Reply
Emerging Member
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎05-05-2015
Kudos: 9

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

@UBNT-stig Any plans to include this? I need to install this script and configure it after each firmware release to get my SONOS system working with the EdgeRouter-PoE.

New Member
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
Kudos: 6

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

One million kudos for this man.

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

@Lokotito, also post a trace of a normal working session between multimedia server and client, so we can spot any additional factors that may be required. 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Well the wireshark info is the same as above images.

Servio (192.168.10.9) sends the notify process from random port to 239.255.255.250 1900 UPD port.

192.168.10.9 filter.pngServer NOTIFY

When I browse serviio, server and laptop shares TCP 8895 port.

serviio-laptop browsefiles.pngbrowse files

 

The wireshark traces are attached (serviio-laptop), using filter "host 192.168.10.9 and port 1900 or port 8895".

 

I was asking to developer in serviio forum the way that devices can see the server and here is his answer:

 

Serviio broadcasts the URL of its descriptor.
The descriptor is on TCP 8895 on the bound IP address that you chose in the console, or the default one. So if the device can't receive the descriptor, it won't show Serviio icon.

In my case serviio is on IP 192.168.10.9 (bound ip).

 

as WIRESHARK shows, serviio sends the descriptor to 1900 UPD port:

 

LOCATION: http://192.168.10.9:8895/deviceDescription/738860f8-b4e6-3aa3-a7bf-500df01c731b\r\n

 

What I think is happen:

(1) The devices in other vlans can't receive the descriptor correctly. bcast-rellay sends the descriptor to vlan4 (192.16813.255) checked.

(2) Maybe I think, the devices didn't reach/communicate with serviio using the descriptor address in TCP 8895 port. Devices inside vlan4 can browse and download xml from descriptor, verified with FireFox inside vlan4.

 

(3) Devices search services M-SEARCH in 239.255.255.250, but serviio sends NOTIFY in 192.168.13.255. I think both can't complete the upnp process because they are in different broadcast group.

 

This will explain why devices can't see serviio because (3).

Could be right?

 

But I'm lost how to solve this issue Confused5 really appreciate help.

 

Thanks in advance.

Attachment
Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Pcap file is a great help in replaying what you're seeing, good call @Lokotito.

 

Take another look at IGMP proxy, but this time configure your subnets: link

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

In IGMP-proxy, I set up the subnets acording to interfaces:

eth1: 192.168.10.0/24

eth1.4: 192.168.13.0/24

eth2: 192.168.2.0/24

 

But still can see serviio in vlan 4 or eth2.

 

I also notice in wire shark that bcast-realy and serviio traffic has only one difference:

serviio sends a Multicast traffic (IPv4mcast 01:00:5e:7f:ff:fa) to 239.255.255.250 1900 upd port.

bcast-realy sends a Broadcast traffic (ff:ff:ff:ff) to 192.168.13.255 1900 upd port.

 

Is possible, because this traffic is different, that clients can't see serviio ?

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

@Lokotito, you have correctly diagnosed what is going on. For multicast, bcast-relay won't be able help, it is hardwired for SO_BROADCAST packets.

 

Although I have several VLANs that need to see SSDP devices, (VLAN eth0.555 is dedicated to multimedia devices), I don't use multicast across the VLANs, so bcast-relay was all I needed.

 

However, to see if I can come up with a solution for this problem, I experimented with several permutations and found this configuration successfully transmits mcast packets across my VLANs (remember that eth0.555 is the multicast source):

 

 interface eth0 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role downstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface eth0.5 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role downstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface eth0.6 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role downstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface eth0.555 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role upstream
     threshold 1
 }

 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

@Lokotito, here's a tcpdump on one of my downstream VLANs that's now receiving multicast broadcasts with the igmp-proxy settings in the post above:

 

Spoiler
root@ubiquitous:~# tcpdump -i eth0.5 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250
tcpdump: listening on eth0.5, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 262144 bytes
10:07:04.024012 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 4, id 33851, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 353)
    wdmycloud.private.home.45854 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 325
10:07:04.124187 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 4, id 33852, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 362)
    wdmycloud.private.home.45854 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 334
10:07:04.224373 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 4, id 33853, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 407)
    wdmycloud.private.home.45854 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 379
10:07:04.324776 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 4, id 33854, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 403)
    wdmycloud.private.home.54632 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 375
^C
4 packets captured
7 packets received by filter
0 packets dropped by kernel

 

Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Changed alt-subnet to all interfaces in IGMP-proxy:

eth1 (serviio): alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0 (upstream)

eth1.4 (smar-tv): alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0 (downstream)

eth2 (other): alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0 (downstream)

 

can't see serviio in vlan4 or eth2.

