New Member
jsmithkc
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Posts: 15
Kudos: 1
Registered: 08-12-2009

VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

I have been reading that the NanoStations support VLAN tagging, and I wanted to clarify that the Rocket M5 in AP mode will support this as well.

From our Cisco Switch, we would set the port into trunking mode with a native vlan that the ip of the access point would sit on.

Do we need to modify the AP in any way or just the Nanostation M5 (Subscriber)?

We don't do any NAT'ing, just simply a management vlan for the Subscriber device, and passing thru vlans for each customer.

Example would be:

vlan 10 as the management vlan, with the sm ip as: 10.10.50.100
and vlan 20 as the customer vlan, which their router would get a public ip via DHCP on our network.

Any examples would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jordan Smith
Previous Employee
UBNT-Mike.Ford
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Posts: 9171
Kudos: 13
Registered: 08-17-2007

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

I have been reading that the NanoStations support VLAN tagging, and I wanted to clarify that the Rocket M5 in AP mode will support this as well.

From our Cisco Switch, we would set the port into trunking mode with a native vlan that the ip of the access point would sit on.

Do we need to modify the AP in any way or just the Nanostation M5 (Subscriber)?

We don't do any NAT'ing, just simply a management vlan for the Subscriber device, and passing thru vlans for each customer.

Example would be:

vlan 10 as the management vlan, with the sm ip as: 10.10.50.100
and vlan 20 as the customer vlan, which their router would get a public ip via DHCP on our network.

Any examples would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jordan Smith



Hello,
We only support VLAN passthrough. We do not support physical VLAN taggin on our devices.
Thanks,
MIke
Member
ether3al
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Posts: 122
Registered: 07-08-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

We have got VLANs running on our network that is running Microtik AP's and NSL5 CPE's. One Management and one for customers.
This was achieved by bridging the ethernet port to the customer VLAN on the wifi interface (VLANs are configurable by changing keys vlan.clientvid=782 and vlan.managementvid=781 in the ubiquiti config file.)

Correct me if im wrong but I dont see why this would not work on AirOS5.
CCNA, CWNA
Member
cam
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
Posts: 107
Kudos: 1
Registered: 07-09-2008

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

I think what he is trying to do is have a separate VLAN per customer, which is not possible without a "SMART" device on the other end of the "Nano".

VLAN Passthrough is great to have, but if not a hard challenge VLAN tagging would be pretty smooth move to compete with the larger carrier grade companies such as Alvarion.
Thank you,
Cam

Twitter: @cameronkilton
New Member
jsmithkc
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Posts: 15
Kudos: 1
Registered: 08-12-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

This is exactly what I want to accomplish. Having a private IP for the radio on our management vlan, and a vlan on the ethernet interface which will passthru the tag to our switches and routers.
Member
spirited
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
Posts: 112
Registered: 10-27-2009

Me Too!

+1(0000000000)
Member
ether3al
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Posts: 122
Registered: 07-08-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

jsmithkc,
To achieve that just follow the instructions in my previous post.
CCNA, CWNA
New Member
ciphercore
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Posts: 38
Registered: 07-13-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

We have got VLANs running on our network that is running Microtik AP's and NSL5 CPE's. One Management and one for customers.
This was achieved by bridging the ethernet port to the customer VLAN on the wifi interface (VLANs are configurable by changing keys vlan.clientvid=782 and vlan.managementvid=781 in the ubiquiti config file.)

Correct me if im wrong but I dont see why this would not work on AirOS5.




Would you be able to post an example system.cfg ?
Senior Member
twinkletoes
Posts: 2,858
Registered: ‎08-26-2009
Posts: 2858
Kudos: 716
Solutions: 3
Registered: 08-26-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

jsmithkc,

To achieve that just follow the instructions in my previous post.


yeah but you are running airos 3 on your locos

has anyone tried this with airos 5? ubnt said they were still writing the functionality
New Member
ciphercore
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Posts: 38
Registered: 07-13-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

If someone could clear this up, that would be great. Myself... I have 2 BulletM5's doing a PtP.

I would like to have a management vlan to, well manage the Bullets. The remote side will be a security camera system.

Can this be done in Air OS5 ? (CLI)

If so does it require router mode or can it work in bridge (WDS) ?

Does anyone have any examples of working vlan tagging in air os 5 ?
Member
spirited
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
Posts: 112
Registered: 10-27-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

This seems to be the buzz on the forum, yet UBNT team has told me that there are other priorities. Honestly, i think this is a huge one, but thats because its my need.
I have seen lots of posting on OS3.5 about this and have lab setup to get this to work.
Is anyone else actively working on it on lab or out in the field?
I need to be able to have AP that passes multiple vlans (10-20) which would plug into a trunk port on Cisco switch, with common management vlan, say vlan 5. Then have cpes having ability to have same management vlan5, an have vlan10 or vlan 11, or ....etc
I assume this will only be able to be done in bridge mode, using WDS....
Member
ether3al
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Posts: 122
Registered: 07-08-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

Ciphercore,
These are the exact lines in the system.cfg file to enable a client VLAN and a Management VLAN:
vlan.clientvid=xxx
vlan.managementvid=xxx
I am going to try and squeeze in some testing of this functionality in AirOS5 this week.
CCNA, CWNA
New Member
jsmithkc
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Posts: 15
Kudos: 1
Registered: 08-12-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

With the vlan.clientvid and the vlan.managementvid set, will the settings be overwritten if I change something in the GUI or do a firmware upgrade?
New Member
ciphercore
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Posts: 38
Registered: 07-13-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

Ciphercore,

These are the exact lines in the system.cfg file to enable a client VLAN and a Management VLAN:
vlan.clientvid=xxx
vlan.managementvid=xxx

I am going to try and squeeze in some testing of this functionality in AirOS5 this week.


I will give it a try sometime today/tomorrow and let you know.
Member
ether3al
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Posts: 122
Registered: 07-08-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

With the vlan.clientvid and the vlan.managementvid set, will the settings be overwritten if I change something in the GUI or do a firmware upgrade?

Making changes in the GUI will only alter lines in system.cfg that the GUI is associated to. So no making changes in the GUI will not remove the vlan configs

Ciphercore,

How did your testing go?
CCNA, CWNA
New Member
ciphercore
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Posts: 38
Registered: 07-13-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

Making changes in the GUI will only alter lines in system.cfg that the GUI is associated to. So no making changes in the GUI will not remove the vlan configs

Ciphercore,

How did your testing go?

I wasn't able to get it working. I had the main sys admin here give it a go as well, but no luck. We tried both using the system.cfg and writing to mem.... also tried manually using vconfig.... and also with scripts.
Member
ether3al
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Posts: 122
Registered: 07-08-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

Yeah i tried it also and couldnt get it working... :mansad: sigh!
Cmon UBNT we need VLANs!!!
CCNA, CWNA
Member
spirited
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
Posts: 112
Registered: 10-27-2009

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

+1,000,000
New Member
jmbo
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-08-2008
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-08-2008

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

+ 99999999999999999999999999999999999999999
;-)
Previous Employee
UBNT-Mike.Ford
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Posts: 9171
Kudos: 13
Registered: 08-17-2007

Re: VLAN Tagging on Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5

Hey Guys,
This is something I am pushing for as well. I will let you know when I know.
Thanks,
Mike