Upcoming Maintenance Alert:

The UBNT Community will be upgraded at 5pm MDT on April 25th. During this time the community forums will be set to read-only status.

Learn more

×
Reply
Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎02-18-2016
Kudos: 42

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

So my first CLI command was to enable hwnat offload, and, of course, it worked on a fresh factory default.  Great news so far.

 

ubnt@ubnt# set system offload hwnat enable
[edit]
ubnt@ubnt#

I applied the rest of the config using the attached script (in parts to not overrun the paste buffer).

 

I commit, save and reboot.  8 minutes so far and I'm still locked out.

 

I'll post again when I can access.

Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎02-18-2016
Kudos: 42

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

In your other reply, you attached a configuration with vlan aware enabled.  I missed that the first time reading through, what different configuration is necessary for vlan aware versus what I applied?  

Regular Member
Posts: 3,521
Registered: ‎01-04-2017
Kudos: 425
Solutions: 154

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

You just forgot to make the switch vlan aware, its no biggie. You should be able to just load that whole config that I attached.
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"
Feature Request: RFC 6296 (IPv6 to IPv6 Npt)
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-30-2016
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 2

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

There were major changes to the web based GUI from version 1.9.1.1 to 1.9.7 (Notably a re-write from PHP to Python I believe). Also the order in which things loaded on boot is different. If it still doesn't work I would suggest reverting to 1.9.1.1 and see if the configuration works on that firmware version. If it does it might be indicative of a bug in 1.9.7 when there are many VLAN interfaces defined.

Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎02-18-2016
Kudos: 42

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

So I downgraded my firmware to 1.9.1.1, and the config loads and operates as it should.  Comes back up after a reboot after 3-4 minutes, and seems to be working properly.  

 

I opened a case with UNBT explaining the situation and provided configs and that it works on the earlier version, maybe they can use the info to find the bug and fix it for the next release or so.

 

Thank you for your help in getting this solved, definitely shines the community here.

Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎02-18-2016
Kudos: 42

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

Sorry to revive this one, just have an additional question.

 

To split up the traffic to some extent, I split the first 7 students on ETH1, and the second 7 students on ETH2.

 

My Unifi switch that connects to the EdgeRouterX has the port connected to ETH2 in STP blocking.  On the Unifi switch, I can only turn off spanning tree for the whole device it seems, can I set something on the EdgeRouter X, or is there a suggested way to do this?  Or, should I just put all the students on the same interface.

Highlighted
Regular Member
Posts: 3,521
Registered: ‎01-04-2017
Kudos: 425
Solutions: 154

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

I would just put them all on same interface
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"
Feature Request: RFC 6296 (IPv6 to IPv6 Npt)
Regular Member
Posts: 3,521
Registered: ‎01-04-2017
Kudos: 425
Solutions: 154

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

I thought you had them all under switch0?
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"
Feature Request: RFC 6296 (IPv6 to IPv6 Npt)
Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎02-18-2016
Kudos: 42

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

All VLANs are configured under Switch0, but I've got the vid's set to specific interfaces:

 

Students 1 -7....

set interfaces switch switch0 switch-port interface eth1 vlan vid 86

set interfaces switch switch0 switch-port interface eth2 vlan vid 94

Students 8-14....

 

I can move them all to the same interface, that shouldn't be a big problem.

 

Regular Member
Posts: 3,521
Registered: ‎01-04-2017
Kudos: 425
Solutions: 154

Re: EdgeRouter - Basic Routing and Route Limiting - Capabilities Question

Oh i gotcha you can always turn vlan aware off then it will act like a dumb switch and should send tagged on all interfaces in switch (I might be wrong on that it will disable all you vid/ pvid stuff though)
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"
Feature Request: RFC 6296 (IPv6 to IPv6 Npt)
Reply