Kudos: 1
Accepted Solution

Port Forwarding working externally / Hairpin doesn't work when accessing via LAN (EdgeOS v1.4.0)

[ Edited ]

Hi - I've read a number of topics on this, many before the latest firmware was released. I'm pretty new to EdgeOS and not good with the CLI, although I'm learning.

I am able to succesfully forward port 80 and port 3389 traffic from my WAN to internal IP addresses on my LAN using the new port forwarding wizard; however, when I try and access the same services via the LAN using my public address assigned to the WAN, it appears as though the port forwarding rules are not working and the EdgeOS interface attemps to load instead (redircting from port 80 to port 443). 

The research I've done indicates that I need a hairpin rule enabled. I have made sure that my new port fowarding rules using the new firmware have that option enabed, but I still cannot get it to work. Here is a snippet of the configuration from the CLI.

admin@edgerouter# show port-forward 
 auto-firewall enable
 hairpin-nat enable
 lan-interface br0
 rule 1 {
     description HTTP
     forward-to {
         address 192.168.1.103
         port 80
     }
     original-port 80
     protocol tcp_udp
 }
 rule 2 {
     description RDP
     forward-to {
         address 192.168.1.103
         port 3389
     }
     original-port 3389
     protocol tcp_udp
 }
 wan-interface eth0
[edit]

I'm throughally confused. My setup is basically stock, I upgraded to the latest firmware tonight. Can anyone help me figure out what I'm missing so clients on my internal LAN can access services via DNS / External IP?

Thank you,

Erick

Accepted Solutions
Previous Employee
Kudos: 5460
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: Port Forwarding working externally / Hairpin doesn't work when accessing via LAN (EdgeOS v1.4.0)