Highlighted
Kudos: 4
Solutions: 3

Any plan for EPON?

Looking at it today it looks like comcast has chosen EPON to be deployed along side their coax network. IE they can start transitioning to FTTH instead of paying a ton for new DOCSIS equipment every few years. The drawback right now is the lack of EPON terminals so you have to pay their monthly modem fee.

Any plan to add EPON to the lineup? EPON with a SFP+ port would probably get a comcast contract.

Re: Any plan for EPON?

Maybe stupid question because I am new to PON but looking at some youtube videos on the topic I have seen a few oun devices marked G/Epon. Are the UBNT devices EPON reasy already? 

Established Member
Kudos: 356
Solutions: 18

I doubt that Ubiquiti has any plans for EPON.  

EPON is the predecessor of GPON and isn’t quite packed with all the goodies GPON comes with.

allthough wrong, a GPON ONU sometimes is referred to as GEPON.

I doubt that any provider would choose EPON over GPON.  Such doesn’t make too much sense.

I think EPON has a number of advantages. Either way thats what they are going to.

Screenshot_2019-02-10-12-17-11.png

SuperUser
Kudos: 11083
Solutions: 685
Contributions: 1

[ Edited ]