Emerging Member
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎01-31-2009
Solutions: 3
Accepted Solution

ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

HI Guys.

 

Is there any way to see a summation of current (real time) Bandwith consumed (rx and tx) by a certain IP?

I am running a ppoe interface on eth2, and I am running into situations where my network randomly spikes on upload on eth2 (pppoe0) , this is normally a dropbox account or something totally destorying my DSL upload.

Is there a way to see rx and tx values, per IP? It cna be on plain old "eth", does not have to be on pppoe0, as I will immediately see the offending ip...

Any ideas?

Fade-Dude
vanTo Technologies
www.vanto.co.za

Accepted Solutions
Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

Yeah this has been discussed before and we will need to look into this. For now it may be done using NetFlow with an external "collector" or something like that.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Regular Member
Posts: 747
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Kudos: 231
Solutions: 26

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

This is a feature I would love to see added to the GUI.

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5479
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

Yeah this has been discussed before and we will need to look into this. For now it may be done using NetFlow with an external "collector" or something like that.

Previous Employee
Posts: 10,504
Registered: ‎06-09-2011
Kudos: 3142
Solutions: 945
Contributions: 16

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

I tend to load the debian package for iftop and find it very useful for see real time flows.

iftop.png

EdgeMAX Router Software Development
New Member
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-06-2014
Kudos: 3
Solutions: 1

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

I have added iftop and it is almost perfect. Web gui would be best but this is very nice. 

I did notice that the values do not seem accurate though. I am going to assume this is due to the hardware offloading being enabled? My connection is 250Mbps/20Mbps. I will see if I need offloading enabled to get those speeds.

Thanks!

Veteran Member
Posts: 5,460
Registered: ‎03-12-2011
Kudos: 2750
Solutions: 129

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

Offloading will probably affect the results, yeah.

I suspect you probably do need working offload for those speeds, but I could be wrong.

Emerging Member
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎01-31-2009
Solutions: 3

Re: ERL Show IP bandwidth information for interface?

Update:

 

Thanks for all the replies.

I configured sflowtrend as a server and my ERL is pusing data to it using flow accounting.

  • This however gives me some data I am battling to understand completely...

I also installed iftop

  • This seems to give me what I was looking for... thanks.

Regarding both of the above, I had to disable IP Offload for them to work.

Fade-Dude
vanTo Technologies
www.vanto.co.za