Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
Kudos: 36
Solutions: 3

3 ports??

I can understand 3 ports for an edge router. Which might be what this is for. But then it doesn't have much RAM for BGP.

But then what about tower routers, which might have 3 or more redundant backhauls, running OSPF, and 3 or more access points? It looks like any of the Edgemax routers with more than 3 ports are huge rackmount models which may not fit in our small outdoor enclosures.

And no POE support for the radios?

I'm not sure where I can use this? Maybe it's more for corporate networks?

Our core network is fully redundant. It uses OSPF, and every AP and backhaul has a default route to an IP on the router at the base of the tower. This way if any one tower gets completely fried by lightning (which we have a lot of here), it will only effect that one tower.

Our typical router uses 6 to 8 ports, and is compact and runs on 24v.

Right now I can't think of a single site that could use any router in this range. Perhaps a router with a tough switch for the APs might work in the sites which only have two backhauls?

Thanks,
Roger
SuperUser
Posts: 3,626
Registered: ‎10-12-2010
Kudos: 2012
Solutions: 28

Re: 3 ports??

I can understand 3 ports for an edge router. Which might be what this is for. But then it doesn't have much RAM for BGP.

But then what about tower routers, which might have 3 or more redundant backhauls, running OSPF, and 3 or more access points? It looks like any of the Edgemax routers with more than 3 ports are huge rackmount models which may not fit in our small outdoor enclosures.

And no POE support for the radios?

I'm not sure where I can use this? Maybe it's more for corporate networks?

Our core network is fully redundant. It uses OSPF, and every AP and backhaul has a default route to an IP on the router at the base of the tower. This way if any one tower gets completely fried by lightning (which we have a lot of here), it will only effect that one tower.

Our typical router uses 6 to 8 ports, and is compact and runs on 24v.

Right now I can't think of a single site that could use any router in this range. Perhaps a router with a tough switch for the APs might work in the sites which only have two backhauls?

Thanks,
Roger


That was my exact thoughts as I began beta testing this back in june. I however adapted to using vlans on the Edgerouter and when paired with a vlan switch works great. They designed this to be paired with a toughswitch but I have been unable to aquire one Man Sad . Nobody seems to have stock


All my sites are 2-3 bh's ospf and 4-6 sectors and working with the 3 port EdgeRouter Lite. I suggest you try this combo as I know you will be pleased. If you need more that 5 poe ports you could always use a digital loggers poe switch Man Sad
UBRSS, UBWA, UEWA - Ubiquiti Certified Trainer
SuperUser
Posts: 21,761
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Kudos: 7921
Solutions: 233

Re: 3 ports??

That was my exact thoughts as I began beta testing this back in june. I however adapted to using vlans on the Edgerouter and when paired with a vlan switch works great. They designed this to be paired with a toughswitch but I have been unable to aquire one Man Sad . Nobody seems to have stock


All my sites are 2-3 bh's ospf and 4-6 sectors and working with the 3 port EdgeRouter Lite. I suggest you try this combo as I know you will be pleased. If you need more that 5 poe ports you could always use a digital loggers poe switch Man Sad


Trade you a spare TS for an EdgeRouter. Deal? I've also still got those plague blankets and wooden beads.


isp builder | linux sorcerer | datacenter automation conjurer | blog: blog.engineered.online
link to our slack channel on the blog
SuperUser
Posts: 3,626
Registered: ‎10-12-2010
Kudos: 2012
Solutions: 28

Re: 3 ports??

Trade you a spare TS for an EdgeRouter. Deal? I've also still got those plague blankets and wooden beads.

lol,
Sorry can't part with them Man Happy
Wish I had a Carrier 16 though!!!
How about a huge box of L1 + L2 water included? Man Happy
UBRSS, UBWA, UEWA - Ubiquiti Certified Trainer
Previous Employee
Posts: 10,504
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Kudos: 3131
Solutions: 945
Contributions: 16

Re: 3 ports??

I can understand 3 ports for an edge router. Which might be what this is for. But then it doesn't have much RAM for BGP.

But then what about tower routers, which might have 3 or more redundant backhauls, running OSPF, and 3 or more access points? It looks like any of the Edgemax routers with more than 3 ports are huge rackmount models which may not fit in our small outdoor enclosures.

And no POE support for the radios?

I'm not sure where I can use this? Maybe it's more for corporate networks?

Our core network is fully redundant. It uses OSPF, and every AP and backhaul has a default route to an IP on the router at the base of the tower. This way if any one tower gets completely fried by lightning (which we have a lot of here), it will only effect that one tower.

Our typical router uses 6 to 8 ports, and is compact and runs on 24v.

Right now I can't think of a single site that could use any router in this range. Perhaps a router with a tough switch for the APs might work in the sites which only have two backhauls?

Thanks,
Roger
The 3 port "Lite" is only the 1st product in the EdgeMax line. The 8 port model maybe more suited for a wisp. We are considering if it makes sense to add POE to the EdgeMax platform.

BTW, we've been using one of the 3 port "Lite" models as our corporate router since May (1 WAN, 1 LAN, 1 DMZ).
EdgeMAX Router Software Development
SuperUser
Posts: 3,626
Registered: ‎10-12-2010
Kudos: 2012
Solutions: 28

Re: 3 ports??

The 3 port "Lite" is only the 1st product in the EdgeMax line. The 8 port model maybe more suited for a wisp. We are considering if it makes sense to add POE to the EdgeMax platform.

BTW, we've been using one of the 3 port "Lite" models as our corporate router since May (1 WAN, 1 LAN, 1 DMZ).



Need POE Man Happy

Whats the Serial # of yours?
UBRSS, UBWA, UEWA - Ubiquiti Certified Trainer
Established Member
Posts: 2,346
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Kudos: 790
Solutions: 30

Re: 3 ports??

The 3 port "Lite" is only the 1st product in the EdgeMax line. The 8 port model maybe more suited for a wisp. We are considering if it makes sense to add POE to the EdgeMax platform.


It definately does....
For a small tower it makes complete sense with a 3 port POE on all ports EdgeMax Lit.
2 ports POE (for powering) backhaul like NanoBridge. 1 port POE (for powering) Rocket with Omni antenna.

And only 1 box in the tower. No POE adapters, no switch....
Established Member
Posts: 2,346
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Kudos: 790
Solutions: 30

Re: 3 ports??

It definately does....
For a small tower it makes complete sense with a 3 port POE on all ports EdgeMax Lit.
2 ports POE (for powering) backhaul like 2 NanoBridges. 1 port POE (for powering) Rocket with Omni antenna.

And only 1 box in the tower. No POE adapters, no switch....


Of course for a larger tower a 5 port or 8 port version, still with POE on all ports will also make sense....
SuperUser
Posts: 6,054
Registered: ‎08-26-2009
Kudos: 1840
Solutions: 58

Re: 3 ports??

I can understand 3 ports for an edge router. Which might be what this is for. But then it doesn't have much RAM for BGP.


That is so you have incentive to buy something beyond the "Lite" model.

Our typical router uses 6 to 8 ports, and is compact and runs on 24v.

Right now I can't think of a single site that could use any router in this range. Perhaps a router with a tough switch for the APs might work in the sites which only have two backhauls?


I think that's exactly the model that someone had in mind for this device. Use a toughswitch for POE control on your APs.
Reply