 

Runing TCP dump in eth1 "tcpdump -i eth1 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250" (inside eth1):

Spoiler
admin@ubnt:~$ sudo tcpdump -i eth1 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250
tcpdump: listening on eth1, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 262144 bytes
16:07:44.287340 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 32, id 49288, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 433)
    192.168.10.9.38836 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 405
16:07:44.388414 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 32, id 49289, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 353)
    192.168.10.9.35108 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 325
16:07:44.492717 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 32, id 49290, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 353)
    192.168.10.9.35108 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 325
16:07:44.595509 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 32, id 49291, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 353)
    192.168.10.9.35108 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 325
16:07:44.696533 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 32, id 49293, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 362)
    192.168.10.9.35108 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 334
16:07:44.803791 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 32, id 49326, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 362)
    192.168.10.9.35108 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 334

 

But in eth1.4 or eth2 have 0 packets captured "tcpdump -i eth1.4 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250" (inside eth1):

admin@ubnt:~$ sudo tcpdump -i eth1.4 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250
tcpdump: listening on eth1.4, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 262144 bytes
admin@ubnt:~$ sudo tcpdump -i eth2 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250
tcpdump: listening on eth2, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 262144 bytes

 

Inside vlan4, "tcpdump -i eth1 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250", 0 packets captured:

#admin@ubnt:~$ sudo tcpdump -i eth1.4 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250
tcpdump: listening on eth1.4, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 262144 byte

 

I notice you have broadcast address 239.255.255.250 in eth0.5, is a vlan ritgh? do you have firmware 1.9 installed in edge router?

 

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Try deleting the bcast-relays from your configuration. Yes, eth0.5 is VLAN and my router is using EdgeOS v1.9.0.
Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the patience @britannic

Changed:

 interface eth1 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role upstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface eth1.4 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role downstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface eth2 {
     alt-subnet 0.0.0.0/0
     role downstream
     threshold 1
 }
 interface pppoe {
     role disabled
     threshold 1
 }

and deleting bcast rules, work to multicast in one address.

 

inside vlan4,

Spoiler
admin@ubnt:~$ sudo tcpdump -i eth1.4 -s0 -vv host 239.255.255.250
tcpdump: listening on eth1.4, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 262144 bytes
01:18:39.421485 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 31, id 62644, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 417)
    192.168.10.9.40362 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 389
01:18:39.524056 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 31, id 62645, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 433)
    192.168.10.9.40362 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 405
01:18:39.630613 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 31, id 62646, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 433)
    192.168.10.9.40362 > 239.255.255.250.1900: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 405
01:18:39.737490 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 31, id 62647, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 433)

Happens same to eth1.

 

 

But still can't see serviio in vlan4,

Conecting laptop and serviio directly to Lynksys switch interfaces, if I run:

Spoiler
admin@ubnt:~$ show ip multicast mfc
Group           Origin           In          Out                Pkts         Bytes  Wrong
239.255.255.250 192.168.10.103   eth1        eth1.4                8       976.00b      0
239.255.255.250 192.168.10.6     eth1        eth1.4                8       976.00b      0
239.255.255.250 192.168.10.7     eth1        eth1.4                8       976.00b      0
239.255.255.250 192.168.10.200   eth1        eth1.4                8       976.00b      0
239.255.255.250 192.168.13.107   eth1        eth1.4               25       17.13KB     25
239.255.255.250 192.168.10.9     eth1        eth1.4             1503      580.78KB      0

Says that, from 192.168.13.107 (laptop) 25 Pkts are wrong, I think this is not good?, clients don't send the M-SEARCH traffic? (so I think serviio didn't send the NOTIFY traffic to this clients). Everything outside eth1 says wrong.

 

 

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

@Lokotito, I thought I had found you a solution, but it turns out that further research on my system using a newly configured VLAN, revealed that I had forgotten about previously configuring IGMP snooping on my Cisco switch. It's actually the switch that is relaying the broadcasts and not the router.

