Highlighted

Re: EdgeMax rescue kit (now you can reinstall EdgeOS from scratch)

Thank you so much for this information. It helped me create a new USB drive and have a functioning router again! Ubnt Banana

Kudos: 4
Solutions: 1

[ Edited ]

Hi all, newbie here. I just bought an used ERLite-3 to play with. I had read that they have a high rate of flash drive failures. Even though I got one of the newer metal body ones (which I read is less prone to that issue), I decided to be safe and create a backup image. I did some searching and found a few references to this USB flash drive:

Kingston Digital DataTraveler SE9 16GB USB 2.0 DTSE9H/16GBZ

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006W8U2WU/

In fact, one of the Amazon reviews explicilty mentions it working for the ERLite-3. So I bought one to use as a replacement UFD. However, when I try to boot using the new flash drive, I keep getting these errors (I also bought a USB serial console cable):

Looking for valid bootloader image....
Jumping to start of image at address 0xbfc80000

U-Boot 1.1.1 (UBNT Build ID: 4670715-gbd7e2d7) (Build time: May 27 2014 - 11:16:22)

BIST check passed.
UBNT_E100 r1:2, r2:18, f:4/71, serial #: 44D9E74011B9
MPR 13-00318-18
Core clock: 500 MHz, DDR clock: 266 MHz (532 Mhz data rate)
DRAM: 512 MB
Clearing DRAM....... done
Flash: 4 MB
Net: octeth0, octeth1, octeth2

USB: (port 0) scanning bus for devices...
USB device not responding, giving up (status=0)
1 USB Devices found
scanning bus for storage devices...
No device found. Not initialized? 0
** Partition 1 not valid on device 0 **

** Unable to use usb 0:1 for fatload **
argv[2]: coremask=0x3
argv[3]: root=/dev/sda2
argv[4]: rootdelay=15
argv[5]: rw
argv[6]: rootsqimg=squashfs.img
argv[7]: rootsqwdir=w
argv[8]: mtdparts=phys_mapped_flash:512k(boot0),512k(boot1),64k@1024k(eeprom)
## No elf image at address 0x09f00000
Octeon ubnt_e100#

These are the steps I tried: