Emerging Member
Kudos: 1

Trying to get my new EdgeRouter X configured correctly (specifically DNS forwarding)

[ Edited ]

Hi,

After initial success setting up my new EdgeRouter X and my old Apple Airport Extreme A1354 (for the WiFi portion), I'm trying to sort out few unknowns for me (please bear with me, I know some of my questions might sounds as I'm total beginner Man Happy

Whole installation went super smooth, I literally had no trouble setting everything up and get my connection up and running. My connection is VDSL, not fast for today's standards, 15 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up. Truth be told, for what I'm needing it for, it's more than enough, so I'm happy. I went through initial Setup Wizard, picked WAN + 2LAN2, port Eth0 and picked PPPoE as my connection type, punched in my login name and password. I use only one LAN. Changed my router's login password, saved, rebooted, and that was it.

Later I've created DHCP pool 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.254 and manually added all my gadgets that I wanted to have assigned static IP in this DHCP pool.

I also port forwarded Xbox Live only.

Someone advised me to add a policy inside Smart Queue Management, which I did. That prevented annoying bufferbloat on my upload only. I could do that for download too, not sure if it's that beneficial (correct me if I'm wrong please).

The last thing I've changed was enabling Hardware Offload in Config Tree. Not sure in which way this affects my connection and my whole setup, but someone advised me it's a good thing and it would make this little router working a lot better (again, correct me if I'm wrong here please).