Member
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎01-11-2014
Kudos: 10
Solutions: 6
Accepted Solution

DHCP Relay Setup

I'm making an assumption here. Currently my clients and servers are on the same VLAN (untagged, VLAN ID 1). I'd like to seperate them out.

 

The clients will sit on a new tagged VLAN, ID3 while the DHCP server (Windows) will remain on VLAN ID 1. The Windows DHCP server is sitting on one of two Hyper-V boxes, also on ID 1, both of  which have a LACP configured on an EdgeSwitch. The routing is configured on a ER4.

 

Do I need to take any steps to verify that clients can receive a DHCP request from my Windows server on a different VLAN? If so, is the EdgeRouter or Switch the appropriate place to do this, and finally, how? Man Happy


Accepted Solutions
SuperUser
Posts: 8,497
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Kudos: 2240
Solutions: 1133

Re: DHCP Relay Setup

Do you mean this ?

Cheers,

jonatha

View solution in original post


All Replies
SuperUser
Posts: 8,497
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Kudos: 2240
Solutions: 1133

Re: DHCP Relay Setup

Do you mean this ?

Cheers,

jonatha

Member
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎01-11-2014
Kudos: 10
Solutions: 6

Re: DHCP Relay Setup

Yes, that is what I was looking at before.


If that's all I have to do, awesome. And thank you!

Member
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎01-11-2014
Kudos: 10
Solutions: 6

Re: DHCP Relay Setup

I cannot get this to work. While I have both the subnet IP and associated DHCP server, I cannot get an IP from the server. The DHCP server does have a subnet for the assigned address space.

 

I can static a client and it works just fine.

Highlighted
SuperUser
Posts: 8,497
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Kudos: 2240
Solutions: 1133

Re: DHCP Relay Setup

Try
sudo tcpdump -ni ethX port 67
Replace ethX with the port where the dhcp-client are connected, and then try again, but declaring, in the tcpdump, the ethX where the dhcp-server is connected, what happen ?