Kudos: 1
Solutions: 1

Advice/Help configuring multiple subnets with ER-X

Hi, I'm totally new to Ubiquti and would appreciate some advice/guidance on setting up a router with multiple subnets (and also whether the ER-X I purchased is a reasonable choice for the job).

I have a small OpenStack cluster for hosting virtual machines on an isolated development subnet ('devnet' in the diagram below). There are 3 ports/networks of interest:

1) one port for management via a web UI. This is on the development subnet (10.10.11.0/24).

2) and 3) are the data networks ("provider" or "tenant" networks in OpenStack speak) used to communicate with the VMs. I want the router to provide a separate DHCP service for each subnet. Also, the VMs should be able to access the outside network via NAT.

Some co-workers with similar setups just use a "jump machine" with 3 NICs and simply remote log-in to to the jump machine to talk to devices on each network. I thought it would be nice to have a router that would allow me to access VMs or external devices on the two (or more in future) separate tentant networks from the  development subnet.

I took a stab at configuring things, but clearly there's a lot I don't understand, and again, just wanted a sanity check that what I'm trying to do isn't off base or better done another way.

Here's a diagram of my setup. Assume that I have a switch attached to each ER-X port and that all my networks are flat (no vlans):

ER-X-as-Multi-lan-router.png

Here is my config.boot from my attempt to get this working by reading forums, etc. Note that I really do mean to use '/23' for the network mask on one of the networks.. it's dictated by something out of my control.

interfaces {
    ethernet eth0 {
        address dhcp
        description devnet
        duplex auto
        ip {
            enable-proxy-arp
        }
        speed auto
    }
    ethernet eth1 {
        address 10.10.12.1/24
        description tic-flat-net0
        duplex auto
        ip {