Reply
New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
Kudos: 6

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Two questions. I'm not sure how the routers OS works, but I am familiar with Linux systems.
1) Does this service start on restart of the router? (Eg adding to init.d)
2) I see there is a binary file. What is inside it? (Just want to confirm nothing malicious)

The reason I ask #1 is because I restarted the router and the service seemed to stop working. I made other changes during this time so it may not be the reason, but wanted to confirm.
Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

@priz, the integration is designed to have the service restart automatically, in the same way the other ubnt services do, that are configured natively.

 

The GitHub link to the source: github.com/nomeata/udp-broadcast-relay

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
Kudos: 6

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Awesome! You've done a really nice job here. Ubiquiti should pay you for this. Man Happy
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-13-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Wow this thread is awesome!  Answers to both my Sonos and Chromecast problems!

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-13-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

So a quick question before I make a big(ger?) mess.  I have a Edge Router X SFP.

 

Eth0 is configured for WAN

Eth1-4 are configured as part of the Switch0.

 

I have 4 VLAN

  • 1 - Management (Default)
  • 2 - Hue Lights
  • 3 - Media Devices
  • 4 - End User

All Multimedia devices (Sonos, Xbox, Chromecast, Roku etc) are in VLAN 3

All End User devices (Phones, Tablet, Laptops, Desktops) are in VLAN 4

 

To allow devices in VLAN 4 to control the Sonos in VLAN 3 this should be my config?

 

 

    bcast-relay {
        id 1 {
            description "Sonos"
            interface eth1
            interface switch0.3
interface switch0.4 port 1900 }

 or should eth1 be removed?

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Post a sanitized config using the CLI:

ubnt@ubnt:~$ show configuration

Also, let us know what results/problems you have already and which configurations worked or didn't work.

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-13-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

So I attached the UnfiAP directly to the EdgeRouterX and everthing seems to work.  

 

I must have an issue between the configuration of the EdgeRouterX and my TP-Link SG3424.  It appears no VLANs are being passed to the TP-Link switch, which is what I had the UnifiAP connected to.  

 

I guess I will start a new thread with what I am trying to do with the EdgeRouter X and see what is wrong with my config.

 

Thanks

Emerging Member
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎09-02-2015
Kudos: 4

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Sorry if its been beaten like a dead horse, but after reading this thread and the mdns repeater thread i'm unsure if this solution on its own is sufficient to enable sonos & airplay on a network, or whether the mdns repeater on its own works, or whether both should be installed together... Mad2

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

I found experimentation, tcpdump and wireshark were very useful in making it work for my set up. If you want help, recommend you frame your usecase and post a sanitized configuration.

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
Kudos: 6

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

I had to install both. The sonos worked with just one (I forgot which), but my Chromecast wouldnt work unless Brittanic's program and mdns repeater were active. So I have them both configured now.

Emerging Member
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎09-02-2015
Kudos: 4

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Thanks guys, yes, testing is the "next step" lol... I am trying to plan as much as I can ahead of time in order to avoid having additional problems because of conflicting packages/configurations... So I wanted to understand what goes where, and what are "alternatives" and what should be done in combination...

 

What I have found so far (please do correct me if I'm wrong):

 

1. Builtin mDNS reflector causes problems related to holding cache information... - so leave this one off

2. Brittanic's bcast-relay  (add a config for port 1900 for Sonos/Chromecast, and 10102 for Play-fi)...

3. mDNR repeater + igmp-proxy - still not 100% sure if this would be equivalent to #2 or in addition...

 

I will attack the problem soon, and will probably do it in the order above... if all works after installing brittanic's pack i'll stop at #2...

 

Are there other ports of interest that we could perhaps list in this thread so we know how to configure for Sonos, Airplay, Chromecast, and other stuff? DLNA? uPnP? I'm not sure airplay and sonos are the ones I'm most interested, but it would be good to document as much as possible so others have a "definitive guide"... (maybe list what ports need to be open if the firewall is restrictive between networks? 8080 for chromecast control?)...

 

In terms of usecase I have a bunch of sonos players and airplay-compatible devices on a wired network on a particular subnet of my router, and I have 3 different wireless networks which I would like to be able to play to the airplay units and control the sonos units...  They are all on different IP ranges (1 for wired, and 3 for the wireless)...  Thats the usecase... 

