.deb install (just like Unifi and Unifi-Video) without Docker. Maybe someday a repo

Submitted by -

I'd like to see a .deb install and maybe someday a repo just like Unifi and Unifi-Video have.

I am not an expert on Docker and its pros and cons but there seems to be a lot of call for this type of install, the forum thread had 51 replies before it was locked, and there is some activity on github as well.  With all the activity I am surprised it isn't in Feature Requests so I thought I would add it.

https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UNMS-Ubiquiti-Network-Management/Non-Docker-Install/m-p/1810921#M25

https://github.com/Ubiquiti-App/UNMS/issues/40#issuecomment-311919234

For my personal feelings, part of it is just resistance to change, I am used to using .debs and the repos for Unifi and Unifi-Video and just don't want to change.  I also don't understand Docker well enough to feel comfortable deploying it.  I spent some time reading up on it and it is really simple in a lot of ways but some of the concerns people have are quite complicated.

Comments
by
on ‎01-09-2018 12:41 PM

I'm not sure that I agree with this idea. The whole point of Docker is having consistent, repeatable builds. This is possible because all of the underlying dependencies are included in the docker images; makes it much easier to control what version of various libraries, etc are used.

It's possible to specify dependency versions in DEB packages and the like, but what happens when it's not possible to fulfill that dependency because it's not available anymore, or is too up-to-date? You'd have to compile from source.