Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-19-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

[ Edited ]

Hello,

I just purchased a new EdgeSwitch 48 500W and I am attempting to get it set up for inter-VLAN routing, but an running into some issues. I'm trying to follow the setup as described here:

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/115010927367-EdgeSwitch-Limiting-Inter-VLAN-Routing-with-Acc...

 

However, my setup doesn't seem to be working.

 

Here's a brief overview of how I have the network set up:

  • My router is an EdgeRouter device with main IP 192.168.30.1/24, and it already has VLANs set up on its eth0 port (my internal network port) for the following VLANs as well, but I'm trying to avoid having to use router-on-a-stick here since EdgeSwitch supports inter-VLAN routing. Its IP on each of the VLANs is .1
  • VLAN 1 is my LAN/Management, 192.168.30.0/24
  • VLAN 3 is Guest, 172.25.30.0/24
  • VLAN 130 is VOIP, 192.168.130.0/24
  • VLAN 230 is WLAN, 192.168.230.0/24

In the edgeswitch config I have created the appropriate VLANs:

vlan database
vlan 3,130,230

I have also assigned ports on the switch to the appropriate VLANs. Basically I want ports 1-3 to be trunk ports, and ports 4-48 to be LAN access ports with support for tagged VLAN 130. So for ports 1-3 I have, for example:

interface 0/1
description 'Uplink to Router'
switchport mode trunk
exit

For ports 4-48, I have:

interface 0/4
vlan participation exclude 3,230
vlan participation include 130
vlan tagging 130,230
exit

 

I have then assigned IP addresses to my VLANs and enabled routing on each of them:

interface vlan 3
routing
ip address 172.25.30.2 255.255.255.0
exit

interface vlan 130
routing
ip address 192.168.130.2 255.255.255.0
exit

interface vlan 230
routing
ip address 192.168.230.2 255.255.255.0
exit

A note, my switch is set to a statically assigned IP of 192.168.30.2 (network parms 192.168.30.2 255.255.255.0 192.168.30.1) so I can't set the IP address on interface VLAN 1 since that conflicts. Maybe that's where my problem lies?

 

After VLANs have had their routing turned on and IPs assigned, I globally enabled routing:

ip routing

But now that it's all set up, I can't ping any of the VLAN IP addresses, and a "show ip route" command returns an empty list.

 

What am I missing here? I'm a bit more used to Cisco switches so this EdgeSwitch setup syntax is throwing me for a loop. Any assistance you can provide is greatly appreciated.

 


Accepted Solutions
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-19-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

Well I truly don't know what all I did to get it working, but I think I have it working at this point. Part of the problem was that I didn't have any devices plugged in on ports on some of the VLANs, and unlike Cisco it seems that EdgeMax shuts down the VLAN interface when no ports are active on that VLAN. So that partly explains it. Doesn't quite explain why the computer couldn't ping addresses that the switch could, but now that seems to be working as well now. 

View solution in original post


All Replies
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-19-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

Additional information, I have also tried removing my switch's IP address and instead assigning 192.168.30.2/24 to interface vlan 1 and enabling routing on that interface. Same issue.

Member
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Kudos: 25
Solutions: 8

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

My first guess is that you need a default gateway for the global routing. 

 

ip default-gateway x.x.x.x

 

On a side note, I've found that when I set the switches address, and then I try to enable routing on the same VLAN/subnet that I setup for the switch itself, it won't let me. The workaround is to give the switch an address that I will never access but is outside of any of the subnets I will be routing. For example, one of my switches has been configured with an address of 192.168.0.252. I never access it with that address, but I do access it with any of the addresses I configured as a routing interface. 

 

The OS won't let me give the device an address in a routed subnet. You might run into that. Or, I'm doing something wrong.

 

But for your situation, I think you need a default gateway set.

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-19-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

I've tried that but that didn't seem to fix the problem. I added a default gateway but that shouldn't make a difference since if inter-VLAN routing is enabled, packets shouldn't need to be sent to the gateway since the switch should know the routes to the address on other VLANs.

 

Per your suggestion about IP addresses, I've now disabled the IP address on the switch

network parms none
vlan database
vlan routing 1
exit
configure
interface vlan 1
ip address 192.168.30.2 255.255.255.0
routing

 

I have a computer hooked up to Port 48, which is on VLAN 1, and have its IP statically set to 192.168.30.111 (since VLAN 1 uses the 192.168.30.0/24 network). From the computer, I can ping 192.168.30.2 (the switch's VLAN 1 interface) but can't ping 172.25.30.2, 192.168.130.2, or 192.168.230.2 (VLAN 3, 130, and 230's interfaces, repsectively) so the routing does not appear to be working.

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-19-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

Update: I seem to have routing working on the switch, as I can ping all the interfaces now from the switch CLI. But not from the computer.

 

In switch CLI I can see routes to all VLANs listed when I run show ip route. And from the switch CLI, I can ping 192.168.30.2, 192.168.130.2, 192.168.230.2, and 172.25.30.2 all successfully.

 

But on the computer, whose IP is 192.168.30.111, directly connected to a port on the switch which belongs to VLAN 1 untagged, I can only ping 192.168.30.2, no other interface IPs. I have the computer's default gateway set to the IP of the switch (192.168.30.2).

 

Any further ideas?

New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎07-19-2016
Kudos: 5
Solutions: 1

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

Well I truly don't know what all I did to get it working, but I think I have it working at this point. Part of the problem was that I didn't have any devices plugged in on ports on some of the VLANs, and unlike Cisco it seems that EdgeMax shuts down the VLAN interface when no ports are active on that VLAN. So that partly explains it. Doesn't quite explain why the computer couldn't ping addresses that the switch could, but now that seems to be working as well now. 

Member
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Kudos: 25
Solutions: 8

Re: Assistance with Inter-VLAN Routing please

Yeah, it's a frustrating situation. If there are no devices on a vlan/subnet connected, the routing interface is not active. 

Reply