Reply
New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-02-2016
Kudos: 202

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

Just an update on my first proper botched upgrade. 

 

Dhcp never worked again and had pretty much bricked my Device. Did full reset. Loaded up 1.10.1 and loaded config from backup 

 

all working ok so far 

Member
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎10-17-2013
Kudos: 20
Solutions: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

[ Edited ]

The GUI VLAN config on a switch on an EP-R6 appears to still be missing in 1.10.1.

See post for more details:

https://community.ubnt.com/t5/EdgeRouter/EP-R6-missing-switch0-VLAN-tab-in-1-10/m-p/2284086

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-24-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

Did factory reset and cleaned out the .gz backup file from all junk and uploaded it. At the present all is working fine. Something must have been altered while upgrading by the migration process.
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,143
Registered: ‎07-20-2015
Kudos: 1242
Solutions: 75

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

@flamber
> it was doing failover even though this place doesn't have anything connected to eth1
> I'll email you the tech-support file with reference to this post.
I got your e-mail and I'm looking into this issue right now.

 

@innermotion
> Checked WAN IP was still up, so tried to refresh lease on a wired and wireless device and got self-signed IP. ie. no DHCP response
That looks like DHCP server on ER crashed. Please provide following data if this will repeat again:

  1. ps ax|egrep "[d]hcp|[d]nsmasq"
  2. cat /var/log/messages|egrep "[d]hcp|[d]nsmasq"
  3. show configuration commands |grep dhcp-server

@tubstr
Your config is good and watchdog&status indicate that everything is correct.
Can you please do one more test but this time capture traffic on both WAN interface. This is needed to make sure that traffic is really being forwarded via wrong interace:

  1. Open SSH window #1 and collect traffic on eth0 (Bahnhof):
    sudo tcpdump -n -i eth0 host dl.ubnt.com and not icmp
  2. Open SSH window #2 and collect traffic on eth1 (Comhem):
    sudo tcpdump -n -i eth1 host dl.ubnt.com and not icmp
  3. Login to "192.168.21.12" and download file from dl.ubnt.com:
    curl -O https://dl.ubnt.com/Tolly212128UbiquitiEdgeRouterLitePricePerformanceVsMikroTik.pdf
  4. Monitor SSH windows #1 and #2 and tell me which WAN was used - eth0 (correct behavior) or eth1 (wrong behavior)?

@jea-jea
> Is this the same as 1.10.1 hotfix that I loaded 5 days ago?
> I am confused.
Yes, it is same 1.10.1 version as the one that publised on Beta forum 2 weeks ago.

 

@iposner
> CPU usage does appear to be higher than before though, alternating between 12-20% jumping to 33-40% every few seconds
How do you measure CPU usage? From WebUI, from shell or from SNMP?

 

@seantraveller
> During the upgrade we lost the system name-server settings.
> system {
> name-server 8.8.8.8
> name-server 8.8.4.4
So you are saying that "system name-server 8.8.8.8" and "system name-server 8.8.4.4" disappered from configuration?
Could ot be that you committed those "name-server" settings, but did not "save" them before doing upgrade?

 

@ryanm
> The GUI VLAN config on a switch on an EP-R6 appears to still be missing in 1.10.1.
EP-R6 finally arrived and I was able to reproduce this issue. You are right switch0 VLAN tab is gone for EP-R6 WebGUI in 1.10.1. I created a bug ticket to fix this in next release.

Member
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Kudos: 11
Solutions: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

Edge Router X in switch mode....

 

for anyone else did it take over 30 minutes for the file to be uploaded/ prompted to apply the upgrade?

 

i waited several times initially and then left it before i went to bed and woke up with the prompt to apply the upgrade.   i don't know exactly how long it took but it was over 30 minutes.

 

the upgrade appears to apply successfully.   it held the same static address and the POE port device did come back online! 

 

 

just an observation.   appreciate the work on this update 

New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-06-2017
Kudos: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

I am having problems commiting changes made via Config Tree.

In Service -> Dns -> Forwarding, I add an external DNS Server IP Address.

Then Select Preview and select Apply. This make the entries red and then I select System at the bottom and go down to save and click. There is nothing in the alerts tab but when I go back to the same tree location the new settings are not there.

 

This is a new EdgeRouter X that was on 1.7 and I upgraded before doing any setup. So it is a very basic setup.

