Kudos: 1
Solutions: 1

vyatta-op depends on ssmtp

I wanted to install Postfix today on EdgeRouter LITE, because I need it for nagios and unfortunately vyatta-op has hardcoded dependency on ssmtp which it shouldn't have. It should depend on mail-transport-agent. And according to

https://github.com/remfalc/vyt-vyatta-op/blob/master/debian/changelog

It was fixed in 13.20, while on 1.6.0 firmware we have 14.13 with still unfixed dependency. So i think it is a bug.

SuperUser
Kudos: 7881
Solutions: 233

Re: vyatta-op depends on ssmtp

Nagios makes me cry.

Have you checked out Observium?

isp builder | linux sorcerer | datacenter automation conjurer | blog: blog.engineered.online
link to our slack channel on the blog

That won't solve my problem. I have been using Nagios for many many years and I would like to have it that way. But even if I move to anything else I have still problem with that dependency. 

So I will put it that way - how to replace ssmtp with any MTA? Postfix, Exim, qmail, whatever?

SuperUser
Kudos: 7881
Solutions: 233

I'm sorry, I don't know how to fix your problem.

Observium does not require an MTA on the devices though.

observium-edgeos.png

isp builder | linux sorcerer | datacenter automation conjurer | blog: blog.engineered.online
link to our slack channel on the blog
Highlighted
Previous Employee
Kudos: 5430
Solutions: 1656
Contributions: 2

Yeah we can look into changing the dependency to make it easier to install different packages. For now, it may be possible to use the ssmtp package for sendning email by adding a sendmail symlink (e.g., as discussed before here). If that is not sufficient and another package is required, a "forced" install may work. For example, for 1.6 (wheezy-based) and exim4 packages, download the Debian packages to the router first and then try:

sudo dpkg -i --force-all exim4-base_4.80-7+deb7u1_mips.deb exim4-config_4.80-7+deb7u1_all.deb exim4-daemon-light_4.80-7+deb7u1_mips.deb

Hello,