Reply
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-13-2019

ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

Hey guys,

 

I have a new ER-PRO-8 and upgraded to latest firmware version 1.10.8. The eth6 and eth7 have no connected cables or SFP cables yet so I am currently configuring the settings to migrate over on this new router.

 

When I tried to configure the speed/duplex for eth6 or eth7 interface into 1000/full from either CLI or GUI, it throws me an error message below.

 

1000 is not valid for Copper port
# set interfaces ethernet eth6 duplex full
[edit]
# set interfaces ethernet eth6 ip
[edit]
# set interfaces ethernet eth6 speed 1000
1000 is not valid for Copper port

Value validation failed
Set failed
[edit]

Do I need to connect the SFP cable first before configuring the settings?

 

Any help is deeply appreciated.

 

Thanks.

 

 

SuperUser
Posts: 20,401
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 5133
Solutions: 1458

Re: ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

Yes, you need the SFP plugged in so that it stops thinking it's a "copper port" (note that SFPs tend to be 1000-only, so you shouldn't have to configure speed/duplex anyway).

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-13-2019

Re: ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

Thanks @dpurgert

 

The next thing is how easy to take out or move the existing SFP cable from edgerouter x sfp to ER-PRO-8 as I have not done this before?

 

I did some research and no information is available. Appreciate if anyone can share some experience.

 

Thanks.

SuperUser
Posts: 20,401
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 5133
Solutions: 1458

Re: ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

I don't follow what info you need.  Like "how to unplug a SFP module"?

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-13-2019

Re: ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

Yes, that is right @dpurgert...

 

SuperUser
Posts: 20,401
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 5133
Solutions: 1458

Re: ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

Guess because it's kinda "basic" stuff that people don't think needs explaining.

 

1. unplug the fiber

2. Flip the little handle down (has blue plastic in the pic, may look different for yours - black or yellow or ...)

3. Pull straight out.

4. Plug into new slot

5. Flip handle back up

6. Plug in fiber

 

sfp-transceiver-lg

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 2,644
Registered: ‎05-08-2017
Kudos: 463
Solutions: 384

Re: ER-PRO-8 1000 is not valid for Copper port

Hi @cyberjames,

 

The ER-Pro8 only supports auto-negotation (and forcing the speed to 10/100) on the SFP ports. This is because the device uses a Ethernet/SFP combination port.

 

-Ben

 


 

Ben Pin | Ubiquiti Support

Reply