the admin.cgi page?
Taylor Communications
A powercode billing system user
Emerging Member
joseph521
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-06-2009
Posts: 46
Registered: 10-06-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

i have to my ip resveration by the main router at the tower i use netgear router which i got at a local walamrt its good for security and it automatically upgrades firmware
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,379
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26379
Kudos: 3986
Solutions: 477
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

Instead of a reservation, you can set the
PC to static IP and manual gateway and
DNS servers. The typical network doesn't
change these settings often. Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Established Member
raytaylor
Posts: 1,889
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Posts: 1889
Kudos: 389
Solutions: 8
Registered: 01-07-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

Instead of a reservation, you can set the
PC to static IP and manual gateway and
DNS servers. The typical network doesn't
change these settings often. Dave


Thats what I was trying to avoid.
Laptops outsell desktop computers these days and kids like to take them on holiday so you cant have a static ip when you are at a hotspot.

If a customer says to me "hey i cant use application X" because they are behind a firewall, I want to say "Sure, reboot your computer and it will then be working"
In the back ground I will have logged onto their radio, forwarded the right ports to a reserved address. After rebooting, they will be issued the reserved address and it will start to work.

I still feel there must be a way to reserve a DHCP address using the admin.cgi page or logging into the unit using telnet, but i dont know much about linux to do this.
Taylor Communications
A powercode billing system user
Regular Member
wisphopefull
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Posts: 659
Kudos: 115
Solutions: 12
Registered: 03-15-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

aka Static DHCP, I'd also like this feature in AirOS.

Thanks.
New Member
donvito-pl
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎10-08-2009
Posts: 30
Kudos: 8
Registered: 10-08-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

That one is 'must be'.
Still waiting for it.
Or even better - dhcp relay functionality.
(for dhcp options).
Emerging Member
Estragon
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
Posts: 40
Kudos: 16
Registered: 11-14-2010

Re: DHCP Reservations

bump!

Does anyone know if this can be done from the command line shell in the meantime?
Established Member
Idea
Posts: 1,246
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Posts: 1246
Kudos: 499
Solutions: 13
Registered: 10-28-2010

Re: DHCP Reservations

Yup: www.ubnt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20883&highlight=dnsmasq+static

My dnsmasq.ath0.conf looks like this:
interface=ath0
dhcp-range=10.0.5.100,10.0.5.200,255.255.255.0,3000
dhcp-lease-max=2048
dhcp-leasefile=/etc/persistent/leases.1.ath0
dhcp-host=00:1c:42:cc:dd:ee,10.0.5.6
dhcp-host=00:26:bb:cc:dd:ee,10.0.5.7


On hiccup I ran into is that you shouldn't have a space after the comma after the MAC address. If you dnsmasq will assume the ip is the hostname you want to assign.

man dnsmasq for more info
Established Member
Idea
Posts: 1,246
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Posts: 1246
Kudos: 499
Solutions: 13
Registered: 10-28-2010

Re: DHCP Reservations

BTW I couldn't get dnsmasq to load the ethers file but ymmv
Newbie
GilbertZ
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Posts: 4
Registered: 05-06-2011

Re: DHCP Reservations

What's the status of this problem? As i understood there's still no DHCP reservation in latest firmware? I really badly need assign some IPs statically by client MAC address and of course, without any messing with static IP settings in client machines. Makes me wonder AirOS lack such a essential feature.. :icon_sad:
Newbie
LuckyURE
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Posts: 3
Registered: 06-08-2011

Update?

I have an AirRouter v5.3.2 and don't seem to have the ability to assign static IP address via DHCP Reservation. When will this be implemented!?
Emerging Member
Bib
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Posts: 49
Registered: 06-21-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

What a pity-shame ! After spendind long time fighting for other customizations, I realize there is no support for static dhcp resa even in the latest 5.3.2 :ack2: . I will have to consider switching to dd-wrt :mansad:
Newbie
LuckyURE
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Posts: 3
Registered: 06-08-2011

Update

It is terrible that a company as good as Ubiquiti wouldn't offer static DHCP reservations in the UI!? WTF? However, I was able to use SSH and set them up following the instructions mentioned earlier in the post.

While the feature is there and available it is a shame there is no GUI for it.
Emerging Member
Bib
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Posts: 49
Registered: 06-21-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

Also, AirView is a great tool
Hmmm, I find another lack : port range forwarding. Too much lacks for routing. I think I'll have to use the bridge mode, but I'm afraid I won't be able to set a feature with ebtables like the one there is in ddwrt for remote management : allow a single external public IP to connect to the 2 devices of my radio bridge link for remote SSH/HTTPS management?
SuperUser
Dave-D
Posts: 26,379
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Posts: 26379
Kudos: 3986
Solutions: 477
Registered: 06-23-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

Static DHCP reservations? Why are
you guys making this a big issue?

The only value of that feature is
to push DNS servers to the static
IP clients. If DNS servers don't
change (and they hardly ever do),
you can just as easily assign them
at the same time you assign IP
addresses. Give it a break! Dave
No disclaimer. Nothing to sell. I need to fix that.
Emerging Member
Bib
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Posts: 49
Registered: 06-21-2009

Re: DHCP Reservations

It also assigns the gateway, the netmask and the net+host byte(s). This is not a small thing in wl networks that often need to be remotely managed. Further more, statically assigned dhcp ips permit portforward to work seamlessly, preventing dhcp assigned ips to change.
More, with the help of of a ping watchdog, this allows Stations to follow LAN changes at AP side. Just remains to tune back the wd if needed, as long as it is possible (not set too short)
Member
RebusCom
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Posts: 201
Kudos: 12
Registered: 04-05-2008

Re: DHCP Reservations

It also assigns the gateway, the netmask and the net+host byte(s). This is not a small thing in wl networks that often need to be remotely managed. Further more, statically assigned dhcp ips permit portforward to work seamlessly, preventing dhcp assigned ips to change.
More, with the help of of a ping watchdog, this allows Stations to follow LAN changes at AP side. Just remains to tune back the wd if needed, as long as it is possible (not set too short)


I agree 100%. Lack of DHCP IP reservation is a PITA for us, and is such a simple thing to implement relative to other features it blows me away so much time has passed without this feature being added.

Without it we can't include any of our UBNT gear in our system-wide PRTG network monitoring and port forwarding rules can't be relied upon. Lack of this one simple feature has kept us from using UBNT gear properly in router mode and we instead rely on separate routers with their own DHCP servers.
Newbie
GilbertZ
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Posts: 4
Registered: 05-06-2011

Re: DHCP Reservations

Well explained by Bib, absolutely agree! But it seems that all this dont bother folks @UBNT..
The only value of that feature is
to push DNS servers to the static
IP clients.
No comments.. :icon_evil: