Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-30-2016

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Now I have setup mdns reflection. That was the solution for my problem. Thanks for the help!!

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-20-2016

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

The Chromecast DIAL Service Discovery which needs to be relayed listens onon UDP/1900 and will unfortunatly conflict with the standard miniupnpd (upnp2) process which bind on UDP/1900. I'm not sure that there is a reasonable work-around that doesn't include simplying disabling upnp2 so throwing this out to the mind hive on here for any suggestions.

 

root@rtr:/tmp/ubnt-bcast-relay# netstat -tulpn |grep 1900
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:1900 0.0.0.0:* 1852/miniupnpd

 

upnp2 {
listen-on eth0.10
nat-pmp enable
secure-mode enable
wan eth1
}

New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
Kudos: 6

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Hi All,

I recently upgraded the EdgeOS 1.8.5. When I did that, it seemed to erase Britannic's bcast-relay service. I reinstalled it, but my Sonos isn't working any longer.

 

Britannic,

Do you know if the service still works under the new EdgeOS firmware?

 

Cheers,

Dave

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Dave, start with the diagnostic steps starting in post 34-37 above and report back.

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Dave I can confirm I have bcast working on 1.8.5
New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
Kudos: 6

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Hi All,

 

Thanks for the quick responses. I previously had upnp enabled. When I upgraded the firmware it removed bcast-relay, and upnp took precedence on port 1900. I ran the 'ps ax' command that britannic recommended and found bcast-relay was not running on port 1900.

 

Solution was to simply disable upnp and restart the router. Sorry for the trouble folks.

 

Cheers,

Dave

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-11-2015

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Istepnio called this out above but enabling the broadcast repeater takes up port 1900 which is used for UPNP2.  I disabled upnp to get Sonos working but that means losing some PS4 functionality. 

 

My network is setup with a Private VLAN and a Media VLAN.   All my controllers are in the Private VLAN while all Sonos devices are in the Media VLAN. The PS4 is also in the Media VLAN.  So i really only need to have the udp-relay listening on the Private VLAN interface and I only need UPNP on the Media VLAN.  

 

Is there a way to get udp-relay to only listen on one interface?  If not, I may try and re-factor a version to do so.   Other possible solutions? 

New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Tried to configure Bcast-relay for my NAS4FREE serviio dlna server, but I can't see my dlna server over different vlans. Have two vlans:

vlan 1 (192.169.1.0/24): serviio dlna server (uses udp 1900 and TCP 8895), also laptop and smart phone (for configure network)

vlan 2 (192.169.2.0/24): Smart TV, smart phones.

 

My bcast-relay config is:

id 1 {
description "Serviio listener"
interface eth1
interface eth1.2
port 1900 
}

 

vlan2 devices can't see serviio, vlan1 devices see serviio but with buuble-upnp for example can't see smart tv dlna client/repeater in vlna2.

 

Checking that bcast is running:

3675 ? S 0:00 /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay 1 1900 eth1 eth1.2
5801 pts/0 S+ 0:00 /bin/busybox grep /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay

 

 

Also enabled mdns (reflector and repeater):

reflector
 repeater {
     interface eth1
     interface eth1.2
 }

 

And finally igmp-proxys enabled like this:

interface eth1 {
     alt-subnet 192.168.1.0/24
     role upstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface eth1.2 {
     alt-subnet 192.168.2.0/24
     role downstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface pppoe {
     role disabled
 }

 

 

I don't have any other rule or firewall configured at the moment (for test purposes). I can ping from different devices in the two vlans.

 

Don't know if I'm doing something wrong, I can't see the dlna server from vlan2. Any clue if I doing something wrong?

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Post a sanitized router config.

 

YMMV - I've found Wireshark or tcpdump to be really useful for diagnosing what is going on. 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

I notice that bcast isn't configured to listen on 8895... Add it with an ID of 2 (or any unique ID). 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Hi britannic, thanks for answer.

I try to add 8895 port to bcast-relay, but acording to serviio develovement this port is only for http access to server (similar to plex) and 1900 UPD is for dlna access. No success, can't see serviio from vlan2.

From yesterday I add a firewall rule to block an IP, and traffic control to limit bandwith in vlans. But before this I also try many configs and I can't see SERVIIO in vlan2.

Even with my firewall rule devices in vlan1 can see and use SERVIIO as normal, but vlan2 devices can't.

 

Atached my config.boot (updated from yesterday).

 

Hope can give me a tip.

 

Best regards.

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Nothing obvious jumped out to me after reviewing your config. My recommendation is to use WireShark or tcpdump to analyse the broadcasts and responses on eth1 and eth1.2 and see if there are any other ports that are required.

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

I didn't familiarized with WireShark, so I use another tools to trace packages, UPNP TOOLS from

http://www.meshcommander.com/upnptools/

 

2016-09-27 (3).pngdevice spy tool in my server vlan

 

I made various configurations in my network, but essentially (1) from inside vlan dlna server, and (2) from outside, from smart-tv vlan.

 

(1) from dlna server vlan, my laptop can see server device and recive package form server ip (from random port to UDP 1900 port), also notify the server adress in TCP port 8895. So I'm sure UDP 1900 and TCP 8895 are port for server. Also I notice that client send a request (M-SEARCH) in similar way , random port to 1900 port. Here some screens.

 

multicast_sniffer-SERVIIO.pngServer NOTIFYmulticast_sniffer-yamaha.pngClient M-SEARCH

(2) But with second configuration, outside server vlan, when I connect my laptop from smart-tv vlan. I can't see server and also all package are stoped, no mather how I use configure bcast-relay, igmp-proxy, mdns.

When I use a SEARCH comand from "device spy" tool, only the request are present in sniffer tool.

 

(3) Finally I conect my laptop  directly to edgerouter eth2 (diferent server subnet) and configured bcast-realy and MDNS, but again no packeds forwarded to this subnet and server missed.

 

I try various configurations: bcast-realy disabled (not unistall just disabled), bcast enabled; igmp-proxy disabled, enabled, upstream in 0.0.0.0/24, IP-Subnet-SERVER, none address; MDNS enabled for repeater and reflector. But the packets are only present in server vlan. When I consult bcast-relay from ssh command is runing but aparently doing nothing.

 

My network use the edgerouter lite as main/only router, conected to this in eth1 a linksys switch LGS326 (L2 smart switch). Also try to enabled and disabled igmp-snooping for switch but no luck. Here a diagram from my network.

network.pngmy network

 

I forgot something ?? bcast-realy need some pre-requisite to forward packes  ?? currently I'm using v1.9 firmware to edgerouter.

 

Like I notice, serviio use TCP 8895 port, bcast-relay can broadcast TCP ports ???

 

I really apreciate some help to fix this issues.

 

Thanks in advance.

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Can you set your utility to display the destination address and port, that's actually as important as the source?

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Ok, using wireshark to have more info. I hope to show relevant information.

As I undestand, the server first Notify the service using random port to 1900 UDP port.

 

(1.0) from insde Lan1 (192.160.10.0/24) with my laptop 192.168.10.102:

Serviio (192.168.10.9) send the NOTIFY process from random port to 239.255.255.250 1900 UPD port.

serviio notify 1900.pngserviio to lan1 (looking insede lan1)

And when my laptop (192.168.10.102) enter to shared folders and try to play some video files serviio recive the address from server:

(1.1) My laptop (192.168.10.102) send the request from random port to serviio 192.168.10.9 8895 TCP port.

(1.2) serviio sends data from 8895 tcp port to laptop 192.168.10.9 previous random port

2016-10-01 (7).pngplay file serviio-laptop (lan1)

(1.3) Also notice also that serviio (192.169.10.9) sends the notify process to vlan4

from 192.168.0.9 random port to 192.168.13.255 1900 port (SSDP process), but I'm not sure if this is correct.

from vlan1, serviio notify vlan4.pngserviio (lan1) sends notify to vlan4

But like I says before, smart-TV doesn't see serviio and devices in LAN1 can't transmit content to smart-TV.

 

(2.1) Changing my laptop to vlan4 192.168.13.105:

serviio 192.168.10.9 random port sends notify to 239.255.255.250 1900 UDP port, but also 192.168.13.255 1900 UDP port.

serviio to vlan4 (2).pngserviio to vlan4 (from inside vlan4)serviiio to vlan4 (2).pngserviio to vlan4 (from inside vlan4)

But laptop (or any device in vlan4) can't see serviio upnp server.

Ok, revised and fixed, now I'm sure I have ping from vlan4 192.168.13.0/24 to eth1 192.168.10.0/24, and in reverse order too.

 

I think the response from clientes to server is missin in vlan4, and I'm really lost how to fix this.

 

Thanks in advance.

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Did you change your configuration, because I cannot find any interface or VLAN for network 192.168.13.0/24 in the config you posted earlier?


@Lokotito wrote:

Ok, using wireshark to have more info. I hope to show relevant information.

As I undestand, the server first Notify the service using random port to 1900 UDP port.

 

(1.0) from insde Lan1 (192.160.10.0/24) with my laptop 192.168.10.102:

Serviio (192.168.10.9) send the NOTIFY process from random port to 239.255.255.250 1900 UPD port.

serviio notify 1900.pngserviio to lan1 (looking insede lan1)

And when my laptop (192.168.10.102) enter to shared folders and try to play some video files serviio recive the address from server:

(1.1) My laptop (192.168.10.102) send the request from random port to serviio 192.168.10.9 8895 TCP port.

