Kudos: 2

Furthering my education

Just curious for recommendations.  I have been repairing computers and running small networks for 20 years.  I have been installing UniFi for about 3 - 4 years.  I have always figured out stuff on my own for the most part.  I am A+ Certified (in like 2000).  I understand networks for the most part but the forensic analysis (Wireshark) and some of the advanced settings, etc. I would like to understand better.  I want to further my education, but I'm not sure where to look.  I have just looked ay Lynda (LinkedIn Learning), but I don't have a lot of time to waste as I stay fairly busy (this is my slow time of year).  If anyone has recommendations I would love to hear them.  Thanks.

Kudos: 198
Solutions: 27

Re: Furthering my education

Hmm... Not enough time for an online course. Can you tell us roughly how much time you do have to invest?

-- Pete
Kudos: 2

I can make time (after work, slow days, etc) if it's a worthwile course.  I just don't wat to invest a bunch of time (or money) in courses that are not right for me.  I am intermediate I would think, and I have a strong grasp of basic networking.  I have setup Networks (going back to ISDN and dial up), VLANS and corporate networks, and Large home and business UniFi and DD-WRT Mesh networks.  I am looking for anything to help me diagnose problems with networks (IP cameras connecting at slow speeds and disabling slower speeds to help, I learned recently) I have always learned as I needed, but I do enough networking I feel like I should have a better grasp on the advanced settings for my customers.  Especially with wireless but VLANs and intercompatibility with other brands, etc. wouldn't hut either.  Any advise is appreciated.

Kudos: 198
Solutions: 27

[ Edited ]

I'd start by learning the details of how the internet protocols work, then build up from their until you meet your existing higher-level, knowledge of connecting and configuring network equipment.