Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
Kudos: 1
Accepted Solution

Need help programming PPPOE

Was wondering if someone could help me.

I have been given a EdgeRouter Lite Router. I have used it before with a adsl connection by downloading a setup file off the net. But now I have moved house and the connection requires me to use PPPOE on my router.

I was wondering if there was someone who could help me program my router.

I am not very good at using the cli. I am hoping someone could help me set it up with the wan port as eth0 and the other two eth1 and eth2 briged together. Also a firewall???

Thanks

Accepted Solutions
Ubiquiti Employee
Kudos: 16991
Solutions: 609
Contributions: 20

Re: Need help programming PPPOE

[ Edited ]

@mccar13 wrote:

I have been given a EdgeRouter Lite Router. I have used it before with a adsl connection by downloading a setup file off the net. But now I have moved house and the connection requires me to use PPPOE on my router.

I am not very good at using the cli. I am hoping someone could help me set it up with the wan port as eth0 and the other two eth1 and eth2 briged together. Also a firewall???

Thanks

I would suggest you download the latest firmware (found HERE). Then reset your router to defaults. The only thing is the wizard will configure the ports a little differently, eth1 would be WAN and eth0 and eth2 would be LAN. So connect your modem to eth1. Then you need to configure a static for 192.168.1.1/24 on your computer and wire to eth0 (so anything other than 192.168.1.1 but in that subnet). 

Then connect to the router at 192.168.1.1. On first connect, when set to defaults, you have the WAN+2LAN wizard. This can automate the process for you. Choose PPPoE, make sure the default firewall option is checked (should be already). After the wizard you could download the config.boot and shuffle things around too your liking, otherwise use it as is.