 

New Member
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-21-2016
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

@UBNT-afomins

 

The system wide nameservers were still in the config (well at least visable in the GUI) but non-functional.  I attempted to remove them and then re-add them (using the GUI) and received an alert that the set command to add them failed.  I added them successfully using the CLI and after a reboot all was good again.

 

I have another ERL with an almost identical config to upgrade this weekend (Easter) so will advise if the same occurs.

Member
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-04-2015
Kudos: 2

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

still no complete fix for the PPPOE offloading in ER5P and ER8PRO?

cna someone from ubiquiti can confirm that please?

New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-06-2017
Kudos: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!


@jca001wrote:

I am having problems commiting changes made via Config Tree.

In Service -> Dns -> Forwarding, I add an external DNS Server IP Address.

Then Select Preview and select Apply. This make the entries red and then I select System at the bottom and go down to save and click. There is nothing in the alerts tab but when I go back to the same tree location the new settings are not there.

 

This is a new EdgeRouter X that was on 1.7 and I upgraded before doing any setup. So it is a very basic setup.

 


I solved my problem.

I connected via ssh and looked at the boot.config file and my settings were there. I had been using IE to access GUI and switched to Firefox and the setting show up. So there is not a problem with the EdgeRouter or Firmware. It was the browser I was using.

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎04-21-2017
Kudos: 50
Solutions: 4

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

Hi,

 

I've updated one ER-X via the GUI "Upload system image" from v1.10.0 to v1.10.1. I had no problems.

 

But I've noticed that the GUI now reports "EdgeRouter X v1.10.1", while a downloaded backup config.boot file still reports "v1.10.0.5056246.180125.0954".

 

Does anybody else see this? Ideas?

 

-Mike

'Mark as Solution' or Kudos as appropriate.
Member
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Kudos: 32
Solutions: 5

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

I've upgraded several edgemax routers  Er8pro, but when configured with the wizard and doing loadbalancing for 2 WAN interfaces. The Loadbalancing doesnt work anymore. I have to check into it but from my experience, it's only opening the secondary WAN interface to the Inet for the local users.

Head in the cloud. Wireless is everywhere with ubiquity. Enthousiast. Nothing can be on-premise forever. Wireless is the new cable.

#UEWA
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-24-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

@UBNT-afomins

 

All looks good with the tcpdump. I did a complete factory reset of my router and cleaned out the backup file (lots of "migration" files in the tar.gz) and made a restore. Everything works now.

 

So my I figure that the "bug" was related to the backup/restore rather than a genuie bug in the FW/OS of the ER-5 by the looks of things. That is my take at least. Man Happy

 

I can provide you with my failing "backup" tar file if you want for investigation. Have not restored it on my "factory resetted" unit, so I cannot guarantee 100% replicaton of my errors. Please PM if you want a copy of my backup file.

 

Many thanks for you dedication and hard work! <3

 

// Toby

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-06-2016

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

Tried to upgrade from v1.9.7+hotfix.4 but upgrade failed with "Failed to copy config" :

add system image ER-e100.v1.10.1.5067571.tar
Checking upgrade image...Done
Preparing to upgrade...Done
Clearing directory /var/lib/apt (4.0K)...Done
Clearing directory /var/cache/apt (4.0K)...Done
Copying upgrade image...Done
Removing old image...Done
Checking upgrade image...Done
Copying config data...Failed to copy config

Output from df -h :

Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root                 1.6G    590.0M    969.3M  38% /root.dev
unionfs                   1.6G    590.0M    969.3M  38% /
tmpfs                   241.9M    160.0K    241.8M   0% /run
tmpfs                   241.9M    160.0K    241.8M   0% /run
tmpfs                   241.9M    176.0K    241.8M   0% /var/log
tmpfs                   241.9M         0    241.9M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs                   241.9M         0    241.9M   0% /tmp
none                    241.9M      1.2M    240.7M   1% /opt/vyatta/config
unionfs                 241.9M         0    241.9M   0% /opt/vyatta/config/tmp/new_config_3ca2315f4d2d4eb5a5938c300092d96d

Maybe related to squidguard according to a quick search in forum.

