Reply
Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 1

Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

We have used this guide to move UNMS to a new server.

 

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/115015690027-UNMS-How-to-Back-Up-UNMS

 

Old Server Ubuntu 16.04.3

New Server Debian 9.6 > More Resources etc.

 

We did everything as the guide describes but... 

We changed the DNS Record TTL is 10Sec. So that's Fast.

And we only saw old toughswitches coming online.

Other Edgerouters, Edgeswitches, PtP devices etc. did not come online even after 10 min...

 

What are we doing wrong.

The only option to get a device back online on the new server was to go into the settings and put in the UNMS Key (Witch did not change!) and save and reset the device on UNMS on the New server...

 

We tried that with our Office Switches and Edgerouter 4. But for some clients we don't have easy external access.

The whole migration / move should be flawless since we are using the same hostname and all devices connect to the hostname / UNMS key with wss://<Hostname>.....

 

What are we doing wrong?

Regular Member
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 183
Solutions: 59

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

Hi @kayvanaarssen
What errors do you see in the logs on the new server after the change? Logs are located in /home/unms/data/logs/
Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 1

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

Really did not check them. Stupid.

 

but still its a 1:1 copy of the data and same hostname.

Why are the devices than not coming online only the thoughswitches.

 

With UniFi we never had those issues.

Regular Member
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 183
Solutions: 59

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

@kayvanaarssen

I have no idea - it should just work, but maybe the change of the host OS did something? Did you migrate from and to the same version of UNMS, and also had a fully updated Ubuntu? Because maybe there was a change in Docker or simply just a change between UNMS versions.

The logs should tell you everything.
Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 1

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

Yes same UNMS version.

And OS was fully up to date.

only difference Ubuntu 16.04 and Debian 9.6

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 3,006
Registered: ‎09-08-2017
Kudos: 1151
Solutions: 211

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

@kayvanaarssen  Hello Kay. In order to help you, we will need support info files from both UNMS and one of the problematic devices. Please, send those files to the email radek.skrivan(at)ubnt.com, and include your forum name and URL of this thread in the message.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
UNMS Support - If you want to report an issue please use this guide.

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 1

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

We did the migration again.
The only thing that worked was to reboot all devices that where not coming back.
Strange thing is that this was with most Edgeswitches but some Edgeswitches Came back without an issue.

Also we logged into the switches and checked DNS etc. and they where seeing the new host (IP) we use the Hostname to connect so no issues there.

But it seems that there where some cache issues in the switch or so.
Also if we removed the UNMS Key / Disabled UNMS in the Switch and enabled it again it did not make a difference.

Maybe its some kind of bug?
Veteran Member
Posts: 4,522
Registered: ‎05-19-2009
Kudos: 740
Solutions: 23

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

if you update FQDN A record and add old local server IP as secondary IP on the new server how would the devices even know anything changed?

Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 1

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

Uhm... We did not set 2 records a at time.
Delete the old record and add the new one. So there is only one a record that exists for the switches.

Point stays that some switches came back right away and others refused to connect...
Regular Member
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 183
Solutions: 59

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

@kayvanaarssen
On the devices that didn't reconnect, did you try to do a nslookup or ping? Just to check if the DNS on those devices might have been bad?
Member
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎04-17-2014
Kudos: 30
Solutions: 1

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

Yes of course. And they both returned correct details of the new "IP" behind the hostname Man Wink
Regular Member
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Kudos: 183
Solutions: 59

Re: Move UNMS to other Server (Same Hostname)

@kayvanaarssen And did you check the logs in /home/unms/data/logs/ to see if there was anything hinting at the problem?
Reply