Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

Troubleshoot Defective EdgeRouter X

I purchased an EdgeRouter X six months ago. I am new to Ubiquiti level of products as I have only used consumer grade in the past. No problems setting it up after watching a few YouTube videos. 

All was working fine until all internet traffic stopped today. I think the EdgeRouter X is defective but can someone review what I have done so far and recommend anything further before I try to return it under warranty?

So far:

1. I have contacted cable company and reset Motorola modem to factory deafults. A single laptop connects fine to the modem and is able to access internet. 

2. I unplugged EdgeRouter and modem several times and waited up to 30 minutes. Still no access to internet. 

3. I reset the EdgeRouter using the reset button, changed my laptop IP to 192.168.1.11, plugged laptop into the eth0 port and was able to connect to roouter. I was prompted for the basic setup wizzard which I ran with the firewall option checked. I applied changes and the router rebooted. 

4. I plugged my computer into eth1 port, modem into eth0, changed laptop IP to obtain IP address automatically and restarted computer. Still no connection to internet. 

5. I ran windows connection diagnostic and the results were "Ehternet does not have a valid IP configuration".  I tried to connect to 192.168.1.1 with laptop using dynamic IP and static of 192.168.11. 

6. I restarted everything several times by unplugging. I waited 30 minutes for anything to become stable. Still no internet connection using laptop and dynamic IP plugged directly into eth1 port. 

Plugging the laptop directly into cable mdem still works fine. 

What else can I try before sending it back as defective? 

Thank you for helping...

Accepted Solutions

Re: Troubleshoot Defective EdgeRouter X