Reply
Established Member
Posts: 1,843
Registered: ‎03-02-2016
Kudos: 447
Solutions: 142

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Sorry to bump an old thread. I just noticed my ERX SFP is doing this still, running 1.8.5. The hosts file contains every lease that has expired and not been renewed. 

Established Member
Posts: 1,843
Registered: ‎03-02-2016
Kudos: 447
Solutions: 142

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Bump - paging @UBNT-ancheng. Thanks! (and happy 4th!)

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-03-2014
Kudos: 5

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Jup, I'm also still waiting for a proper fix :/

 

New Member
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-09-2016
Kudos: 6
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Hello guys, some news on this? Anyway to fix it please

 

I would to have some comments from @UBNT-ancheng

 

Thanks guys!!!

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

This is still an issue for the places I've deployed an edgemax, I've gone through and just disabled all local name lookup stuff. It would be great if this feature was fixed. Thanks.

Previous Employee
Posts: 13,551
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Kudos: 5467
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Yeah we have not gotten to this yet, and actually one possible "proper" fix might be using "dnsmasq" for DHCP server in which case this function would be "integrated". There is actually some effort on doing this as an "alternative" DHCP server config (rather than "replacement") and we might look into that instead.

New Member
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-09-2016
Kudos: 6
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Hello, question what do you mean with disable all lookup names

Could!d you tel me what you did pls.

Thanks

 

Established Member
Posts: 1,843
Registered: ‎03-02-2016
Kudos: 447
Solutions: 142

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases


@UBNT-ancheng wrote:

Yeah we have not gotten to this yet, and actually one possible "proper" fix might be using "dnsmasq" for DHCP server in which case this function would be "integrated". There is actually some effort on doing this as an "alternative" DHCP server config (rather than "replacement") and we might look into that instead.


Having come from the world of Tomato, which uses DNSMasq as the DNS/DHCP server, I'd definitely be in favor of this idea - at least for SOHO deployments.

New Member
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-09-2016
Kudos: 6
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Hi could you explain what to do to use dnsmasq as you suggest as a proper fix pls

Thanks

Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Set the config:

 

service dhcp-server hostfile-update disable

This should disable updating the /etc/hosts file which I believe DHCPD is reading from when handing out expired leases and causing the trouble.

New Member
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-09-2016
Kudos: 6
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Thanks

I disable it as you mentioned 

Now how to configure the dnsmasq

Sorry for so many questions I'm new in the ubiquiti world

Thanks

Emerging Member
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 1

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

I'm just using it as is without the hostfile update feature. At some of the sites I have a couple admins that don't want to deal with the console, so running DHCP through dnsmasq isn't an option.

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-03-2014
Kudos: 5

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Not sure it's new in firmware 1.9.1, but the config tree allows you to enable the option to use dnsmasq for dhcp.
I've turned this on and disabled hosts file update. So far so good.
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-10-2016

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Can anyone confirm if this works with multiple LAN networks and a DHCP server on each of them?

 

I have an ERLite‑3 and I'm running two isolated networks (eth1 and eth2). Under Services I have a DHCP server setup on both of the subnets. The router is working great right now but it would be nice if hostname resolution worked. Since the router is in use I don't really want to muck around unless I'm pretty sure it's not going to break anything.

Regular Member
Posts: 420
Registered: ‎07-02-2016
Kudos: 109
Solutions: 7

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

@kevinjmorse As of FW v1.9.1 when dnsmasq is enabled for DHCP, the Web UI and CLI won't actually show any of the DHCP leases or status:
https://community.ubnt.com/t5/EdgeMAX/Using-dnsmasq-on-ER-X/m-p/1791947

 

Keep that in mind before switching over.

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-10-2016

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Thanks! That is helpful to know.

 

I think I'll hold off for now then.

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-16-2016

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

[ Edited ]

Is there any recent information with regard to this issue? I'm interested to know if this has been resolved in subsequent firmware updates of the EdgeMax and whether the solution is also good for the EdgeSwitch. I am looking to be able to view ip-hostname mapping in dhcp on the ES-24 (firmware 1.7.1).

Would appreciate any helpful advice.

Thanks

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-03-2018

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

Hey Ubiquity guys

 

I still have this problem in EdgeRouter Version 1.10.7

 

Have you solved this problem? Please let us know...

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-29-2017

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

News?!

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: a week ago

Re: hostfile-update enable doesn't clear expired leases

I don't understand, this is marked as solved but the bug still exists.  Or am I confused.  What software version was this bug fixed in?

Thank you.

Reply