 

I plan on running the above on a ER-8 or possibly a USG... thanks for all the info! 

New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Hi britannic - is there a way to tell if the bcast-relay is running? I have everything setup (I believe) but I am still not getting my LIFX bulbs to do broadcast across the network. I also don't see the relay program in the process list (ps aux | grep bcast). They are on their own VLAN and I can communicate with them, but am not seeing them show up in the app unless I put my laptop on their VLAN and come back to the normal VLAN. Here is my configuration and a link to the LIFX broadcast document (I'm super new at this so you may catch something I missed)...

 

h4x@ubnt# show service bcast-relay
id 1 {
description "LIFX listener"
interface eth1
interface eth1.2
port 56700
}

 

https://lan.developer.lifx.com/docs/workflow-diagrams

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

@h4xdaplanet, log in into the CLI (or use the CLI tool in the GUI) and run:

ubnt@ubnt:~# sudo -i
root@ubnt:~# ps ax | grep /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay

You should see something similar to this:

root@ubnt:~# ps ax | grep /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay
 3178 ?        S      3:03 /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay 1 10102 eth0.5 eth0.6
 3181 ?        S      7:59 /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay 2 1900 eth0.555 eth0.5
10935 pts/0    S+     0:00 /bin/busybox grep /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay
Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

So it would appear it isn't running

root@ubnt:~# ps ax | grep /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay
6714 pts/1 S+ 0:00 /bin/busybox grep /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay

I checked the two files in /opt/vyatta/sbin as well, they are owned by root and have the 0755 permission set like all the other files in that folder
Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

If you have netstat on the router (I'm on my mobile phone and can't check right now), you'll want to make sure that the port isn't already in use.
Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Just checked on that port and nothing is using it. I also changed the port to another random one and it still is not running. When I made the commit though, for some reason it lists out my entire configuration and then at the bottom has this

start-stop-daemon: warning: failed to kill 2258: No such process
start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --background --make-pidfile --pidfile "/var/run/udp-bcast-relay.1.pid" --exec "/opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay" -- 1 56088 eth1 eth1.2

Not sure if that is helpful at all
Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Well, it lets us know that the daemon was fired by the service wrapper and posted a PID, it didn't stay runing though.

 

Try manually debugging it at the command line as sudo:

 

root@ubnt:~# sudo /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 1 56700 eth1 eth1.2
Debugging Mode enabled
ID: 3 (ttl: 67), Port 56700
eth1: 11 / 192.168.10.255
eth1.2: 10 / 192.168.4.255
found 2 interfaces total
Done Initializing

 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

So here is what I found - 

 

root@ubnt:~# sudo /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 1 56700 eth1 eth1.2
Debugging Mode enabled
ID: 1 (ttl: 65), Port 56700
ioctl(SIOCGIFBRDADDR): Cannot assign requested address

 

However, I realized that eth1 does not have an IP address assigned because it is in a bridge. So I ran:

 

root@ubnt:~# sudo /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 1 56700 br0 eth1.2
Debugging Mode enabled
ID: 1 (ttl: 65), Port 56700
br0: 6 / 192.168.1.255
eth1.2: 7 / 192.168.200.255
found 2 interfaces total
Done Initializing

I'm not at home to test if this is working or not but I am hopeful!

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-30-2016

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Hi!

Can someone please help me...

I have a ERL3 and I'm trying to get chromecast working across two subnets. I have installed and configured bcast-relay, mdns-repeater and configured igmp-proxy but I can't discover my chromecast when I'm not connected to the same subnet.

This is how my LAN/VLANs are used:

eth0 - Internet

eth1 - Private network (LAN and WLAN users) - Chromecast connects to this network

eth1.10 - Guest network (WLAN users with access to chromecast)

eth2 - Office network

 

As for now I don't have any rules set between eth1, eth1.10 and eth2 because I thought it would be easier to get things working fist.

 

Can someone please post a basic configuration to get this working?

 

New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Have you setup mdns reflection as well? This is what the chromecast uses.
Reply