Emerging Member
Kudos: 6

ER-X Unresponsive

[ Edited ]

Has anyone experienced an issue where their ER-X becomes unresponsive and needs a power cycle to resume normal operations? I have been using this device in question for many months without a problem until now.

The lights on the device were flashing like there was activity taking place but no device attached to the ER-X was available and the ER-X device itself could not be reached using the SSH or HTTPS protocols.

Emerging Member
Kudos: 35
Solutions: 2

Re: ER-X Unresponsive

No, all ER-X work still fine.

Which firmware version is installed on your er-x?
Emerging Member
Kudos: 7

Yes I have this issue. In my case it is related to IPSec Offloading.

Emerging Member

v1.10.1

The strange thing is that the ER-X has been running for some time without any problems and then all of a sudden it becomes unresponsive. I am unable to establish an SSH or HTTPS session or connect to any of the devices attached to the ER-X. Only a power cycle seems to resolve the problem.

Emerging Member

Is there a specific log that you looked at to identify the source of the problem?

Emerging Member

[ Edited ]

There is one report regarding system hangups but only with firmware 1.10.3 (if I rememeber correctly). I was unable to reproduce that behaviour, all er-x are configured to use IPSec offloading. But let's go that route…

Did you activate IPSec offloading on the er-x? System->offload->IPsec in config tree.
If yes, try to deactivate it and watch what happens.

I'm not aware of any way to dump a log when the router crashed. All logos are removed on reboot. The serial console would give some details, but there is none (accessible) on an er-x.

Besides the IPSec offloading… Did you change something? Did you add some scripts that might fill up log files? If the er-x runs out of storage memory it tends to hangup and reboot.

Kudos: 1