Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎05-29-2014
Kudos: 41
Solutions: 4

477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

So i'm trying to get setup to list my 477's, and to do that I discovered I need to be registered with a 499.  I'm chasing that down and they're saying I need to submit a 498 to have the ID needed on the 499 which is needed to submit a 477.

 

Has anyone run through this?  Am I way off base here or did you guys all do the same stuff?  I don't want any goverment subsidies, I just want to provide internet to my area from private land.

Veteran Member
Posts: 7,730
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
Kudos: 2688
Solutions: 169

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

[ Edited ]

To just submit a form 477 as "Fixed Wireless", you should NOT have to provide a form 499 ID number !

 

Broadband is not a telco service, which is covered under the form 499 requirement.

 

IF, you are looking at doing the Schools and Libraries grants, then you will need to do the Form 498, and get a SPIN number, and provide a USAC 499 number. In which case you probably need to then do Form 499A (annual), but list yourself as an "Internet Service Provider", and specify that you do not do Telco!  (We have to do that, and file the 499A, with $0 dollars for telco income)

 

(also to get a SPIN number, you have to get a Duns and Bradstreet number-DUNS number)

 

You WILL need to get a FCC FRN number !

SuperUser
Posts: 5,322
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
Kudos: 3053
Solutions: 124

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Unless you're a telephone company, you should select non-ilec when you start the form. Then it should or ask you for 499, or anything else.

Member
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎05-29-2014
Kudos: 41
Solutions: 4

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

ok perfect, thanks.  There's a lot of overlap with the telcom side, i'll run back through and try and get away from the 499 requirement.

Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

[ Edited ]

Bumping into the same thing here... @dballan, what did you end up doing?  The 499 ID looks to be a required field where I'm trying to fill out online...???

 

477.PNG

Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
Member
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎05-29-2014
Kudos: 41
Solutions: 4

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Mine shows exactly the same.  As I was calling around the 498 people, I ended up with my local state and they have a whole setup for the state level as well.  I've been going through that since I'm not due to report until later in the year for the 477.

 

Does anyone know if we both just picked an incorrect upper option that made the 499 required?  Or does someone have a different screenshot of what they're page looks like?

Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

I'm not opposed to the extra filing, especially if it sets me up for erate and lifeline funding, but I'm curious about the implications if I do. I already got a DUNS, so that's done. @mhoppes would probably say that the gvmt stuff isn't worth the extra hassle, so I'm just a little curious how many smaller guys are doing these filings...
Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
SuperUser
Posts: 16,235
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Kudos: 5115
Solutions: 76

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Do what huh? I file all my forms every year, hold my remote pilot license for the drone work we do, and run in band on my radios.
Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

@mhoppes, didn't mean that... thought I saw a post of yours about not taking government money (like erate) since it was t worth the hassle. On a side note, I think I'm exempt from the drone license since I hold a private pilot license Man Happy I may be mistaken. But seriously, any tips on what we have to file as a small startup guy?
Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Looks like 499-a is required, but not 498... when I go to file 499, it makes me file 498.
Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
SuperUser
Posts: 16,235
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Kudos: 5115
Solutions: 76

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Oh.. right I don't do grant funding because of that.

You still have to take a quick on-line competency test.

Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

[ Edited ]

Now I dont know.  This crap is so confusing.  I know I need to file the 477.  Seems like the 499 is only for voice traffic with all the terminology (there is not much mention of data, just 'telecommunbications', so I guess that's me) .  Can anyone clarify if I need to file 499a as a WISP that does not provide voip? I know I definately don't need to file a 498 or 499q for now.

 

I am using this as a guide, but it is still not clear.  There is also a requirement for a D.C. agent of process???

 

https://www.usac.org/_res/documents/cont/training/2013/File-Form-499-A-March-2013.pdf

 

Just looking to any of you who have recently done this to help clarify some of this.  "What did you do?"

 

Waiting for the "What forms should I be Filling" presentation I went to at Wispapalooza to be made available, but that's still going to be another 2-3 weeks  : )

 

Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
Senior Member
Posts: 3,382
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
Kudos: 891
Solutions: 76

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Do you offer voice services?

Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

Negative.
Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
SuperUser
Posts: 4,926
Registered: ‎12-03-2009
Kudos: 1932
Solutions: 112

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

477 is the only requirement if you only do broadband.
If it throws an error about the 499, submit again. The website is stupid sometimes.
Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

That's what I seemed to think. I'll give it a try with the 477. It just has had that required asterisk next to the 499 ID field. I didn't even try to submit it.
Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
Member
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-10-2014
Kudos: 37

Re: 477 Needs 499 Needs 498, is this right?

[ Edited ]

Thanks @JimBouse.  It let me move forward without the 499.  The required asterisk got me (and probably  @dballan) confused.  Once I hit save and continue the fisrt time, It prompts the following below then let me move forward.  Would be nice if they would have put this info in the (i) dialogue. : )

 

Capture.PNG

Ubiquiti Certified - UCWA
Reply