Kudos: 8
Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

clear guide on Dual Wan Port Forwarding

[ Edited ]

I should preface this by saying I have never used an Edge Router before. I have no issues digging into cli to configure this correctly if need be, I do not know the cli commands. With the constant issues with the USG dual WAN (which they may have fixed by now, I'm not sure) we decided to use an Edge Router for the WAN failover to feed the USG and leave the USG as the Firewall/DHCP/DNS Server for the network.

net issue.png

That is the network Topology at a site where I can not for the life of me get port forwarding to work.

I have all the ports forwarded on the USG. This was working before we added the Edge Router Pro and the Second WAN connection. Basically I am trying to use the Edge Router PRO as a dual wan failover router and leave the USG as the DHCP server and firewall for the network.

I tried doing something with the DNAT rules but those weren't working for me (Or I just don't know how to configure properly which is more likely).

Basically I have a NVR on 192.168.1.50 and need ports 3389 and 55756-55757 to forward from either wan connection to the NVR. The dual WAN is setup in Failover Only. I used the Load Balancing wizard and left the firewalls enabled. I tried it again leaving the firewalls disabled on both Wans in the wizard and port forwarding isn't even working without adding any additional rules (again, I'm not sure that it should or shouldn't be).

Is there a clear guide or somebody that can tell me exactly what I'm supposed to do to make port forwarding work for Both WANS?

-Edited for new topology picture and some typos.

Accepted Solutions
Established Member
Kudos: 479
Solutions: 46

Re: clear guide on Dual Wan Port Forwarding