 

So, your options are actually:

 

  1. Use a managed switch that supported IGMP snooping
  2. install pimd - multicast routing daemon (PIMv2) using "apt-get install pimd" (you'll need to configure package repositories on your router)
  3. Research IGMP snooping e.g. link
Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-16-2016
Kudos: 1

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Thank you @britannic

Something strange happens just after I post my last reply;

1) I maintain the same configuration from last post, and prepare to sleep.
2) Replace my w841n tplink wifi-router with a tplink w8890 in a point
that use GE2 from Linksys switch (witch participate vlan1, vlan2, vlan4). 3) Power on w8890 and serviio is available for any device connected to w8890
(I was really happy) 4) Take the w8890 from that point and installed in anoter point
that use GE3 from Linksys, serviio was available to any client in this point. 5) In any other point didn't have serviio available, so I believe that
was something in w8890 that "fix" multicast. 6) For my bad, one day later wake up and in w8890 serviio isn't available
anymore, in any point (just like at the beginning).

 

Don't know what enable serviio for w8890 for that short period, had the same configuration of all routers I use, but I don't change anything else from one day to other and serviio disappears.

 

Well now I delete all igmp-proxy, mdns, bcast-realy and made a hard reset to edgerouter, use a clean boot.conf and installed PIMP from debian repo, but I need to read more to configure pimd.conf correctly (default config didn't work), ask in pimd develover github but v2.1 has no support Smiley Sad Also I will try to compile v2.3 using debian jessie, but don't know if will work., installed v2.3.1 from wheezy-backports-sloppy repo, will che if it work.

 

I have my linksys L2 smart switch configured in this way:

 

Spoiler
Bridge Multicast Filtering: ENABLE (IPv4 Multicast Forwarding By MAC Address)
IGMP Snooping: Enable (igmpv2, Auto Learn MRouter Ports)
Multicast Router Ports: Vlan1 (all GE ports used in my network)
                        Vlan4 (all GE ports used in my network)
Forward All: Vlan1 (all GE ports used in my network)
              Vlan4 (all GE ports used in my network)
Unregistered Multicast: All port forwarding

 

Don't know if is ok.

 


.

 

 

Member
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-31-2016
Kudos: 15
Solutions: 2

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

I gotta ask; is it possible for Chromecast traffic to pass between subnets?

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-17-2016

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

[ Edited ]

Works like a charm for me. Only took a couple of minutes to set up and I can now send stuff across subnets

 

I can cast from my mac browser (hardwired on eth1) to the chromecast (which is attached to an access point attached to switch0 on my ERPOE).

 

 

I've also been able to connect from Spotify running on the same mac to a Veetop Audiocast and a DOSS Cloudbook

Emerging Member
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-03-2016
Kudos: 64
Solutions: 5

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

I boiled this long thread down to this small instruction that works for chromecast:

http://www.cron.dk/edgerouter-and-chromecast/

 

Best regards,

   Alex

Member
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-31-2016
Kudos: 15
Solutions: 2

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Really having issues with getting a Sony TV to be available across subnets.  It seems to broadcast similarly as chromecast (according to Wireshark when connected to LAN(eth1)).  Tried all sorts, IGMP Proxy, mDNS replicator, bcastrelay.  Issue is to have the TV (eth1 -> dummy switch -> TV ) visable on wireless devices that is connected to switch0 (own subnet).

 

Latest config: https://gist.github.com/MindTooth/4368c5762ebc677a8112093967f43068

New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-31-2016
Kudos: 5

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Hi guys,

 

I want to have a udp broadcast forwarded from one vlan (10.0.10.0/24) into another vlan (10.0.20.0/24). This udp broadcast is sent from 10.0.10.101 udp port 3804 to 255.255.255.255 udp port 3804, dest mac address ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff   The broadcast should be received in the second vlan by the device 10.0.20.201, also on udp port 3804. This works fine with the ip helper function on EdgeSwitch, but I want to use it rather on EdgeRouter. 

 

Can you tell me, does the method described in this thread work for my requirement?

 

Thanks a lot!


Best regards,

Dennis

Established Member
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎10-01-2014
Kudos: 695
Solutions: 66

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

In principal it should work. Have you tried it yet?
Please help the community find useful posts and solutions by using the "Kudos" and "Accept as Solution" buttons!
Emerging Member
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎09-02-2015
Kudos: 4

Re: Multicast, Sonos, Phorus & Play-Fi Broadcast 255.255.255.255:<port> Discovery Solution

Hi,  I realize I should test whenever possible before asking, but I'm still waiting for some hardware in order to get things working, so I thought I'd ask and already try and prepare beforehand.  Does the solution linked by @cron-dk work also for Airplay?

 

thanks

Reply