Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

Kudos: 26
Solutions: 5

Fusion splicer question

Guys,

I'm thinking of buying fusion splicer but i have no experience in fiber optic network and in fusion splicer. can you give me some advice about what brand is  base on my budget of $800 to $1000. 

in additional, can you give me a list of compatible fiber optic cable for that fusion splicer  and what equipment i need to deploy fiber to home.

Regards,

Alex

WISP - Bicol Region, Philippines
www.adamosbroadband.com
SuperUser
Kudos: 6715
Solutions: 543
Contributions: 2

Re: Fusion splicer question

[ Edited ]

For that budget, I would stick to mechanical connectors.

Ones like these will work.

http://www.fibertronics-store.com/Mechanical-Connectors_c311.htm

I use a Fujikura mass fusion splicer, but those are in the $15,000 range without accessories.

Get the mechincal connectors, get a good cleaver and cleaning kit with strippers on ebay, and you should be good to go.  

Also, it takes me about 10 minutes to prep, set up fusion splice, shrink the fiber protector, tuck it all in a splice tray etc.

I can do a mechinical connection faster than I can do an ethernet crimp.  Big difference in time. 

ubiquiti certified trainer :: ubwa | uewa
Ancient Member
Kudos: 8377
Solutions: 1295

ClaudeSS wrote:

For that budget, I would stick to mechanical connectors... 

Or go hat in hand to the CFO to get your budget increased.

Kudos: 88
Solutions: 8

You can get a Chinese fusion splicer for a grand. That's the total sum of your options.

thank you very much for your advice.

can you give me some idea, example,  there is fiber optic cut, how do you repair that problem? i have no idea about this and i think this is my biggest problem if i deploy fiber to home.

www.adamosbroadband.com

IPtrans wrote: