ER-8 cant get IP address from the modem - Need help please

Hi  Guys...

- Im new with ER-8 , and  I want this router to get an IP address from my router

- PPoe is not posible because my ISP do not allow us to have the account and username to use PPoe

- I tried to follow the steps in youtube but with no  success

- What happen is after I access the router via gui, and select WAN+2LAN2  select DHCP for eth0 and put 192.168.1.1/24 for eth1 while for eth2 192.168.2.1/24 then reboot the router

- put the cable connecting to modem to eth0 and put my PC to DHCP use eth1 as my PC port

- the  i cant access the er-8 again

- i can only access the router  again if i will disconnect the cable from eht0

Can you please let me know what I need to do to use eth0 as my WAN-internet port and  eth1 to my LAN port?

BTW, i cant  also change the IP address of my modem we are not allowed to change anything from my home router which have 192.168.1.1/24 as its ip address.

hope you can help me with this issue... 

Thanks in advance !!!

Re: ER-8 cant get IP address from the modem - Need help please

Hi,
I made a little progress guys!!!
I can now connect to the internet!!!
But instead of connecting my cable from the modem to eth0
I connect it to eth1
Then from eth2 I connect a cable going to my US-8 switch
From my US-8 switch I connect again a cable going to this PC im using now
??? how can I use eth0 to be my WAN port and the other remaining ports to my other switches (ES-16-lite)
Appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.
Kudos: 137
Solutions: 48

The most likely problem is that the Cable device is really in router mode, and it is configured to use 192.168.1.1/24 as its ip address, and giving your ER-8 an address that starts with 192.168.1 via DHCP.

@wolf20gang wrote:

- What happen is after I access the router via gui, and select WAN+2LAN2  select DHCP for eth0 and put 192.168.1.1/24 for eth1 while for eth2 192.168.2.1/24 then reboot the router