 

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,143
Registered: ‎07-20-2015
Kudos: 1242
Solutions: 75

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

@vigilian
> still no complete fix for the PPPOE offloading in ER5P and ER8PRO?
> cna someone from ubiquiti can confirm that please?
PPPoE offloading bug should have been fixed for all ER models except for ER-Infinity in 1.10.0.
Do you experience PPPoE offload failures on ER-Pro with 1.10.1?

 

@mjp66
> GUI now reports "EdgeRouter X v1.10.1",
> while a downloaded backup config.boot file still reports "v1.10.0.5056246.180125.0954".
Signature in config.boot is updated when only when configuration is saved.
Change some settings and signature in config.boot will be updated to v1.10.1.

 

@starckIT
> The Loadbalancing doesnt work anymore.

 

  1. show configuration
  2. show interfaces
  3. show load-balance status
  4. show load-balance watchdog

@tubstr
> Everything works now.
> So my I figure that the "bug" was related to the backup/restore rather than a genuie bug in the FW/OS of the ER-5 by the looks of things.
> I can provide you with my failing "backup" tar file if you want for investigation.
Those symptoms might indicate configuration failure when doing upgrade. Please send me backup to alex.fomins@ubnt.com and I will do the upgrade on my test router.

 

@xpoinsar
> Tried to upgrade from v1.9.7+hotfix.4 but upgrade failed with "Failed to copy config" :
This might happen if file permissions are totally screwed up or if you have a lot of junk in /config/. Please show putput of following commands:

 

sudo ls -la /root.dev
sudo du -sh /root.dev/*
sudo ls -la /root.dev/w/config
sudo du -sh /root.dev/w/config/*
sudo ls -la /root.dev/w.tmp

 

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-06-2016

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

Here are the ouputs !

output for "sudo ls -la /root.dev" :

 

total 76224
drwxr-xr-x    5 root     root          4096 Mar 27 08:41 .
drwxr-xr-x    1 root     vyattacf      4096 Nov 23 07:51 ..
drwx------    2 root     root         16384 Jan  1  1970 lost+found
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      77930496 Oct  5 11:10 squashfs.img
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root            33 Oct  5 11:10 squashfs.img.md5
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root            50 Oct  5 11:03 version
drwxr-xr-x   10 root     vyattacf      4096 Nov 23 07:51 w
drwxr-xr-x    2 www-data root          4096 Jun  1  2011 www

output for "sudo du -sh /root.dev/*"

16.0K	/root.dev/lost+found
74.4M	/root.dev/squashfs.img
4.0K	/root.dev/squashfs.img.md5
4.0K	/root.dev/version
473.1M	/root.dev/w
4.0K	/root.dev/www

output for "sudo ls -la /root.dev/w/config" :

total 76
drwxr-xr-x    4 root     vyattacf      4096 Mar 27 09:17 .
drwxr-xr-x   10 root     vyattacf      4096 Nov 23 07:51 ..
-rw-rw----    1 root     vyattacf     20099 Mar 20 10:04 config.boot
-rw-r-----    1 root     vyattacf     23588 Jan  1  2015 config.boot.2015-01-01-0000.pre-migration
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root         15339 Mar 27 09:17 dhcpd.leases
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root             0 Mar 27 08:02 dnsmasq-dhcp.leases
drwxr-sr-x    3 root     vyattacf      4096 Sep  5  2016 url-filtering
drwxr-xr-x    3 www-data root          4096 Jan  1  2015 wizard

output for "sudo du -sh /root.dev/w/config/*" :

20.0K	/root.dev/w/config/config.boot
24.0K	/root.dev/w/config/config.boot.2015-01-01-0000.pre-migration
16.0K	/root.dev/w/config/dhcpd.leases
0	/root.dev/w/config/dnsmasq-dhcp.leases
386.4M	/root.dev/w/config/url-filtering
8.0K	/root.dev/w/config/wizard

output for "sudo ls -la /root.dev/w.tmp" :

ls: /root.dev/w.tmp: No such file or directory

 

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,143
Registered: ‎07-20-2015
Kudos: 1242
Solutions: 75

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

[ Edited ]

@xpoinsar

 

sudo du -sh /root.dev/w/config/*
20.0K  /root.dev/w/config/config.boot
24.0K  /root.dev/w/config/config.boot.2015-01-01-0000.pre-migration
16.0K  /root.dev/w/config/dhcpd.leases
0      /root.dev/w/config/dnsmasq-dhcp.leases
386.4M /root.dev/w/config/url-filtering                <---------------  BINGO !!!
8.0K   /root.dev/w/config/wizard


