Reply
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-26-2017
Kudos: 3

Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

[ Edited ]

Hey all, we have been using edgerouter pro's for about a year now.  We have 3 of these in production, doing BGP.  

 

We started off on v1.9.7+hotfix.3 which was pretty solid other than some iBGP issues which are still present in v1.10.5.

 

We moved to v1.10.5 about 3 months ago and we have now seen 2 random reboots, both on two different routers.  The first one happened within 15 days of uptime, the 2nd one happened with well over 86 days of uptime.

 

Are there any known issue with v1.10 and random reboots?

 

I am starting to think we should move back to v1.9.7 until 1.10 is more solid, I was thinking I waited long enough but I guess not.  

 

  

Senior Member
Posts: 3,079
Registered: ‎08-06-2015
Kudos: 1305
Solutions: 176

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5

You may want to update to 1.10.7 (the current level) and be sure your bootloader is updated as the next step.

 

From the release notes at EdgeMAX EdgeRouter software release v1.10.6:

 

[Bootloader] - Optimize DDR timing setting to improve stability of ER-8, ERPro-8 and EP-R8 models. This enhancement fixes random reboot issue that was triggered by following errors in console (discussed here, here, here and many more threads across ER and USG forums):

Do you have the serial console connected, or have a syslog server configured?  These may help capture any panic/crash/oops messages and any stack trace that might be helpful in diagnosis if he above update does not resolve your issue.

 

New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-26-2017
Kudos: 3

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5

I will try moving to 1.10.7 next on one of the routers.

 

I do have a syslog server configurated for each router.

 

When I checked out the logs, the router was logging blocked traffic, then the next entries are it coming up from a reboot.  No high load before the reboot and no odd log entries.    

New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-26-2017
Kudos: 3

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

[ Edited ]

Well I was hoping this issue was resolved, but we just hit another random reboot on the same router with 1.10.7.  Managed about 29 days of uptime before it went down hard.  

 

Is anyone else having random reboot issues?  All three routers are about 1 year old at this point.  

 

Established Member
Posts: 1,366
Registered: ‎07-07-2014
Kudos: 289
Solutions: 90

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

[ Edited ]

Hi @adambmedent,

 

Did you also upgrade your bootloader as @waterside suggested?

 


@waterside wrote:

You may want to update to 1.10.7 (the current level) and be sure your bootloader is updated as the next step.

  


 

 

 

 

See the text in BLUE here for instructions:

 

https://community.ubnt.com/t5/EdgeMAX-Updates-Blog/EdgeMAX-EdgeRouter-software-release-v1-10-6/ba-p/...

Regular Member
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 81
Solutions: 23

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

Hi @adambmedent
Are you using SNMP or other monitoring (like UNMS) to see load, temperature, disk space, etc.?
What's the output of:
show system boot-image
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-26-2017
Kudos: 3

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

Yep I did do that as well.

routeradmin@edgerouter:~$ show system boot-image
The system currently has the following boot image installed:
Current boot version: e201_001_1e4df
Current boot md5sum : 3571b4f2bb17d7fe204a4d249766ed35
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-26-2017
Kudos: 3

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

I am using SNMP to montitor some basic items.

- Load
- Traffic
- BGP state

Regular Member
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 81
Solutions: 23

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

@adambmedent Just to make sure, you don't have this config option set to true? system.option.reboot-on-panic
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-26-2017
Kudos: 3

Re: Random Reboots with v1.10.5 and v1.10.7

[ Edited ]

@flamberthat config option is blank on all my routers.

CPU load on that router was .2 directly before the crash. Maybe 20-40Mbps of traffic.

 

We just ordered a new one in hopes of ruling out a hardware issue of any sort.

 

Reply