(1.2) serviio sends data from 8895 tcp port to laptop 192.168.10.9 previous random port

2016-10-01 (7).pngplay file serviio-laptop (lan1)

(1.3) Also notice also that serviio (192.169.10.9) sends the notify process to vlan4

from 192.168.0.9 random port to 192.168.13.255 1900 port (SSDP process), but I'm not sure if this is correct.

from vlan1, serviio notify vlan4.pngserviio (lan1) sends notify to vlan4

But like I says before, smart-TV doesn't see serviio and devices in LAN1 can't transmit content to smart-TV.

 

(2.1) Changing my laptop to vlan4 192.168.13.105:

serviio 192.168.10.9 random port sends notify to 239.255.255.250 1900 UDP port, but also 192.168.13.255 1900 UDP port.

serviio to vlan4 (2).pngserviio to vlan4 (from inside vlan4)serviiio to vlan4 (2).pngserviio to vlan4 (from inside vlan4)

But laptop (or any device in vlan4) can't see serviio upnp server.

Ok, revised and fixed, now I'm sure I have ping from vlan4 192.168.13.0/24 to eth1 192.168.10.0/24, and in reverse order too.

 

I think the response from clientes to server is missin in vlan4, and I'm really lost how to fix this.

 

Thanks in advance.


 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

I was trying to test any conbination of settings, also start new config from scratch, and later a lot of changes I decide leave the network configured like this.

I change IP ranges from my first post, but topology is the same as show in previous image.

eth1 = 192.168.10.0/24 (Serviio, laptop)

(vif 2) eth1.2 = 192.168.11.0/24

(vif 3) eth1.3 = 192.168.12.0/24

(vif 4) eth1.4 = 192.168.13.0/24 (smart phones, smart tv)

(vif 5) eth1.5 = 192.168.14.0/24

(vif 6) eth1.6 = 192.168.15.0/24

eth2 = not used

 

Upload my boot.config, final.

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Let's make sure that the relay daemon is running. Log in to a shell session (CLI) and run:

sudo -i
ps ax | grep bcast

You should see something similar to this:

root@ubnt:/# ps ax | grep bcast
26483 pts/0    S+     0:00 /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay 1 1900 eth0.5 eth0.555
26539 pts/1    S+     0:00 /bin/busybox grep bcast

If not, then fire the daemon up in debug mode for port 1900 to see why it may not want to run:

/opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 1 1900 eth1 eth2 eth1.4

And also for port 8895:

/opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 2 8895 eth1 eth2 eth1.4
Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

ok:

 

 

root@ubnt:~# ps ax | grep bcast
 2713 ?        S      1:25 /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay 1 1900 eth1 eth2 eth1.4
 2716 ?        S      0:00 /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay 2 8895 eth1 eth2 eth1.4
13163 pts/0    S+     0:00 /bin/busybox grep bcast

 

 

But really don't know why apears "?" istead "pts/", also only "S" and not "S+"

 

 

root@ubnt:~# /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 1 1900 eth1 eth2 eth1.4
Debugging Mode enabled
ID: 1 (ttl: 65), Port 1900
eth1: 3 / 192.168.10.255
eth2: 4 / 192.168.2.255
eth1.4: 6 / 192.168.13.255
found 3 interfaces total
bind: Address already in use
A program is already bound to the broadcast address for the given port

 

 

 

root@ubnt:~# /opt/vyatta/sbin/udp-bcast-relay -d 1 8895 eth1 eth2 eth1.4
Debugging Mode enabled
ID: 1 (ttl: 65), Port 8895
eth1: 3 / 192.168.10.255
eth2: 4 / 192.168.2.255
eth1.4: 6 / 192.168.13.255
found 3 interfaces total
bind: Address already in use
A program is already bound to the broadcast address for the given port

 

 

"A program is already bound to the broadcast address for the given port" is this normal ?

root@upnp:~# netstat -tulpn |grep 1900
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:1900            0.0.0.0:*                           2713/udp-bcast-rela

 

 

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Good, you have proved that the daemons are running for both ports on the 3 interfaces. When you tried to run udp-bcast-relay in debug mode, it couldn't run, because the daemons had already grabbed the ports. So the errors are expected.

 

Since you have you changed the reconfiguration, go ahead and rerun WireShark, but try and set filters to just look at the SSDP source and a single destination on ports 1900 and 8895 (WireShark filtration is a topic unto itself and there's a lot of help online for that). Post those traces here for the forum to peruse.

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
Reply