Upgrade fails becuse size of /config/url-filtering is ~400Mb. You have following options:

  1. If you don't care about squidguard cache then you can simply delete it before doing upgrade "sudo rm -rf /config/url-filtering"
  2. Otherwise, if you do care about this cache, then you should manually move it to some remote device, do upgrade and then restore squidguard cache from remote device

 

 

Member
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Kudos: 32
Solutions: 5

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

@UBNT-afomins

-------------------------

 

I was just at the customers office, after a reboot it started working again. So initially, when the devices was upgraded and rebooted, it didn't work. The customer did unplug second, fail-over internet connection, but it didn't switch.

show load-balance watchdog

Group G
eth0
status: Running
pings: 28
fails: 0
run fails: 0/3
route drops: 1
ping gateway: ping.ubnt.com - REACHABLE
last route drop : Tue Mar 27 10:16:02 2018
last route recover: Tue Mar 27 10:16:47 2018

pppoe1
status: Running
failover-only mode
pings: 27
fails: 0
run fails: 0/3
route drops: 1
ping gateway: ping.ubnt.com - REACHABLE
last route drop : Tue Mar 27 10:16:08 2018
last route recover: Tue Mar 27 10:16:54 2018

 

show load-balance status:

Group G
interface : eth0
carrier : up
status : active
gateway : 192.168.0.1
route table : 201
weight : 100%
flows
WAN Out : 3773
WAN In : 0
Local Out : 149

interface : pppoe1
carrier : up
status : failover
gateway : pppoe1
route table : 202
weight : 0%
flows
WAN Out : 498
WAN In : 0
Local Out : 15

 

I will send an update with the config as well. Thanks, and maybe it's just because of restarting.

Head in the cloud. Wireless is everywhere with ubiquity. Enthousiast. Nothing can be on-premise forever. Wireless is the new cable.

#UEWA
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-06-2016

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

I choosed to delete the content of url-filtering.
The upgrade was sucessful, but squid did not start.
I had to reconfigure it. The most lengthy part was "update webproxy blacklists" that took near 2 hours.


@UBNT-afominswrote:


Upgrade fails becuse size of /config/url-filtering is ~400Mb. You have following options:

  1. If you don't care about squidguard cache then you can simply delete it before doing upgrade "sudo rm -rf /config/url-filtering"
  2. Otherwise, if you do care about this cache, then you should manually move it to some remote device, do upgrade and then restore squidguard cache from remote device

 

 


 

Member
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Kudos: 32
Solutions: 5

