Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

Newbie - Edgerouter + edgeswitch slow file transfer rate

Hello experts, 

I'm a total beginner who decided to upgrade from the normal router to something more powerful - but I'm not doing too well and I'm hoping that someone here can help me get on the right track.

The setup: An Edgerouter 6p connects to an Edgeswitch 8-150w which in turn connects via Cat6a cable to Ethernet ports in every room of the house. In one of these ports I have another Edgeswitch 8-150w. At first I ran the wizard for basic setup and opted to bridge eth1 and eth2. However, as my NAS was on eth3 I couldn't see it in the LAN when on the PC so I expanded the bridge to incude eth3 and eth4 as well. That done, I could see all my network devices on the PC and I thought that was it. Then I tried moving a file from one NAS to another and the transfer speeds was 350 kbps (!). With my old router I had at least 40mbs so clearly I've made a mistake somewhere. 

I understand that it's difficult for you to pinpoint the issue based just on this, but perhaps you have some suggestions on where I should start looking or correcting my setup? Any help is greatly appreciated! 

Stefan 

Accepted Solutions

Re: Newbie - Edgerouter + edgeswitch slow file transfer rate

Thanks again for the quick replies! I'm truly grateful for your support! 

I tested the same file transfer from a different PC but the results were the same. Then, I moved the NAS so that they both connect to the Edgeswitch (rather than the 24-port switch) and that made a huge difference. The attached images show the before and after. 

No longer going through the 24-port switch brought the speed up to 30 MB/s which isn't amazing but acceptable and a lot better than the 1 MB/s I was getting. I verified this from both computers in different locations.