Kudos: 1
Solutions: 5
Accepted Solution

VLAN with an unmanaged switch

[ Edited ]

Hello Ubiquiti Community!

Let me preface this by saying that I'm relatively new to networking and am still trying to learn how everything works.  I just purchased an EdgeRouter Lite and a Unifi Access Point and I had some questions about setting up a guest network with a dumb (layer-2) switch.  I am just trying to use this equipment to set up my home network.

I am planning on having my EdgeRouter configured as such:

Eth 0: WAN (Google Fiber)

Eth 1: Home Network (untagged)

Eth 1.1: Guest Network

Eth 1.2: Devices Network

Eth 2: Not used

Then I would have Eth 0 plugged into my Fiber Jack, and Eth 1 plugged into a dumb switch.

The dumb switch would have some devices hanging off of it that are meant to be connected to my home network (e.g. a desktop, a printer, etc.) as well as the UAP.  I would then configure the UAP to have different SSIDs for the different VLANs.  I would have my firewall rules set up to isolate the 2 different VLANs from each other as well as from untagged traffic.  My understanding is that this should pretty much do what I want, but I'm not entirely sure if that's correct.

EDIT: Also, I am planning on using a wireless bridge (ASUS RT-AC68U) to connect some other devices.  My understanding is that as long as I connect the bridge to the correct SSID on the UAP, this should allow me to connect devices to whichever VLAN I want.  I understand that all devices connected to the bridge would be on the same VLAN.

Accepted Solutions

Re: VLAN with an unmanaged switch

[ Edited ]

UPDATE: Have everything installed and it seems to work fine for now. Final configuration is as follows:

ER-L:
Eth0: Port 0 of dumb switch
Eth0.102: VLAN for Guest Networks (Isolated)
Eth0.103: VLAN for IoT Devices (Isolated)
Eth1: WAN
Eth2: Local Admin port (with routing between Eth0 and Eth2)

Dumb switch (Netgear GS305):
LAN: Eth0 of ER-L
LAN: Printer (on untagged VLAN)