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

@UBNT-afomins

firewall { all-ping enable broadcast-ping disable group { address-group ALLOWRDS { address XXX.XXX.250.248 address XXX.XXX.2.85 address XXX.XXX.30.146 address XXX.XXX.226.196 description ALLOWRDS } network-group PRIVATE_NETS { network 192.168.0.0/16 network 172.16.0.0/12 network 10.0.0.0/8 } } ipv6-receive-redirects disable ipv6-src-route disable ip-src-route disable log-martians disable modify balance { rule 10 { action modify description "do NOT load balance lan to lan" destination { group { network-group PRIVATE_NETS } } modify { table main } } rule 20 { action modify description "do NOT load balance destination public address" destination { group { address-group ADDRv4_eth0 } } modify { table main } } rule 30 { action modify description "do NOT load balance destination public address" destination { group { address-group ADDRv4_pppoe1 } } modify { table main } } rule 100 { action modify modify { lb-group G } } } name WAN_IN { default-action drop description "WAN to internal" rule 10 { action accept description "Allow established/related" state { established enable related enable } } rule 20 { action accept description "XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX" destination { address 192.168.11.0/24 } log enable protocol all source { address XXX.XX.4.0/24 } } rule 30 { action accept description "Allow RDS" destination { address 192.168.11.10 port 3389 } log enable protocol tcp_udp } rule 40 { action drop description "Drop invalid state" state { invalid enable } } } name WAN_LOCAL { default-action drop description "WAN to router" rule 10 { action accept description "Allow established/related" state { established enable related enable } } rule 20 { action drop description "Drop invalid state" state { invalid enable } } } options { mss-clamp { mss 1412 } } receive-redirects disable send-redirects enable source-validation disable syn-cookies enable } interfaces { ethernet eth0 { address dhcp description WAN duplex auto firewall { in { name WAN_IN } local { name WAN_LOCAL } } speed auto } ethernet eth1 { description "WAN 2" duplex auto pppoe 1 { default-route auto firewall { in { name WAN_IN } local { name WAN_LOCAL } } mtu 1492 name-server auto password **************** user-id XXXXXX@EDPNET } speed auto } ethernet eth2 { address 192.168.11.250/24 description Local duplex auto firewall { in { modify balance } } speed auto } ethernet eth3 { duplex auto speed auto } ethernet eth4 { duplex auto speed auto } ethernet eth5 { duplex auto speed auto } ethernet eth6 { duplex auto speed auto } ethernet eth7 { duplex auto speed auto } loopback lo { } } load-balance { group G { interface eth0 { } interface pppoe1 { failover-only } lb-local enable } } service { dns { forwarding { cache-size 150 listen-on eth2 } } gui { http-port 80 https-port 443 older-ciphers enable } nat { rule 2 { description "D-ALLOW RDP 3390" destination { port 3390 } inbound-interface eth0 inside-address { address 192.168.11.10 port 3389 } log enable protocol tcp source { group { address-group ALLOWRDS } } type destination } rule 3 { description "D-ALLOW RDP" destination { port 3389 } inbound-interface eth0 inside-address { address 192.168.11.2 port 3389 } log enable protocol tcp source { group { address-group ALLOWRDS } } type destination } rule 5000 { description "masquerade for WAN" outbound-interface eth0 type masquerade } rule 5002 { description "masquerade for WAN 2" outbound-interface pppoe1 type masquerade } } ssh { port 22 protocol-version v2 } unms { connection XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX } } system { conntrack { expect-table-size 4096 hash-size 4096 table-size 32768 tcp { half-open-connections 512 loose enable max-retrans 3 } } host-name XXXXX-corerouter login { user XXXXXXXXXXX { authentication { encrypted-password **************** plaintext-password **************** } level admin } } ntp { server 0.ubnt.pool.ntp.org { } server 1.ubnt.pool.ntp.org { } server 2.ubnt.pool.ntp.org { } server 3.ubnt.pool.ntp.org { } } offload { hwnat disable ipv4 { forwarding enable pppoe enable } } syslog { global { facility all { level notice } facility protocols { level debug } } } time-zone UTC } vpn { ipsec { auto-firewall-nat-exclude enable esp-group FOO0 { compression disable lifetime 3600 mode tunnel pfs enable proposal 1 { encryption aes128 hash sha1 } } ike-group FOO0 { ikev2-reauth no key-exchange ikev1 lifetime 28800 proposal 1 { dh-group 14 encryption aes128 hash sha1 } } site-to-site { peer XXX.XXX.250.248 { authentication { mode pre-shared-secret pre-shared-secret **************** } connection-type initiate description XXXXXX ike-group FOO0 ikev2-reauth inherit local-address any tunnel 1 { allow-nat-networks disable allow-public-networks disable esp-group FOO0 local { prefix 192.168.11.0/24 } remote { prefix XXX.XX.4.0/24 } } } } } }

This was the unchanged config after upgrade to 1.10.1, after the upgrade it the all internet was going over eth1 while eth0 was connected. (and set as "main") After that reboot, it started working again. Then we unplugged, eth0 and eth1 kicked in, then we reconnected it(eth0) and indeed the loadbalancing was working again, internet traffic went over Eth0 again.. Without a change, in the config.

Head in the cloud. Wireless is everywhere with ubiquity. Enthousiast. Nothing can be on-premise forever. Wireless is the new cable.

#UEWA
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-26-2017

Re: EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software version v1.10.1 has been released!

After the upgrade to my Edge PRO router, load balancing across my 3 WAN configuration got lost and my total bandwidth is flowing through only one WAN at a time. If I unplug, one WAN the other WAN starts working, which is not the case before the upgrade. I think something on load balancing configuration got screwed up after this upgrade. 

 

This seems to be a similar problem like StarcIT mentioned on this forum. 

 

Any Ideas on how to fix this up OR only way is to reset the router and load the last working configuration file ?

Reply