New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-30-2013
Kudos: 3

Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Hi,

I've just updated my ERL to v.1.4.1 and I've spotted what appears to be a minor bug.

If I enter an invalid password when logging into the v1.4.1 GUI I get the error message "Undefined property: UBNT\App\Api\Edge::$writable. The username or password you entered is incorrect." with everything after the "The" pushed down onto a second line and mostly hidden behind the unsername text box.

Is anyone else seeing this issue or has something just got messed up on my installation ?

erl_screenshot.jpg
Member
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎12-07-2013
Kudos: 86
Solutions: 3

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Seeing the same thing here.

Regular Member
Posts: 747
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Kudos: 231
Solutions: 26

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

I can confirm that bug also.

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Yeah we need to fix the error message. Thanks for reporting the issue!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-18-2014
Kudos: 1

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Error message is misleading. I really though I had done something very bad to the file system regarding file permission or existence of files. Something clear such as "Incorrect ID and PWD combination" would be welcome. Thanks for all the progress on GUI and Wizards

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Yeah this is already fixed in our development code and will be in the next release. Thanks for reporting it.

Member
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 4

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

I just upgraded and mine is giving me this same error.

 

Is this fixed yet? I work for a IT contract company and this is killing us.

Member
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎01-24-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 2

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

According to the developers, it has been fixed BUT, the firmware that will include the fix is not released yet to the public as it is still in testing phase (alpha I believe).

I don't understand why it's killing you though? It's not a big deal.

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Yeah as mentioned above this is already fixed and the fix will be in the next release, which is currently in alpha testing and you could give it a try if interested.

Member
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 4

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Considering I am locked out of my router, it is a big deal. This isn't at a home location. It's at a business. A business that we are wanting to use these devices for clients, but it is not looking ideal.

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Just to clarify, the issue discussed above is a cosmetic issue with the error message, i.e., more specifically, when user enters the wrong username/password, the error message should be "The username or password you entered is incorrect." but instead it's showing "blah blah blah The username or password you entered is incorrect.". It does not affect the login functionality though.

If there is a bug that is causing the user to be locked out of the router, then we would need to look into and address it of course, so please provide more details on the issue. Thanks.

Member
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Kudos: 8
Solutions: 3

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Created user "root" is locked out with the above error message. All other users can login fine.

--
Regards,

Jerry Gartner

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Note that "root" login is disallowed by default, so in this case it is treated as incorrect username/password, which triggers that error message. It is not recommended to login as "root" directly and you can use "sudo" to execute privieged commands (or get a root shell).

Member
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Kudos: 8
Solutions: 3

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

I understand that root must be reserved for obvious reasons. I was, never the less allowed to create a user named "root" in the gui. I had no indication that this was forbidden until I tried to login as user "root" and was not allowed.

--
Regards,

Jerry Gartner

Previous Employee
Posts: 10,504
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Kudos: 3141
Solutions: 945
Contributions: 16

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

If you create a root user you should be able to login with it.

EdgeMAX Router Software Development
Previous Employee
Posts: 10,504
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Kudos: 3141
Solutions: 945
Contributions: 16

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1


@UBNT-stig wrote:

If you create a root user you should be able to login with it.


Ok, I've been corrected that the UI still won't allow it (I'm a CLI guy).  I was referring to ssh and even then you need to configure ssh to allow it.

configure
set service ssh allow-root
commit
save
exit

 

EdgeMAX Router Software Development
Member
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-30-2013
Kudos: 8
Solutions: 3

Re: Bug in Incorrect password message on v1.4.1

Thanks for the clarification. I don't have an explicit need for a user named root. I deleted the account and created another called something else. Problem solved. Man Happy

--
Regards,

Jerry Gartner