Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2016
Accepted Solution

Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

Hi Folks,

I'm having a bit of trouble with my EdgeRouter 3 Lite.  At first, I thought I had some bad bits internally, but I now I think it's the router itself.  Any ideas on how I can confirm that the ER3L is the problem?

 

Here's the deal.

I have two ISP's (overlapping as I switch services)

On my old service, 100/10 cable, I had no issues externally and the speeds were achievable.

On my new service 1000/750 fiber, I am unable to achieve speeds higher than 134/134 Mbps when going through the ER3L.

 

My overall setup is...

Fiber Modem -- ER3L -- EdgeSwitch -- DLink 1024D -- Device

Fiber Modem -- ER3L -- EdgeSwitch -- Ubiquity UAC Pro -- Device

(ER3L has several vLan's separating my security camera, wifi, guest network, servers and PC's)

 

The symptoms are as follows...

- Speed tests from the modem show 1,000/800 +/-

- Speed tests connected directly to the modem show speeds in the 800/800 +/- range

- When I fire up a download, e.g. Downloading a Steam Game, the download rates hit 134Mbps and flatline.  (You might say "It's the other side!"  but it happens for all sites, all downloads, all protocols, wired and wifi.  134Mbps is it.)

During a period of downloading at 134Mbps, the ER3L management web page where I can monitor traffic, shows CPU maxing at 100%, freezes and tells me to try again later because the web page is unavailable.  Basically, downloading at rates at or above 134Mbps causes the router to max out and drop my connection.


I did a transfer test internally as well.  From a device to my NAS which transits the ER3L.  Again, 150Mbps maxed out the ER3L and caused it to drop my connection to the web page.

 

I'm not sure what's causing the excessive overhead.  And not sure what to try next.  Any suggestions?


Accepted Solutions
Established Member
Posts: 751
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 59

Re: Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

SuperUser
Posts: 7,853
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Kudos: 2077
Solutions: 1034

Re: Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

Did you enable the offload ?

Cheers,

jonatha

View solution in original post


All Replies
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2016

Re: Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

p.s. Yes, I have updated the firmware to v1.10.7
Established Member
Posts: 751
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 189
Solutions: 59

Re: Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

SuperUser
Posts: 7,853
Registered: ‎01-05-2012
Kudos: 2077
Solutions: 1034

Re: Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

Did you enable the offload ?

Cheers,

jonatha

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2016

Re: Speeds over 134Mbps seem to max out the router??

A friend of mine just helped me solve this and the two previous posters also hit the nail on the head!  VLAN offloading was disabled.

 

Open the CLI and login

configure

set system offload ipv4 vlan enable

commit ; save

 

Problem solved.

 

Thanks all!

Reply